Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can I install a higher version of android with safestrap?

OP XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX

16th March 2014, 10:08 PM   |  #1  
XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Houston
Thanks Meter: 238
 
1,129 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Ok, so this safestrap thing is confusing me a bit. Currently, I am running Android 4.3 If I want to install a KitKat rom, would I have to update my phone to the newest AT&T build, or can I install the 4.4 rom onto my phone. Also, would I put it in a rom slot or could I install it in the Stock ROM slot?
Last edited by XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX; 16th March 2014 at 11:59 PM.
16th March 2014, 11:05 PM   |  #2  
toxicpaulution's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Lykens
Thanks Meter: 419
 
1,927 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Nope. Different kernels.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I337 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to toxicpaulution For This Useful Post: [ View ]
16th March 2014, 11:29 PM   |  #3  
scott14719's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 815
 
2,064 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX

Ok, so this safestrap thing is confusing me a bit. Currently, I am running Android 4.3 If I want to install a KitKat rom, would I have to update my phone to the newest AT&T build, or can I install the 4.4 rom onto my phone. Also, would I put it in a rom slot or could I install it in the Stock ROM slot?

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2428254
17th March 2014, 12:09 AM   |  #4  
Naddict's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 28.2S, 92.1W
Thanks Meter: 13,817
 
8,467 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2011
More
thread cleaned...

keep it up ... and the members (who know who they are) will no longer be acting like this on this site...

Be nice, or get out...
17th March 2014, 12:13 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,978
 
1,400 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2012
Donate to Me
Quote:
Originally Posted by XxSHaDoWxSLaYeRxX

Ok, so this safestrap thing is confusing me a bit. Currently, I am running Android 4.3 If I want to install a KitKat rom, would I have to update my phone to the newest AT&T build, or can I install the 4.4 rom onto my phone. Also, would I put it in a rom slot or could I install it in the Stock ROM slot?

Yes, you can stay on MK2 base and flash 4.4 KK ROM's via SS. See post#108 in this thread for how to flash the the latest stock 4.4 ROM for our device: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...665336&page=11

Do not flash any files containing bootloaders. If you flash the NB1 bootloader you will be stuck and no longer able to go back to factory stack MK2.
Last edited by muniz_ri; 17th March 2014 at 09:19 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes