An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge – XDA TV

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” … more

Sony to Extend its AOSP Program to Other Devices

Sony will be offering its users the possibility to use AOSP ROMs as an alternative to the … more

Project Ara Smartphone Will Run Modified Android L with Hot Swapping

Project Ara is a very exciting topic–both for hardware and … more

Streamline Android Theme Customization with Graphic Porter

I dont have a custom theme on my Android phone, and the reason for this is because … more
Post Reply

[Q] MotoCare app data keeps growing

17th March 2014, 01:44 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
After I saw that the data generated by the MotoCare app was very large, I decided to clear this data (through settings>apps).
In Motorola Privacy settings I have disabled MotoCare.
Two weeks have passed now and again my MotoCare data has grown substantial, being at 11,62Mb now.
Does anybode else also have this growing data of MotoCare?
What is this app collecting even if it is turned off?
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	Screenshot_2014-03-17-14-06-51.png
Views:	101
Size:	117.3 KB
ID:	2635200  
Last edited by Mickeyvdb; 17th March 2014 at 02:10 PM.
17th March 2014, 02:55 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Venezia
Thanks Meter: 695
 
3,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
I completely disabled motocare app and stuff, you can do the same in easy way. For me it's an unuseful service and i completely disabled. You need it?
17th March 2014, 03:18 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
This is unfortunatelly one of the Moto apps that I can not disable.
Other apps I disabled but for this one the button is grayed out.
How did you disabled this one?
17th March 2014, 03:21 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Flag Venezia
Thanks Meter: 695
 
3,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
I used Titanium Backup
The Following User Says Thank You to denzel09 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
17th March 2014, 03:25 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Thanks, will try that as well.
But will it be disabled or did you remove it ?
I don't want to remove any system apps so I prefer to only disable it.
17th March 2014, 03:42 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Venezia
Thanks Meter: 695
 
3,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
No man, i only disabled them, not remove, better keep them there for sure. Oh ehm, make always a backup before you touch something in system partition
17th March 2014, 03:44 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag Wroclaw
Thanks Meter: 47
 
122 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mickeyvdb

Thanks, will try that as well.
But will it be disabled or did you remove it ?
I don't want to remove any system apps so I prefer to only disable it.

Are you rooted?

If yes - you can use Unninstaller Pro. It has "Freeze" function per app.
App won`t work, but it won`t be uninstalled either and you can unfreeze it in any moment.

Cheers.
17th March 2014, 06:20 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Yes, my MotoG is rooted.
I will give it a try.
Thanks.
17th March 2014, 06:23 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Flag Venezia
Thanks Meter: 695
 
3,220 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2009
More
I think that Titanium Backup is really better
17th March 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #10  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
92 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2014
More
Since the freeze option is only available in the pro version of Titanium, I tried another app.
App Quarantaine is doing the job very well so far.
I also read something about Greenify, is this recommended above the others?

Sent from my GT-P3110 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Moto G Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank