Micromax Yureka: Indian Handset with CyanogenMod

Thesoap opera involving Cyanogen Inc., OnePlus, and Micromax is one of the most talked about … more

Chainfire Turns Your Bootanimation into a Logging Center

Having a nice boot animation certainly adds a little bit of aesthetic polish to your … more

Android TV Launcher Pushed to Google Play

Over the past decade, the tech universe has seen two drastic and widely contrasting changes with … more

Cyngn, OnePlus, Micromax – The Legal Battle

Recently, a battle has been waging in India over the rights to distribute the commercial … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] [SOLVED] updating default apps

OP muhammad.uzi1994

18th March 2014, 10:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
hey all, i have a query, last week i ran an RUU 1.29.707.4 on my phone and it installed some default apps on my phone like 7Digital , now i understand that these default apps are necessary for applying OTA updates as OTA checks md5 sum of these default apps. but today, i checked PlayStore and there was an update available for the 7Digital app so i went ahead and updated it. My question is this : can this updated 7Digital app affect OTAs by failing the md5 checksum or does the md5 remain the same even after updating the app? i just updated the app via playstore, didnt rename, remove or move it. Thanks in advance
18th March 2014, 10:55 AM   |  #2  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,457 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

hey all, i have a query, last week i ran an RUU 1.29.707.4 on my phone and it installed some default apps on my phone like 7Digital , now i understand that these default apps are necessary for applying OTA updates as OTA checks md5 sum of these default apps. but today, i checked PlayStore and there was an update available for the 7Digital app so i went ahead and updated it. My question is this : can this updated 7Digital app affect OTAs by failing the md5 checksum or does the md5 remain the same even after updating the app? i just updated the app via playstore, didnt rename, remove or move it. Thanks in advance

updating apps won't stop OTA. you can even add some apps if you like too.
The Following User Says Thank You to cr1960 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 10:57 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960

updating apps won't stop OTA. you can even add some apps if you like too.

ok, thanks, so it means i can update default apps that came with the RUU via playstore, it wont affect OTAs?
18th March 2014, 11:21 AM   |  #4  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 328
 
1,457 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

ok, thanks, so it means i can update default apps that came with the RUU via playstore, it wont affect OTAs?

correct
The Following User Says Thank You to cr1960 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 01:01 PM   |  #5  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Beirut
Thanks Meter: 3,108
 
6,254 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by muhammad.uzi1994

ok, thanks, so it means i can update default apps that came with the RUU via playstore, it wont affect OTAs?

and please next time, make up your mind if you want to PM who knows how many people OR open a thread at the same time, double posting is really not recommended
18th March 2014, 01:05 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 32
 
305 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71

and please next time, make up your mind if you want to PM who knows how many people OR open a thread at the same time, double posting is really not recommended

ok
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes