How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Set Up Your MediaTek Device with Comprehensive Beginner’s Guide

As can be seen with the use of MediaTek chips in Android One devices … more

Sony Updates AOSP Sources to Android 5.0.1

Just a few days ago, Sony did an utterly fantastic job by pushing out numerous device trees for … more

Stop Your Screen From Turning Off with KeepItOn

We all know the feeling of reading a news article orrather longdocument, when our screen … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Android 4.2 Wireless display question

OP siratfus

17th March 2014, 09:06 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
I was messing around with the wireless display feature of my tablet and I realized that I could mirror to my tv because I have an android box connected to it that is also running 4.2. My question is does it matter what OS my android box is running at? The fact that it's also 4.2, is that a coincidence or a necessity?

Also, it sucks. Very slow, super duper lag. Do you think a dedicated Miracast dongle would improve the performance?
17th March 2014, 11:29 AM   |  #2  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus

I was messing around with the wireless display feature of my tablet and I realized that I could mirror to my tv because I have an android box connected to it that is also running 4.2. My question is does it matter what OS my android box is running at? The fact that it's also 4.2, is that a coincidence or a necessity?

Also, it sucks. Very slow, super duper lag. Do you think a dedicated Miracast dongle would improve the performance?

As I understand it Miracast isn't supported earlier than Android 4.2 aka JellyBean+
I wasn't aware you could go device-to-device. If so, that's pretty cool!

I'd investigate but the only Miracast-capable device I have is my phone (running 4.3) - other devices I have access to are all 4.1 or earlier.
17th March 2014, 11:42 AM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga

As I understand it Miracast isn't supported earlier than Android 4.2 aka JellyBean+
I wasn't aware you could go device-to-device. If so, that's pretty cool!

I'd investigate but the only Miracast-capable device I have is my phone (running 4.3) - other devices I have access to are all 4.1 or earlier.

So when you turn on the wireless display of your 4.3 phone, it doesn't pick up your 4.1 phones?

Now that I think about it, I have other smartphones in the house too. It doesn't seem them. So yeah, I guess both transmitter and receiver has to be 4.2 and up.
17th March 2014, 12:10 PM   |  #4  
bhiga's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 882
 
2,248 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yeah same situation here. The 4.1 Samsung has AllShare but the 4.1 Toshiba tablet got nothin.
Either way, neither have Miracast.

-= this post enhanced with bonus mobile typos =-
Last edited by bhiga; 17th March 2014 at 04:10 PM.
17th March 2014, 03:27 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus

I was messing around with the wireless display feature of my tablet and I realized that I could mirror to my tv because I have an android box connected to it that is also running 4.2. My question is does it matter what OS my android box is running at? The fact that it's also 4.2, is that a coincidence or a necessity?

Also, it sucks. Very slow, super duper lag. Do you think a dedicated Miracast dongle would improve the performance?

Are you sure you are using the Android box to do the mirroring? I'm almost positive this functionality is not available yet (mirror to another Android device). Are you sure you TV does not have Miracast built in?
18th March 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #6  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 13
 
59 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by rkirmeier

Are you sure you are using the Android box to do the mirroring? I'm almost positive this functionality is not available yet (mirror to another Android device). Are you sure you TV does not have Miracast built in?

Positive. The tv is not "smart." Plus what else can it be since I'm playing with the Android Box? What I mean is my Android Box uses HDMI input 2. If the TV is doing the mirror display, wouldn't I need to change the input source and get out of HDMI input 2? The Android Box has an app that I have to go through, and it would say "Waiting for the Renderer..." On my tablet, under wireless display, I see the Android Box, I hit connect. The Android Box then says something to the effect.. "Receiving display request..."

Then it mirrors, but it completely sucks. Sometimes it won't even mirror and the TV would just keep saying "Receiving display request.." forever.
18th March 2014, 03:49 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
349 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by siratfus

Positive. The tv is not "smart." Plus what else can it be since I'm playing with the Android Box? What I mean is my Android Box uses HDMI input 2. If the TV is doing the mirror display, wouldn't I need to change the input source and get out of HDMI input 2? The Android Box has an app that I have to go through, and it would say "Waiting for the Renderer..." On my tablet, under wireless display, I see the Android Box, I hit connect. The Android Box then says something to the effect.. "Receiving display request..."

Then it mirrors, but it completely sucks. Sometimes it won't even mirror and the TV would just keep saying "Receiving display request.." forever.

What is the app?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes