How to Root Android Wear 5.0.1 Lollipop Devices – XDA TV

The Lollipop update for Android Wear devices has hit the market and people are … more

Android 5.0.2 and New Factory Images For Nexus 7 (Wi-Fi) Available

Android 5.0 is has been publicly available since early November, and the … more

Github Tutorial App Shows You How to Use… Github

Github can get pretty complicated and using it can become quite daunting, especially … more

Google Glass-like Clip-On For Regular Glasses Developed by Sony

For the price of $2,000, a pair of glasses that can run apps, take pictures, … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

GPS fix for note 3

OP BluPhant

19th March 2014, 12:18 AM   |  #1  
BluPhant's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New England
Thanks Meter: 259
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
So I had issues with gps. Been trying different things but today at @bajasur recommendation I popped the back off and tightened all the screws. Voila. Problem solved. Error ft down from hundreds of feet to low 30s.

It seemed so insane to even try but it worked wonders for me.

Oh and shameless plug. Go checkout BajaRom.

Blu

Sent from my BajaRom Note 3 using XDA Premium 4 Mobile App
Last edited by BluPhant; 19th March 2014 at 01:24 AM.
The Following 5 Users Say Thank You to BluPhant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2014, 01:48 PM   |  #2  
lmike6453's Avatar
Senior Member
Phila
Thanks Meter: 319
 
709 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Cool thanks for sharing this...can you try out your compass to see if tightening the screws helped with that as well? Seems like compass sensor is broken for everyone
19th March 2014, 02:21 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Flag Minnesota
Thanks Meter: 1,020
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2008
More
I wonder if there was a loose connection to the GPS antenna or something of the sort. Make sure you don't tighten the screws too much, as it can damage other components/screen on your device. Glad things worked out well!
19th March 2014, 04:27 PM   |  #4  
BluPhant's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New England
Thanks Meter: 259
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
The compass has always seemed a bit off to me. I'm not sure how to get a quantifiable answer to this question, but the GPS tool I used to troubleshoot does have a compass calibration tool. I ran it last night and it appeared (again just to look at it) to be more stable on my drive in to work today.

I tightened the screws using a small screwdriver, and I don't think given the scale that I could have overtightened them; the screwdriver I was using was pretty flimsy. The results after a full day of use are astounding. While I didn't look at the GPS tool this morning, yesterdays driving showed error feet which occasionally dipped into single digits, something I've *NEVER* seen before. It appears to have completely solved my issues. I'm stoked that I don't have to troubleshoot this further, because my next step would have been to Odin back to stock to ensure that it wasn't ROM related. At this point, at least in my case, that's been ruled out.

As a side note, I will admit that my phone has been dropped a few times; nothing crazy, no pavement, always in S-View case, but who knows, maybe enough force to cause some loosening.

-Blu
The Following 3 Users Say Thank You to BluPhant For This Useful Post: [ View ]
28th March 2014, 01:06 AM   |  #5  
BluPhant's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New England
Thanks Meter: 259
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quick update.. the GPS has been flawless since this fix. Just updated to latest Baja without gps.conf tweaks and still perfect.

Blu

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
29th March 2014, 09:29 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 725
 
2,899 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Never had a single issue with GPS..... Wifi connectivity on the other hand seems to be spotty especially on 2.4ghz bands, 5ghz bands are much more reliable.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
1st April 2014, 08:08 PM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
7 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2012
Weird, when I tried to tighten mine, all of then were already really tight.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk
2nd April 2014, 03:43 AM   |  #8  
droidstyle's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Fort Wayne
Thanks Meter: 3,435
 
6,189 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by coco3133

Weird, when I tried to tighten mine, all of then were already really tight.

Sent from my SM-N900V using Tapatalk

Same here
2nd April 2014, 03:49 AM   |  #9  
BluPhant's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag New England
Thanks Meter: 259
 
296 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
Donate to Me
More
Damned if I know. Lol. It has been a godsend for me.

Sent from my Samsung Galaxy Note III ... BajaRom Style
17th April 2014, 04:58 AM   |  #10  
saxophone101's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
51 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
Same and NOT the only one

Sent from my SM-P600 using XDA Premium HD app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes