Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,813,752 Members 39,434 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Warranty Issue

Tip us?
 
PeterZhao478
Old
(Last edited by PeterZhao478; 20th March 2014 at 06:20 AM.) Reason: little more info
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Warranty Issue

Hello. I am quite worried right now because I sent my phone in for repair and apparently my phone is out of warranty. Was it because I was s-off? I thought s-off had nothing to do with warranty. I feel so stupid now. I didn't know you could go from s off back to s on. The issues I am having with my HTC one is a dead pixel and the build quality. It has nothing to do with the software. The phone was given to Telus Mobility which then was sent to HTC repair. Now I get a notification that says my phone is out of warranty. Please help. My phone was also returned to stock settings and no tampered sign and locked bootloader.
 
cr1960
Old
#2  
cr1960's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 304
Posts: 1,412
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Melbourne
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterZhao478 View Post
Hello. I am quite worried right now because I sent my phone in for repair and apparently my phone is out of warranty. Was it because I was s-off? I thought s-off had nothing to do with warranty. I feel so stupid now. I didn't know you could go from s off back to s on. The issues I am having with my HTC one is a dead pixel and the build quality. It has nothing to do with the software. The phone was given to Tells which then was sent to HTC repair. Now I get a notification that says my phone is out of warranty. Please help. My phone was also returned to stock settings and no tampered sign and locked bootloader.
I think you need to discuss with Tellus mate, no-one here can help much with this type of issue.
If the problems are minor, just get them to send it back as-is. Should be little/no charge.

HTC M8
ROM: ViperOneM8
Kernel: Hacker Beta 10
 
PeterZhao478
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by cr1960 View Post
I think you need to discuss with Tellus mate, no-one here can help much with this type of issue.
If the problems are minor, just get them to send it back as-is. Should be little/no charge.
Do some phones get shipped with s off by accident? I've searched online and I saw I tweet from HTC saying that s off docent void warranty.
 
nkk71
Old
#4  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,930
Posts: 5,916
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterZhao478 View Post
Do some phones get shipped with s off by accident? I've searched online and I saw I tweet from HTC saying that s off docent void warranty.
here it is: https://twitter.com/htc/status/377422743626842112

some phones do ship s-off ("by mistake")... don't think there's a real way of proving that you s-off'ed the device... unless you left some nandroids or similar on the phone

good luck
 
PeterZhao478
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
here it is: https://twitter.com/htc/status/377422743626842112

some phones do ship s-off ("by mistake")... don't think there's a real way of proving that you s-off'ed the device... unless you left some nandroids or similar on the phone

good luck
I hope not. I remember needing to run a RUU two times because the first time I ruued I forgot to lock up my boot loader so I rerouted and locked. After locking I ran the RUU again to clear the last and that's it. My phone still has some data but nothing to do with rooting. It also had a PW on it.
 
PeterZhao478
Old
(Last edited by PeterZhao478; 20th March 2014 at 01:04 AM.) Reason: Change of word
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
here it is: https://twitter.com/htc/status/377422743626842112

some phones do ship s-off ("by mistake")... don't think there's a real way of proving that you s-off'ed the device... unless you left some nandroids or similar on the phone

good luck
I also have another question... Dose a RUU format the internal memory? if it doesn't then I'm screwed.........
 
nkk71
Old
#7  
nkk71's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 2,930
Posts: 5,916
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Beirut
Quote:
Originally Posted by PeterZhao478 View Post
I also have another question... Dose a RUU format the internal memory? if it doesn't then I'm screwed.........
yes, a full ruu wipes internal storage.
 
PeterZhao478
Old
#8  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2013
Well... It seems like HTC says that my phone has physical damage? They also said that the button was physical damage... Search Google for HTC One button flush... I bet thousands of post talk about the button and my dead pixel was caused by pressure? How do they know if pressure was put on it... HTC trolling.
 
PeterZhao478
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 24
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by nkk71 View Post
yes, a full ruu wipes internal storage.
Do you think any of the damages look like physical damage? http://imgur.com/a/Tsokf#2

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Android M Mentions Spotted in Android Code Review

While we are still waiting for Android L to be officially released, the first mentions of … more

Create a Simple Custom Launcher from Scratch

When you are starting your journey intoany sort of development, it’s never easy at the … more

MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more