Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Trying to install KK OTA - stock, rooted

OP vflock

19th March 2014, 06:52 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Moved this question from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51198721

I'm currently stock, rooted, S-OFF, and TWRP recovery. I'm flashed to 3.06.651.6 firmware.
I still get the OTA notifications, and my goal is to install the latest OTA update (without RUU) so that I can preserve data. I've created a TWRP backup, but that's the extent of it.

Any help is appreciated.

Other background - I reverted back to 3.06.651.6 after flashing firmware 4.06.xxx because I could not boot normally after that or did not know how.
My bootloader says Tampered, relocked
19th March 2014, 06:59 AM   |  #2  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,063
 
8,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vflock

Moved this question from here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=51198721

I'm currently stock, rooted, S-OFF, and TWRP recovery. I'm flashed to 3.06.651.6 firmware.
I still get the OTA notifications, and my goal is to install the latest OTA update (without RUU) so that I can preserve data. I've created a TWRP backup, but that's the extent of it.

Any help is appreciated.

Other background - I reverted back to 3.06.651.6 after flashing firmware 4.06.xxx because I could not boot normally after that or did not know how.
My bootloader says Tampered, relocked

Ok
I have never done an OTA or Ran an RUU personally.
To the best of my knowledge you will have to flash the stock recovery and a stock rom to be able to take the OTA.
Sidenote: You say you are re-locked...when you unlock again it's going to wipe your device.
Backup everything important to your PC then run the RUU stuff is gonna get wiped either way might as well use the RUU as it's a cleaner method.
You'll have to flash the 4.06 firmware I pointed you to from the other thread to get the required hboot.
19th March 2014, 07:33 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by BD619

Ok
I have never done an OTA or Ran an RUU personally.
To the best of my knowledge you will have to flash the stock recovery and a stock rom to be able to take the OTA.
Sidenote: You say you are re-locked...when you unlock again it's going to wipe your device.
Backup everything important to your PC then run the RUU stuff is gonna get wiped either way might as well use the RUU as it's a cleaner method.
You'll have to flash the 4.06 firmware I pointed you to from the other thread to get the required hboot.

Serious Q - Am I not On the stock ROM if I never switched ROMs?
But OK, s=you're saying if I were even able to get the stock revoery reloaded, and receive the OTA, but then if i try to unloack bootloader after that I won't be able to? Also serious Q - Do you have a link on performing a good nandroid backup?

Next - if I did run the RUU, how would i quickly restore my data - just using titanium backup? is that the quickest/only way?
19th March 2014, 07:44 AM   |  #4  
BD619's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Flag Xda-Dev,NV
Thanks Meter: 8,063
 
8,440 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by vflock

Serious Q - Am I not On the stock ROM if I never switched ROMs?
But OK, s=you're saying if I were even able to get the stock revoery reloaded, and receive the OTA, but then if i try to unloack bootloader after that I won't be able to? Also serious Q - Do you have a link on performing a good nandroid backup?

Next - if I did run the RUU, how would i quickly restore my data - just using titanium backup? is that the quickest/only way?

If you never changed roms then yes you are on a stock rom.
To unlock the bootloader again you would use Htc Dev again(unless you still have your unlock token) and by doing so it will wipe your phone.
Only way to nandroid is to have a custom recovery which means unocking bootloader.
I personally don't use Titanium Backup so can't answer that...I backup my phone/sdcard to my PC at least once a month (copy and paste to a folder on my PC)
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes