Android 5.1 Possibly Coming February 2015

Google released Android 5.0 just over a month ago, and since then Lollipop has been trying to … more

Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Trying to go back to stock, problems relocking the bootloader

OP inexplicability

17th March 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #1  
inexplicability's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag PHOENIX
Thanks Meter: 11
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
I'm following this guide: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2358738

I flashed the ruu successfully, but now I'm trying to remove the tampered flag and relock the bootloader but I need to have su installed. I am unable to install it because I lost root apparently? SuperSU says that it's unable to install the binaries and I cannot install them.

Can anyone help?
17th March 2014, 05:44 AM   |  #2  
All you need to do is connect to fastboot USB and open command and type fast boot OEM lock and you'll relock the boot loader.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
17th March 2014, 05:48 AM   |  #3  
inexplicability's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag PHOENIX
Thanks Meter: 11
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkmx2000

All you need to do is connect to fastboot USB and open command and type fast boot OEM lock and you'll relock the boot loader.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Thanks for the quick reply. So just to make sure, the command is "fastboot oem lock"?

Also, will this get me back to s-on?

SO pretty much I'm unlocked with s-off, but no root.
Last edited by inexplicability; 17th March 2014 at 05:55 AM.
17th March 2014, 06:00 AM   |  #4  
Yep if you have flashed the stock RUU and no longer have SU then all you need to do is reboot into Boot loader and click Fastboot then open a cmd window and type in "Fastboot oem lock" and that will relock the bootloader to s-on.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

---------- Post added 17th March 2014 at 12:00 AM ---------- Previous post was 16th March 2014 at 11:58 PM ----------

I had to do the same thing last week to send fiances phone to get fixed because of the camera issue and accidently sent it in unlocked 😊 and they allowed me to relock it and send it in again without destroying my warranty.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk
17th March 2014, 06:14 AM   |  #5  
inexplicability's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag PHOENIX
Thanks Meter: 11
 
151 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Darkmx2000

Yep if you have flashed the stock RUU and no longer have SU then all you need to do is reboot into Boot loader and click Fastboot then open a cmd window and type in "Fastboot oem lock" and that will relock the bootloader to s-on.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

---------- Post added 17th March 2014 at 12:00 AM ---------- Previous post was 16th March 2014 at 11:58 PM ----------

I had to do the same thing last week to send fiances phone to get fixed because of the camera issue and accidently sent it in unlocked 😊 and they allowed me to relock it and send it in again without destroying my warranty.

Sent from my HTC6500LVW using Tapatalk

Alright, again, thanks for the help.

The bootloader is locked, but it says "relocked" instead of "locked" in hboot. Not sure if this is an issue or not.

However, it still says "S-OFF". Am I good to do ota updates? The microphone stopped working on my phone so I'm trying to get it back up to the latest OTA before I take it in.
17th March 2014, 06:35 AM   |  #6  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Yes you can take an ota while s-off and unlocked. You just need stock everything else.
19th March 2014, 02:54 AM   |  #7  
Chilidog's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 112
 
653 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by inexplicability

Alright, again, thanks for the help.

The bootloader is locked, but it says "relocked" instead of "locked" in hboot. Not sure if this is an issue or not.

However, it still says "S-OFF". Am I good to do ota updates? The microphone stopped working on my phone so I'm trying to get it back up to the latest OTA before I take it in.

@cmlusco I don't think it is supposed to say relocked right?
19th March 2014, 10:16 PM   |  #8  
cmlusco's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Michigan City, IN
Thanks Meter: 932
 
3,146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2010
Donate to Me
More
Not if you want to send it in. Check this out http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2470340

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes