Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Samsung Galaxy Grand Duos Receives Early CM12 Port

Samsung Galaxy Grand is a dual-SIM phone with a 5 screen that was announced two years ago. … more

Google Adds New Features to Drive, Sheets, Slides and Docs

In the last few months, Google has been working very hard to adapt all its apps to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Can someone explain to me the Android File System

OP n0xide

20th March 2014, 03:42 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
So, I'm trying to understand how and why the file system acts the way it does.

Example. I have

/sdcard
and this has a bunch of stuff under it

then i have

/sdcard/0
this has some of the same stuff under it as /sdcard, but is a different file system


Why can I not just have a simple file system that I can understand! I seem to have issues with space because sometimes wiping the phone does not wipe the /sdcard/0 so I am working out of /sdcard/0 as opposed to the base of /sdcard

Any help? I am an idiot so explain like I'm 5, if possible.

Thanks in advance.
20th March 2014, 03:54 AM   |  #2  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 806
 
1,594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0xide

So, I'm trying to understand how and why the file system acts the way it does.

Example. I have

/sdcard
and this has a bunch of stuff under it

then i have

/sdcard/0
this has some of the same stuff under it as /sdcard, but is a different file system


Why can I not just have a simple file system that I can understand! I seem to have issues with space because sometimes wiping the phone does not wipe the /sdcard/0 so I am working out of /sdcard/0 as opposed to the base of /sdcard

Any help? I am an idiot so explain like I'm 5, if possible.

Thanks in advance.

5 year old explanation.

4.3 and above Android systems implement a multi user file setup similar to what Windows and OSx uses. The 0 folder is your account, your significant other could be 1, your dog could be 2, this keeps going depending how many users are registered to the device. It's actual intent is to use multi user on a tablet interface, not a phone, but because jellybean is used on both phones and tablets the file structure is the same.

Normally you don't have to worry about much of this, but if you came from 4.1 jellybean then multiuser wasn't implemented yet. This would double up your data in both places.

To me it sounds like you're OK, it's going to show double files because it's essentially reading the exact same folder, the format isn't going to understand what you're trying to do because it doesn't really know where to look for your data files. Basically, leave your 0 folder alone because that's where your data is supposed to be stored.

Was that 5 year old enough?

Edit: if you format your internal SD card in your recovery, then you'll erase the doubled data, and your folder structure will be repopulated under the 0 folder system. If you're running out of internal storage that's what you should do. Then clean flash the rom of your choice following the format.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Last edited by BadUsername; 20th March 2014 at 03:57 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th March 2014, 04:00 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Cool
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername

5 year old explanation.

4.3 and above Android systems implement a multi user file setup similar to what Windows and OSx uses. The 0 folder is your account, your significant other could be 1, your dog could be 2, this keeps going depending how many users are registered to the device. It's actual intent is to use multi user on a tablet interface, not a phone, but because jellybean is used on both phones and tablets the file structure is the same.

Normally you don't have to worry about much of this, but if you came from 4.1 jellybean then multiuser wasn't implemented yet. This would double up your data in both places.

To me it sounds like you're OK, it's going to show double files because it's essentially reading the exact same folder, the format isn't going to understand what you're trying to do because it doesn't really know where to look for your data files. Basically, leave your 0 folder alone because that's where your data is supposed to be stored.

Was that 5 year old enough?

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2


Yeah! That's a pretty solid explanation! I couldn't seem to find anywhere that broke it down that way.

So let me ask one more 5 year old question.

I seem to have TONS of space used up on my SD card, that I cannot free up.

I have a 16Gig GSIII, when I attach my phone to windows, I have 7gb free of 12gb. I just wiped system, cache, and dalvik, and have a clean version of Beanstalk 4.4.2.

How am I using 5gb when the OS itself is only, ~199Mb.

Is there anyway to have a completely clean install? Even when I soft bricked, and then revived w/odin and an old kernal, I don't think it was totally clean.
20th March 2014, 04:02 AM   |  #4  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 806
 
1,594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0xide

Yeah! That's a pretty solid explanation! I couldn't seem to find anywhere that broke it down that way.

So let me ask one more 5 year old question.

I seem to have TONS of space used up on my SD card, that I cannot free up.

I have a 16Gig GSIII, when I attach my phone to windows, I have 7gb free of 12gb. I just wiped system, cache, and dalvik, and have a clean version of Beanstalk 4.4.2.

How am I using 5gb when the OS itself is only, ~199Mb.

Is there anyway to have a completely clean install? Even when I soft bricked, and then revived w/odin and an old kernal, I don't think it was totally clean.

Yup! I just told you in my post edit, left that out by accident.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to BadUsername For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th March 2014, 04:11 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2013
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by BadUsername

Yup! I just told you in my post edit, left that out by accident.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2

Thanks again! Great answers, and just the info I need!

So, to format it in CWM. I would go to

Mounts and Storage

format /data

or

format /data and /data/media (/sdcard)

i assume I don't touch

format /cache or format /system


and.. last thing I promise, how do I make sure I keep a copy of gaaps and a rom on the sdcard, if I format it?
20th March 2014, 07:21 AM   |  #6  
BadUsername's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 806
 
1,594 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by n0xide

Thanks again! Great answers, and just the info I need!

So, to format it in CWM. I would go to

Mounts and Storage

format /data

or

format /data and /data/media (/sdcard)

i assume I don't touch

format /cache or format /system


and.. last thing I promise, how do I make sure I keep a copy of gaaps and a rom on the sdcard, if I format it?

You can't keep anything on the SD card after formatting, it'll be completely wiped clean, but you should do the second option. Also you should always format system when you clean flash a rom anyway.

I'd use an external SD card to flash the rom from. Alternatively, you could sideload the rom (if you know how). I don't know how.

Sent from my SCH-I535 using Tapatalk 2
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes