Enable the Hidden Notification LED on the Google Nexus 6!

LED notification lights have existed on Android devices since the very beginnings … more

MX Player Ready to Rock on Lollipop

A good video player should be reliable and free. One of the XDA Community Apps, MX Player, meets both of … more

How to Disable Data Encryption on Nexus 6

In late September, Google decided to step on NSA’s toes and turn on encryption by default in … more

DJI Phantom 2 Vision+ Review – XDA TV

The holidays will be here in no time, so why not start thinking about gifts now? Youll be ahead … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Localization in 4.4.2

OP thegios

20th March 2014, 03:55 AM   |  #1  
thegios's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Latina
Thanks Meter: 98
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Anyone could pls explain how localization now works on 4.4.2?

In 4.3 I could have localization thru 3g on and gps off, then I'd turn gos on with a switch when using maps on nav app, and ogff again when finished.

Now all I have is a switch that enables/disables localization and an option with 3 way of working: 1. gps + 3g + wifi, 2. Gps + wifi or 3. gps only.

I am lost... If I choose option 1 than is my gps always on sucking battery? If I choose 2 how can I easily enable gps when in nav app? And if I choose 3 how can I still have google localize me thru wifi when localization is off?

This is so stupid, they should have kept 3g and gps localization separate...
20th March 2014, 04:39 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 1,685
 
2,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
Hi! Please see this how to for guidance with GPS settings in android 4.4.
https://support.google.com/nexus/answer/3467281?hl=en

Apparently the options are practically the same as in 4.3 and just a little bit changed on 4.4.

High accuracy = Should enable both AGPS & onboard GPS Sensor to fetch your location.
Battery saving = Should only use AGPS.
Device only = Should only use the onboard GPS Sensor.

where
AGPS = uses an internet connection(3g and/or WiFi) to get your location.
GPS = uses the built in GPS chip inside your device and connects to GPS satellites to fetch your location.


So in your question.

High accuracy mode in android 4.3 is just like checking both "GPS Satellites" & "Google's Location Service" option at the same time.
Battery saving mode in android 4.3 is just like checking only "Google's Location Service" option.
Device only mode in android 4.3 is just like checking only "GPS Satellites" option.

You could just switch to high accuracy mode when you want to use maps with GPS on and switch back to battery saving mode when you're done using it.
The Following User Says Thank You to Riyal For This Useful Post: [ View ]
20th March 2014, 04:43 AM   |  #3  
thegios's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Latina
Thanks Meter: 98
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal

Hi! Please see this how to for guidance with GPS settings in android 4.4.
https://support.google.com/nexus/answer/3467281?hl=en

Apparently the options are practically the same as in 4.3 and just a little bit changed on 4.4.

High accuracy = Should enable both AGPS & onboard GPS Sensor to fetch your location.
Battery saving = Should only use AGPS.
Device only = Should only use the onboard GPS Sensor.

where
AGPS = uses an internet connection(3g and/or WiFi) to get your location.
GPS = uses the built in GPS chip inside your device and connects to GPS satellites to fetch your location.


So in your question.

High accuracy mode in android 4.3 is just like checking both "GPS Satellites" & "Google's Location Service" option at the same time.
Battery saving mode in android 4.3 is just like checking only "Google's Location Service" option.
Device only mode in android 4.3 is just like checking only "GPS Satellites" option.

You could just switch to high accuracy mode when you want to use maps with GPS on and switch back to battery saving mode when you're done using it.

Thanks
20th March 2014, 04:54 AM   |  #4  
thegios's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Latina
Thanks Meter: 98
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal

Hi! Please see this how to for guidance with GPS settings in android 4.4.
https://support.google.com/nexus/answer/3467281?hl=en

Apparently the options are practically the same as in 4.3 and just a little bit changed on 4.4.

High accuracy = Should enable both AGPS & onboard GPS Sensor to fetch your location.
Battery saving = Should only use AGPS.
Device only = Should only use the onboard GPS Sensor.

where
AGPS = uses an internet connection(3g and/or WiFi) to get your location.
GPS = uses the built in GPS chip inside your device and connects to GPS satellites to fetch your location.


So in your question.

High accuracy mode in android 4.3 is just like checking both "GPS Satellites" & "Google's Location Service" option at the same time.
Battery saving mode in android 4.3 is just like checking only "Google's Location Service" option.
Device only mode in android 4.3 is just like checking only "GPS Satellites" option.

You could just switch to high accuracy mode when you want to use maps with GPS on and switch back to battery saving mode when you're done using it.

Anyhow, before I could leave 3g localization on all the time and enable/disable gps with a switch, now I have to go into the option to do this
20th March 2014, 07:09 AM   |  #5  
301stSpartan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Bangalore, India
Thanks Meter: 519
 
1,124 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegios

Anyone could pls explain how localization now works on 4.4.2?

In 4.3 I could have localization thru 3g on and gps off, then I'd turn gos on with a switch when using maps on nav app, and ogff again when finished.

Now all I have is a switch that enables/disables localization and an option with 3 way of working: 1. gps + 3g + wifi, 2. Gps + wifi or 3. gps only.

I am lost... If I choose option 1 than is my gps always on sucking battery? If I choose 2 how can I easily enable gps when in nav app? And if I choose 3 how can I still have google localize me thru wifi when localization is off?

This is so stupid, they should have kept 3g and gps localization separate...

There really isn't a need to keep GPS off while not using a location app. Your phone will only turn on the GPS receiver when an app asks for your location. It doesn't just constantly stay connected to satellites while the phone is in your pocket. I always have GPS enabled and there is no effect on battery life.

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 06:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:03 AM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal

Hi! Please see this how to for guidance with GPS settings in android 4.4.
https://support.google.com/nexus/answer/3467281?hl=en

High accuracy = Should enable both AGPS & onboard GPS Sensor to fetch your location.
Battery saving = Should only use AGPS.
Device only = Should only use the onboard GPS Sensor.

where
AGPS = uses an internet connection(3g and/or WiFi) to get your location.
GPS = uses the built in GPS chip inside your device and connects to GPS satellites to fetch your location.

Actually aGPS still uses satellites. It just uses your data connection to do one or both of the following:
1. Download satellite reference data to know the position of satellites more quickly for a faster fix
2. Uploads your GPS signals your phone gets from the satellites to an external server which can calculate your location more accurately using things like atmospheric conditions and weather

aGPS is why a phone can get a GPS fix in seconds while a dedicated GPS device might take much longer bc it has to download the reference data from the satellites itself.

What you are referring to is a network estimated location, which isn't the same as aGPS. In fact your phone will always have aGPS enabled if you have GPS enabled.

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using Tapatalk
20th March 2014, 09:24 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Flag Iloilo City
Thanks Meter: 1,685
 
2,877 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2011
Donate to Me
More
@301stSpartan

Well if that's the case with AGPS care to explain how Nokia Maps were able to pinpoint my location years ago when I am using my good old n80? It has assisted GPS but no onboard GPS and as far as I can tell nokia map works on that phone.

@thegios
Not sure if there's any widgets for the new GPS settings of google. TBH though for every upgrade of android eversince jellybean I'm starting to get turned off from android. They're like taking out the features of android 1 by 1.

Quote:
Originally Posted by 301stSpartan

There really isn't a need to keep GPS off while not using a location app. Your phone will only turn on the GPS receiver when an app asks for your location. It doesn't just constantly stay connected to satellites while the phone is in your pocket. I always have GPS enabled and there is no effect on battery life.

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using Tapatalk

---------- Post added at 06:09 AM ---------- Previous post was at 06:03 AM ----------



Actually aGPS still uses satellites. It just uses your data connection to do one or both of the following:
1. Download satellite reference data to know the position of satellites more quickly for a faster fix
2. Uploads your GPS signals your phone gets from the satellites to an external server which can calculate your location more accurately using things like atmospheric conditions and weather

aGPS is why a phone can get a GPS fix in seconds while a dedicated GPS device might take much longer bc it has to download the reference data from the satellites itself.

What you are referring to is a network estimated location, which isn't the same as aGPS. In fact your phone will always have aGPS enabled if you have GPS enabled.

Sent from my Xperia Z1 using Tapatalk

20th March 2014, 10:00 AM   |  #7  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 774
 
3,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Riyal

Not sure if there's any widgets for the new GPS settings of google. TBH though for every upgrade of android eversince jellybean I'm starting to get turned off from android. They're like taking out the features of android 1 by 1.

Got to say i hate the new GPS switch layout, was wondering what the hell they'd done when i first saw it.

Someone will create a switch for it somewhere along the lines, in the mean time just leave it on battery saver mode and switch to high accuracy when you need to drive or something similar which requires full use of GPS.

If the community (us and everyone else) makes enough noise about it they may bring it back.
20th March 2014, 10:41 AM   |  #8  
thegios's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Latina
Thanks Meter: 98
 
1,483 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by dladz

Got to say i hate the new GPS switch layout, was wondering what the hell they'd done when i first saw it.

Someone will create a switch for it somewhere along the lines, in the mean time just leave it on battery saver mode and switch to high accuracy when you need to drive or something similar which requires full use of GPS.

If the community (us and everyone else) makes enough noise about it they may bring it back.

well as @301stSpartan says, even if in high battery mode, it seems the gps is fired only if an app is requesting, so at this point i wouldn't mind and leave it always in high mode
20th March 2014, 12:05 PM   |  #9  
dladz's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Liverpool
Thanks Meter: 774
 
3,748 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thegios

well as @301stSpartan says, even if in high battery mode, it seems the gps is fired only if an app is requesting, so at this point i wouldn't mind and leave it always in high mode

Yea you could but the amount of apps that fire up the GPS is quite a lot, and if youre inside then it's going to try to communicate with satellites and it won't be able to, it'll hit battery, i've no doubt about that.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes