Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

Can I flash a Tmobile ROM on verizon

18th March 2014, 06:58 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 77
 
564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
More
Can i flash any tmobile ROM? like this one : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2682608


I recently flashed a MIUI ROM from our verizon thread and noticed it worked decently with either a tmobile sim or our own Verizon LTE.
I also recently flashed this T-mobile ROM :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292054
which was posted on the T-mobile thread but had our verizon kernal in the list of downloads, with success.

So my question is this: can i flash any Tmobile ROM as long as it doesn't include a kernal and radio and of course access the network settings to change it to LTE/CDMA.???
19th March 2014, 01:33 AM   |  #2  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,552
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orateam

Can i flash any tmobile ROM? like this one : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2682608


I recently flashed a MIUI ROM from our verizon thread and noticed it worked decently with either a tmobile sim or our own Verizon LTE.
I also recently flashed this T-mobile ROM :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292054
which was posted on the T-mobile thread but had our verizon kernal in the list of downloads, with success.

So my question is this: can i flash any Tmobile ROM as long as it doesn't include a kernal and radio and of course access the network settings to change it to LTE/CDMA.???

Probably not. Most ROMs are tightly integrated with their kernel; if you flash just the ROM and not the kernel, lots of things will likely not work well.
19th March 2014, 03:21 AM   |  #3  
Mistertac's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Springfield, Ma
Thanks Meter: 1,670
 
3,489 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
Donate to Me
More
I think you should make a little list of the ones you have success with though... [emoji1]

Sent from my SCH-I545 using Tapatalk
19th March 2014, 04:23 PM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 9
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by orateam

Can i flash any tmobile ROM? like this one : http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2682608


I recently flashed a MIUI ROM from our verizon thread and noticed it worked decently with either a tmobile sim or our own Verizon LTE.
I also recently flashed this T-mobile ROM :http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2292054
which was posted on the T-mobile thread but had our verizon kernal in the list of downloads, with success.

So my question is this: can i flash any Tmobile ROM as long as it doesn't include a kernal and radio and of course access the network settings to change it to LTE/CDMA.???

You sure can. As log as you are on the MDK bootloader. Many of us have done it. Check this thread for some info

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674846
19th March 2014, 07:22 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 77
 
564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by willstilson

You sure can. As log as you are on the MDK bootloader. Many of us have done it. Check this thread for some info

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2674846

Thanks! This proves we can use i9505 (generic S4) roms, but doesn't guarantee we can use Tmobile. But that may not matter. This means we can use the repository of I9505 ROMS which opens the door to a boatload of ROMS!!! WHOOOHOOO.
20th March 2014, 03:38 AM   |  #6  
k1mu's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag Virginia
Thanks Meter: 1,552
 
1,910 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by orateam

Thanks! This proves we can use i9505 (generic S4) roms, but doesn't guarantee we can use Tmobile. But that may not matter. This means we can use the repository of I9505 ROMS which opens the door to a boatload of ROMS!!! WHOOOHOOO.

Yeah, if you're one of the lucky few with the MDK bootloader or a developer edition phone.
But you still probably need to flash the entire ROM, including the kernel that supports it, assuming you're one of the lucky ones.
20th March 2014, 02:47 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Orlando
Thanks Meter: 77
 
564 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2005
More
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by k1mu

Yeah, if you're one of the lucky few with the MDK bootloader or a developer edition phone.
But you still probably need to flash the entire ROM, including the kernel that supports it, assuming you're one of the lucky ones.

I'm assuming most of us have the MDK bootloader. I'm running TW 4.4.2 now (goldeneye ROM). Works flawless. All the mods for i9505 work great too. We have some awesome themes out there in the i9505 themes thread. Verizon S4 keeps getting better and better.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Verizon Samsung Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank