Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,785,416 Members 38,983 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Frustrated ; Unable to Cast : Tab

Tip us?
 
bamastang
Old
#21  
bamastang's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 71
Posts: 298
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sweet Home Alabama

 
DONATE TO ME
Try this.. (found elsewhere)

Here are sometips how you can do it yourself and fix the Cast issues. Though few people would have got this issue resolved. thought it would be useful for the few.

Here are the Steps ---->
1) Navigate to your Desktop. (Your Desktop will be one of the default tiles on your homescreen)
2) Click on your WiFi settings on the bottom of your desktop bar (At the very bottom, right hand side of your Desktop)
3) Right click on your connected Wi-Fi network...Select 'Turn sharing on or off'
Ensure sharing is set to 'on'

I am sure this will not suffice to fix the issue...

4) Right Click on your WiFi settings on the bottom of your desktop bar...Select Open Network and Sharing Center.
5) Select Windows Firewall to the Left hand side corner of the screen.
6)Click on an app or feature through Windows Firewall (you will find this on top of the Left hand side screen)
7)Check if ChromeCast app is listed, if not Click on Allow another App and select ChromeCast app and tick it...you will see 3 type of networktypes
Domain / Private / Public
8) Check which Network Type is it (It will select by default when you tick)
9) Click on OK and now you will be back to the Windows Firewall Page.
10) Click on Advanced Settings...select Windows Firewall Properties in the Overview section
11) Now after you identified which Network Type (Domain/Private/Public), basis on this you need to select the Tab and select the dropdown option of Inbound Connection to "Allow"

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using xda premium
RTR!!! RMFT!!

 
vestaviajag
Old
#22  
vestaviajag's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 470
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sardis, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
Progress is good. Also check Windows Firewall to make sure "Portable Media Devices" are enabled/allowed.
Last time I checked, I think, the Windows Firewall was disabled. Will check after work and report back.

Glad to see you haven't given up on me. Thanks!
Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III
Radio: MD4
ROM: Dirty Unicorn | v7.8 Test (Aug 19) | Kitkat 4.4.4
Kernel: Quantum Kernel | v7-11 (July 11) | Linux 3.4.94
Recovery: TWRP | v2.7.1.0 (June 5) | Holo-Light Theme
SD Card: SanDisk | 32GB | Class 10
---
History: Kyocera 7135|Blackberry 7250|HTC Apache|HTC Mogul|HTC Touch Pro|HTC Hero|HTC EVO 3D|Samsung Galaxy S III
 
vestaviajag
Old
#23  
vestaviajag's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 470
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sardis, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by bhiga View Post
Progress is good. Also check Windows Firewall to make sure "Portable Media Devices" are enabled/allowed.
Solved.

After changing the anti-virus, I un-installed the chromecast extension and re-installed. It works now. Feel vindicated now. Thank you for all you help!

Hope this helps someone else.
Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III
Radio: MD4
ROM: Dirty Unicorn | v7.8 Test (Aug 19) | Kitkat 4.4.4
Kernel: Quantum Kernel | v7-11 (July 11) | Linux 3.4.94
Recovery: TWRP | v2.7.1.0 (June 5) | Holo-Light Theme
SD Card: SanDisk | 32GB | Class 10
---
History: Kyocera 7135|Blackberry 7250|HTC Apache|HTC Mogul|HTC Touch Pro|HTC Hero|HTC EVO 3D|Samsung Galaxy S III
The Following User Says Thank You to vestaviajag For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
derekr44
Old
#24  
derekr44's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 406
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by vestaviajag View Post
Solved.

After changing the anti-virus, I un-installed the chromecast extension and re-installed. It works now. Feel vindicated now. Thank you for all you help!

Hope this helps someone else.
I've been watching this thread, as I have a similar issue. Looks like AVG might have to go...
N4 Velocity - Suffering from TVS since Q3 2013
D's Trance & Progressive Playlist
 
vestaviajag
Old
#25  
vestaviajag's Avatar
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 134
Posts: 470
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Sardis, NC
Quote:
Originally Posted by derekr44 View Post
I've been watching this thread, as I have a similar issue. Looks like AVG might have to go...
when you do replace AVG, I use Avast, un-install and re-install the extension.

can you see the chromecast from the extension? or is it missing?
Sprint Samsung Galaxy S III
Radio: MD4
ROM: Dirty Unicorn | v7.8 Test (Aug 19) | Kitkat 4.4.4
Kernel: Quantum Kernel | v7-11 (July 11) | Linux 3.4.94
Recovery: TWRP | v2.7.1.0 (June 5) | Holo-Light Theme
SD Card: SanDisk | 32GB | Class 10
---
History: Kyocera 7135|Blackberry 7250|HTC Apache|HTC Mogul|HTC Touch Pro|HTC Hero|HTC EVO 3D|Samsung Galaxy S III
 
derekr44
Old
#26  
derekr44's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 199
Posts: 406
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Arizona
Quote:
Originally Posted by vestaviajag View Post
when you do replace AVG, I use Avast, un-install and re-install the extension.

can you see the chromecast from the extension? or is it missing?
I can't even see the Chromecast. I can see it and cast to it on three other phones and two laptops, but not the desktop. Was driving me insane.
N4 Velocity - Suffering from TVS since Q3 2013
D's Trance & Progressive Playlist
 
rahulldhawan
Old
#27  
Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 34
Join Date: Dec 2007
Question Cast Entire Screen not working

Hey Guys,
The 'Cast Entire Screen' option is not working on my Win 7 64bit Dell Laptop. Though it is working fine on my Mac book. So that should mean that the router settings are alright, right? I've tried disabling the firewall and anti-virus and all other chrome extensions too. But nothing works. The single tab cast works just fine. Only problem is with casting the entire screen (experimental). Can anyone please help me with this..?
Thanks in advance. CHEERS.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Fix KitKat WiFi Drops on Your Own

Despite introducing many useful features and overall great performance and enhancements,Android 4.4 KitKat … more

Bring Back Tablet UI on KitKat

Google presented their brand new UI for tablets alongsidethe release of Android 3.0 Honeycomb back in early … more

Give Your Notification Shade a Facelift with these Modding Guides

Modification has always been one of the strong suits of Android, due in … more

Keep Track of How Much Your Car Truly Costs with Car Logbook

It’s a very well established fact that cars are expensive. In addition to … more