Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,770,105 Members 52,156 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

How to sim unlock! I'm Confused please Help!

Tip us?
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Default How to sim unlock! I'm Confused please Help!

Ok so i have been researching and i'm soooo confused. I am on 4.3. I have read that i need to downgrade but doing so will hard brick my phone. I need to sim unlock it so i can use it on cincinnati bell. can somone please tell me how i can sim unlock my phone successfully? When i go into the hidden menu i have the option that says rat_free_support.
 
Larry2999
Old
#2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
Ok so i have been researching and i'm soooo confused. I am on 4.3. I have read that i need to downgrade but doing so will hard brick my phone. I need to sim unlock it so i can use it on cincinnati bell. can somone please tell me how i can sim unlock my phone successfully? When i go into the hidden menu i have the option that says rat_free_support.
Unfortunately, nobody has yet posted a method to successfully free unlock the S3 running on 4.3. It's possible to downgrade your ROM only to 4.1.1 without downgrading the bootloader and retain full phone functionality. However, you would still not be able to free unlock as you need to be on complete stock 4.1.1, including the bootloader, to be able to free unlock. Until someone comes up with an exploit, your best options now would either be to request the unlock code from your carrier, if eligible, or purchase an unlock code online.
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
Unfortunately, nobody has yet posted a method to successfully free unlock the S3 running on 4.3. It's possible to downgrade your ROM only to 4.1.1 without downgrading the bootloader and retain full phone functionality. However, you would still not be able to free unlock as you need to be on complete stock 4.1.1, including the bootloader, to be able to free unlock. Until someone comes up with an exploit, your best options now would either be to request the unlock code from your carrier, if eligible, or purchase an unlock code online.
so i got a different s3. its on 4.1.2. i'm trying to downgrade but i can't find the firmware download anywhere
 
Larry2999
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
so i got a different s3. its on 4.1.2. i'm trying to downgrade but i can't find the firmware download anywhere
Downgrading 4.1.2 to 4.1.1 and unlocking is a breeze. You will find the Odin flashable file and downgrading instructions via the link below...

http://fortedge.com/downgrade.html
 
pitbullmommy45245
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 31
Posts: 566
Join Date: Jul 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Larry2999 View Post
Downgrading 4.1.2 to 4.1.1 and unlocking is a breeze. You will find the Odin flashable file and downgrading instructions via the link below...

http://fortedge.com/downgrade.html
thank u so much. the file says its a rom though? do i have to root my phone. my phone is completly stock unrooted or anything.
 
Larry2999
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 74
Posts: 354
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: Atlanta, GA
Quote:
Originally Posted by pitbullmommy45245 View Post
thank u so much. the file says its a rom though? do i have to root my phone. my phone is completly stock unrooted or anything.
It's a zip file. You would need to download it extract all files. The file to flash via Odin is: I747UCDLK3_I747ATTDLK3_I747UCDLK3_HOME.tar.md5. It doesn't matter whether your phone is rooted or not. A successful flash will deliver a complete stock image. When downgrading from 4.1.2 to 4.1.1, you may experience some error messages after reboot due to some remnants of 4.1.2 on the system. This can be resolved by doing a reset to factory settings either via recovery or from the settings menu.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes