5,604,911 Members 34,112 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[GUIDE][SCRIPT] Install/Restore 4.1/4.2 ROMs without Odin

Tip us?
 
bahatungau
Old
#11  
bahatungau's Avatar
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jul 2013
it works..thanks..
 
shadytarek_97
Old
#12  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 97
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagger View Post
There is one more way too without using pc and adb..
Boot into recovery and format /system.(optional)
Now install any CM10.1 ROM on top of CM10.2.
Then go to advance option in CWM recovery and choose "reboot recovery".
Now when phone reboots into recovery, go to mount and storage and format /preload and /data.
Now reboot.
The rom will boot up normally.
I was on carbon ROM and successfully booted the MIUI using the following method..
Thanks to @Toni5830 for letting me know this method..
@dagger does this method work if i want to downgrade from CM11 to cm10.1
Current Phone : Samsung galaxy S Advance I9070
Current Rom : CM11 by TC
My next phone will be : Nexus the best android phone

if i helped you in any way just click the thanks button
 
dagger
Old
#13  
dagger's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1949
Posts: 4,166
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Medieval period.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadytarek_97 View Post
@dagger does this method work if i want to downgrade from CM11 to cm10.1
I don't think that it works on cm11..
This method only works for installing cm10.1 from cm10.2.
You can't flash a 4.3 or 4.2 ROM from the cm11 recovery as it gives an error in the flashing process..


Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk
 
shadytarek_97
Old
#14  
Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 97
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagger View Post
I don't think that it works on cm11..
This method only works for installing cm10.1 from cm10.2.
You can't flash a 4.3 or 4.2 ROM from the cm11 recovery as it gives an error in the flashing process..


Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk
but tesla's automatic process mentioned in op works with cm11 right ??
Current Phone : Samsung galaxy S Advance I9070
Current Rom : CM11 by TC
My next phone will be : Nexus the best android phone

if i helped you in any way just click the thanks button
 
shut_down
Old
#15  
shut_down's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2795
Posts: 6,463
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Belgrade
Quote:
Originally Posted by shadytarek_97 View Post
but tesla's automatic process mentioned in op works with cm11 right ??
CM10.2 and CM11 uses preload partition as swap, so you can install CM11/10.2 based ROM over CM11/10.2 based ROM without using this. You can't downgrade to previous versions without this or flashing stock firmware.
The Following User Says Thank You to shut_down For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dagger
Old
#16  
dagger's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1949
Posts: 4,166
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Medieval period.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shut_down View Post
CM10.2 and CM11 uses preload partition as swap, so you can install CM11/10.2 based ROM over CM11/10.2 based ROM without using this. You can't downgrade to previous versions without this or flashing stock firmware.
But if you try to install a cm10.2 based ROM on cm11 based ROM, don't you get an error??

Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk
 
shut_down
Old
#17  
shut_down's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2795
Posts: 6,463
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Belgrade
Quote:
Originally Posted by dagger View Post
But if you try to install a cm10.2 based ROM on cm11 based ROM, don't you get an error??

Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk
I think I installed CM11 before, over CM10.2 - with system wipe. but now I am not 100% sure that I remember it right.
 
dagger
Old
#18  
dagger's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 1949
Posts: 4,166
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Medieval period.
Quote:
Originally Posted by shut_down View Post
I think I installed CM11 before, over CM10.2 - with system wipe. but now I am not 100% sure that I remember it right.
Cm11 over cm 10.2 will install fine..
But cm10.2 over cm11 will give error.

Sent from my GT-I9070 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to dagger For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coffeecore
Old
#19  
coffeecore's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 379
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Amsterdam
Sorry for noob question but as OP says; Make sure that /system partition is mounted under mounts and storage

What do I need to do in CWM
unmount /system ?

~ Galaxy S Advance ~

| CyanogenMod 11 by NovaFusion |

 
shut_down
Old
#20  
shut_down's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2795
Posts: 6,463
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Belgrade
Quote:
Originally Posted by coffeecore View Post
Sorry for noob question but as OP says; Make sure that /system partition is mounted under mounts and storage

What do I need to do in CWM
unmount /system ?
No, leave it mounted if it is.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes