5,814,981 Members 40,183 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Anyone tried to use the Google enhanced launcher? From N5?

Tip us?
 
steadly2004
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 221
Join Date: Sep 2011
Default Anyone tried to use the Google enhanced launcher? From N5?

I have a nexus 5, and love the newer KK launcher. I have my tf701 ordered and shipped but not delivered yet. Just wondering if anybody tried using the launcher?

http://nexus7.wonderhowto.com/how-to...ablet-0149714/

Looks like it works with other tablets and phones too. It adds a Google now screen if you swipe all the way to the left and makes the bottom bar through. I don't it would hurt anything seeing as it is just an APK. Shouldn't need root or anything like that.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
sbdags
Old
#2  
sbdags's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter 13,002
Posts: 11,516
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Kenilworth, Coventry

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by steadly2004 View Post
I have a nexus 5, and love the newer KK launcher. I have my tf701 ordered and shipped but not delivered yet. Just wondering if anybody tried using the launcher?

http://nexus7.wonderhowto.com/how-to...ablet-0149714/

Looks like it works with other tablets and phones too. It adds a Google now screen if you swipe all the way to the left and makes the bottom bar through. I don't it would hurt anything seeing as it is just an APK. Shouldn't need root or anything like that.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
I thought it needed KitKat to work?
 
steadly2004
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 221
Join Date: Sep 2011
I think it will work on anything with jelly bean or newer. I'm not a hundred percent sure though. When I get my tablet in I will install it and give it a try.

Here's another thread about it.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2506488

I think a lot of it had to do with the Google Play services that were provided now. If you update completely Google now Google Voice, I think the google it. Launcher installed with just one apk.

Sent from my Nexus 5 using Tapatalk
 
Jerry1996
Old
(Last edited by Jerry1996; 21st March 2014 at 10:24 AM.)
#4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2013
I'm still on version 0.9.6.886092 because i can't update the google now launcher, probably because the TF701 doesn't has 4.4 yet. But it works fine =)

Edit: I've tried it again and now I'm running the latest version of the Google now launcher.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
 
steadly2004
Old
#5  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 56
Posts: 221
Join Date: Sep 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jerry1996 View Post
I'm still on version 0.9.6.886092 because i can't update the google now launcher, probably because the TF701 doesn't has 4.4 yet. But it works fine =)

Edit: I've tried it again and now I'm running the latest version of the Google now launcher.

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
It it working with the integrated Google now? Where you swipe to the left to get to the automatically created\updated cards?
 
Jerry1996
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 7
Join Date: Oct 2013
Yes, everything is working =)

Sent from my HTC One using xda app-developers app
The Following User Says Thank You to Jerry1996 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Change the Style of Your Notifications with HeadsUp

Head Up notifications is one of these upcoming features that Android developers hid deep … more

Google Play Store to Show Price Ranges for In-App Purchases

Google recently announced a change to Google Play Store policy that requires … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: How to Shut Up Your Phone – XDA Developer TV

So many different applications want to send us notifications that … more

Add Some Power to First Generation Snapdragon CPUs

Some older devices still remain very popular. Phones like theHTC Desire, Sony Ericsson … more