Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

HELP!!!!!! Soft Brick. .......I think.

OP Runn1ngwolf

20th March 2014, 11:21 PM   |  #11  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 68
 
1,010 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2009
The broken english and limited data led me to think it was from a foreign country.
20th March 2014, 11:37 PM   |  #12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
If and only if you have the Sprint S4, go to the thread already mentioned here and download the NAE .tar. Here's the link again: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2663619

Verify the MD5 sum, put your phone in download mode, and use ODIN to flash it. That is the only way your problem will be solved. I don't know what you mean exactly by limited data, but if you need to, you can download it in a library or something. It's a large file.
21st March 2014, 02:08 AM   |  #13  
Runn1ngwolf's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Tigard
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Ok. So first off Texas born and bred. Graduated at 14 years old. No broken grammar. I only have 1g available on my plan for the tablet. Unlimited on the phone. It is unevoquivically SPH-L720T.

FINALLY problem solved. Back to Samsung today. New tech. Apparently class 6 SD during root was the problem. Fixed free in Best Buy, by Samsung tech.

Now let's try this root again. If first you don't succeed. ...... lol.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using xda app-developers app
21st March 2014, 02:49 AM   |  #14  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
Thanks Meter: 1,253
 
2,291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runn1ngwolf

Ok. So first off Texas born and bred. Graduated at 14 years old. No broken grammar. I only have 1g available on my plan for the tablet. Unlimited on the phone. It is unevoquivically SPH-L720T.

FINALLY problem solved. Back to Samsung today. New tech. Apparently class 6 SD during root was the problem. Fixed free in Best Buy, by Samsung tech.

Now let's try this root again. If first you don't succeed. ...... lol.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using xda app-developers app

Root with the LATEST version of CF-Autoroot from Chainfire's site; linked in the OP. That's should be this one
Then install any recovery you with. Either with GooManager or via PC Odin.
For recovery I'd recommend Philz philz_touch_6.08.9-jfltespr (You can use others but that has, for me proven the most reliable on 4.4 and most of the 4.3 builds). Builds are here
Hint if you install goomanager and flash a custom recovery you can then use that recovery to flash other recovery zips - either Philz, TWRP or CWM
And Tigard, I'm guessing your somewhere by the 99 and 217.

EDIT!!
You have the T version so don't do anything I said for the regular 720!!
Last edited by leaderbuilder; 21st March 2014 at 05:15 AM.
21st March 2014, 03:34 AM   |  #15  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,742
 
8,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bielinsk

The broken english and limited data led me to think it was from a foreign country.

Well you got yoir answer.





Quote:
Originally Posted by Runn1ngwolf

Ok. So first off Texas born and bred. Graduated at 14 years old. No broken grammar. I only have 1g available on my plan for the tablet. Unlimited on the phone. It is unevoquivically SPH-L720T.

FINALLY problem solved. Back to Samsung today. New tech. Apparently class 6 SD during root was the problem. Fixed free in Best Buy, by Samsung tech.

Now let's try this root again. If first you don't succeed. ...... lol.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using xda app-developers app

Glad you were able to solve it. Sorry I would have sent you my number to make it easier to communicate but I had a final today for my most important class this quarter so I was focused on that.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk
21st March 2014, 04:57 AM   |  #16  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 178
 
446 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runn1ngwolf

Ok. So first off Texas born and bred. Graduated at 14 years old. No broken grammar. I only have 1g available on my plan for the tablet. Unlimited on the phone. It is unevoquivically SPH-L720T.

FINALLY problem solved. Back to Samsung today. New tech. Apparently class 6 SD during root was the problem. Fixed free in Best Buy, by Samsung tech.

Now let's try this root again. If first you don't succeed. ...... lol.

Sent from my SPH-L720T using xda app-developers app

I am going to caution you here, since you have the L720T. I think we all assumed that you were talking about the original L720. Do not use those NAE ROM threads that we linked you to, and whatever root method you use, make sure it works on the L720T. For future questions, make sure you specify what phone you have. This is primarily a forum for the older L720 model phone, not the tri-band phone that you have.
The Following User Says Thank You to sputnik767 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
22nd March 2014, 06:12 AM   |  #17  
Runn1ngwolf's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Tigard
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
Actually, I had already tried those files several times Prior to you suggesting them. I'm just still shocked, and disbelieving that too low a class SD card caused the problem. Feedback?

Sent from my SM-T217S using xda app-developers app
22nd March 2014, 06:48 AM   |  #18  
leaderbuilder's Avatar
Senior Member
Somewhere in the dark and wet Northwest.
Thanks Meter: 1,253
 
2,291 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2007
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Runn1ngwolf

Actually, I had already tried those files several times Prior to you suggesting them. I'm just still shocked, and disbelieving that too low a class SD card caused the problem. Feedback?

Sent from my SM-T217S using xda app-developers app

I for one don't believe the card was the problem.
With no SD card at all, the phone should've booted no problem.
When I got my phone it didn't have a card in it - I did order a class10 at the same time but it didn't arrive as fast as my phone. I put in an older 8gb class 6 without issue.
Sh*ty sd card and it should boot just access it slowly, unless you did something to move system files to your external SD card before it failed.
Now I do know cards of any type and class can fail - and DO. But the fact that the card is bad shouldn't matter to booting - all that is off the internal storage.
Did they 'sell' you a new card or just give you another?
Seems all weird to me but who knows. Just glad you got it.
22nd March 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #19  
Runn1ngwolf's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Tigard
Thanks Meter: 1
 
8 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Donate to Me
More
HELP!!!!!! Soft Brick. .......I think.
Quote:
Originally Posted by leaderbuilder

I for one don't believe the card was the problem.
With no SD card at all, the phone should've booted no problem.
When I got my phone it didn't have a card in it - I did order a class10 at the same time but it didn't arrive as fast as my phone. I put in an older 8gb class 6 without issue.
Sh*ty sd card and it should boot just access it slowly, unless you did something to move system files to your external SD card before it failed.
Now I do know cards of any type and class can fail - and DO. But the fact that the card is bad shouldn't matter to booting - all that is off the internal storage.
Did they 'sell' you a new card or just give you another?
Seems all weird to me but who knows. Just glad you got it.

Actually, neither. I had bought my own. Mine also came without. I used the older 8G, until i could afford the class 10 16G. But that is what he said. I've had few problems since then, though haven't taken time to try another root yet.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes