Get Your XDA 2015 Custom Avatar and Signature Images Here

As stated in our motto, XDA Developer is for developers, by developers. The … more

Pin Your Photos on Android Lollipop with Photo Pinner

In the last few weeks,we have been talking quite a bit about Android 5.0 Lollipop. This … more

Samsung Galaxy Note Edge Hands On – XDA TV

Perhaps one of the more peculiar announcements this year was the curved edge-screened … more

Nova Launcher Update Brings Lollipop Functionality and Feel

One of the most popular third party launcher on Android, Nova Launcher, has just … more
Post Reply

[A] Picasa Web Albums Sign-In Request

OP LiveTrash

22nd March 2014, 11:19 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Ever since I updated to KitKat on my S4, Google kept asking me to sign in to allow Gallery to access Picasa Web Albums or something like that. Every time I open Gallery it would come up. Despite saying "No" and removing the notification, it just came back every time.

To remove this notification, I went into the Gallery (the stock gallery app) and hit the menu button (the capacitive button on the bottom left of the phone), went into Settings. I tapped my gmail address under "Accounts" at the top and scrolled to the bottom of that list. Once I unchecked "Sync Picasa Web Albums" the notification stopped appearing. Not sure if this was some update within KitKat or not because I never had the notification before.

Anyway, I decided to post this so anyone with the same issue who tried searching for it might find this and it will help them.

Cheers,
LiveTrash
The Following 6 Users Say Thank You to LiveTrash For This Useful Post: [ View ]
8th May 2014, 06:29 PM   |  #2  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2010
Thumbs up
Thank you Live Trash, I had been having this pop up several times a day since updating. Problem solved.


Quote:
Originally Posted by LiveTrash

Ever since I updated to KitKat on my S4, Google kept asking me to sign in to allow Gallery to access Picasa Web Albums or something like that. Every time I open Gallery it would come up. Despite saying "No" and removing the notification, it just came back every time.

To remove this notification, I went into the Gallery (the stock gallery app) and hit the menu button (the capacitive button on the bottom left of the phone), went into Settings. I tapped my gmail address under "Accounts" at the top and scrolled to the bottom of that list. Once I unchecked "Sync Picasa Web Albums" the notification stopped appearing. Not sure if this was some update within KitKat or not because I never had the notification before.

Anyway, I decided to post this so anyone with the same issue who tried searching for it might find this and it will help them.

Cheers,
LiveTrash

31st May 2014, 03:05 PM   |  #3  
addy37's Avatar
Member
Flag City of Nizams
Thanks Meter: 9
 
82 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
The Solution was so simple, yet couldn't think... Thanks

Quote:
Originally Posted by LiveTrash

Ever since I updated to KitKat on my S4, Google kept asking me to sign in to allow Gallery to access Picasa Web Albums or something like that. Every time I open Gallery it would come up. Despite saying "No" and removing the notification, it just came back every time.

To remove this notification, I went into the Gallery (the stock gallery app) and hit the menu button (the capacitive button on the bottom left of the phone), went into Settings. I tapped my gmail address under "Accounts" at the top and scrolled to the bottom of that list. Once I unchecked "Sync Picasa Web Albums" the notification stopped appearing. Not sure if this was some update within KitKat or not because I never had the notification before.

Anyway, I decided to post this so anyone with the same issue who tried searching for it might find this and it will help them.

Cheers,
LiveTrash

1st June 2014, 07:35 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
1 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2014
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by LiveTrash

Ever since I updated to KitKat on my S4, Google kept asking me to sign in to allow Gallery to access Picasa Web Albums or something like that. Every time I open Gallery it would come up. Despite saying "No" and removing the notification, it just came back every time.

To remove this notification, I went into the Gallery (the stock gallery app) and hit the menu button (the capacitive button on the bottom left of the phone), went into Settings. I tapped my gmail address under "Accounts" at the top and scrolled to the bottom of that list. Once I unchecked "Sync Picasa Web Albums" the notification stopped appearing. Not sure if this was some update within KitKat or not because I never had the notification before.

Anyway, I decided to post this so anyone with the same issue who tried searching for it might find this and it will help them.

Cheers,
LiveTrash

Thanks a lot for saving me a bunch of time. Yeah, just reinstalling all the Google stuff defaulted to syncing with all their apps. Easy fix for an annoying issue.
23rd July 2014, 01:30 AM   |  #5  
thatdudedizzy's Avatar
Member
Flag dirty souFF
Thanks Meter: 1
 
41 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2007
Donate to Me
More
awesome.....on the note 3 here, but with multiple gmail accounts, this was about to drive me effin insane, you rock man ty ty ty
25th July 2014, 05:43 AM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 15
 
68 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
One question, can I revert agreement that I did?

I installed stock KitKat firmware on my Samsung phone, added Google Account and agreed to linking Gallery app with my Google Picasa photos.
Now I want to revoke access, but there is no such options in Google account settings. I checked under apps with Google+ login - nothing there. Also clearing data of Gallery app doesn't help, cause after alowing to sync again there's no more Sign-In Request, it just syncs.

And btw I know I can remove check mark in sync setting to stop syncing my picasa to samsung gallery, but still - first time I opened Gallery, there was an access request and idk where to find revoke button in my Google account - button like for games or apps that I logged in with my Google+ account.

I'm a little bit OCD about this. Can someone help me?
Thanks

ok, I see that permission is reseted while flashing custom ROM and not using stock apps.
Last edited by MikeSome1; 12th September 2014 at 05:58 AM.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy S 4 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank