Post Reply

[Q] System size 10GB!!!

OP presnov

13th March 2014, 09:06 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Hello everyone,

i'm a happy (?) owner of an Ativ S, the phone is GDR3 and fully unlocked.

I'm pretty satisfied other then for continous storage problems. My system has grown to almost 10GB now!!! Temp folder is pretty normal and under control

around 500mb... I don't want to believe that the only way to solve is to hard reset. Any good backup options to suggest if i got no choice pls?

My thought is that somehow youtube stored video cache somewhere in system folders because it grew everytime i watched a video.

Thanks
13th March 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #2  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,708
 
5,731 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
That's possible, yeah. Have you tried my Storage Cleanup app yet? The current version doesn't support cleaning up app storage, although I plan to add that "soon".
14th March 2014, 12:44 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by GoodDayToDie

That's possible, yeah. Have you tried my Storage Cleanup app yet? The current version doesn't support cleaning up app storage, although I plan to add that "soon".

Yes, i tried but it only found 300mb of deletable stuff.
So if i format the phone and then Watch a couple of YT vids it Will fill up again?
Guess i Will need a good backup Solution.
14th March 2014, 02:43 AM   |  #4  
Recognized Developer
Flag Seattle
Thanks Meter: 2,708
 
5,731 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2011
More
Well, you could always just try deleting the YT app. That will free all the storage it is using. You can re-install it afterward (you'll probably need to re-enter your account details or whatever, but that's it).
14th March 2014, 11:16 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I already did that and nothing changed, stord Memory management is awful on wp8.
I'm so upset, instead of enjoy the phone i have to lose time finding the way to male it work.
The formating is not in issue per se, the problem is Will it fullfil again and again and again?
14th March 2014, 01:15 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
6 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
I just soft formatted the phone, think i lost unlock and since is GDR3 i'd have to downgrade it and stuff to get the unlock again?

Found this thread http: //wmpoweruser.com/samsung-ativ-s-owners-beware-of-gdr3/
Last edited by presnov; 14th March 2014 at 01:46 PM.
16th March 2014, 02:20 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Flag BFE
Thanks Meter: 53
 
194 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by presnov

I just soft formatted the phone, think i lost unlock and since is GDR3 i'd have to downgrade it and stuff to get the unlock again?

Found this thread http: //wmpoweruser.com/samsung-ativ-s-owners-beware-of-gdr3/

Check this thread http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2537241
23rd March 2014, 06:18 PM   |  #8  
Junior Member
Flag Pueblo
Thanks Meter: 3
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
More
Try setting the date to anything over 30 years from now (2044+). Let the phone sit for at least 20 minutes, then check your storage and change back to "Set Automatically". I did this and got my temp files down to almost nothing. It may work for system files as well. Its worth a shot and a lot easier than a reset.

Let us know.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes