FORUMS
Remove All Ads from XDA

[Q] Upgrade to 4.13.651.4 via RUU?

164 posts
Thanks Meter: 17
 
By sladehawke, Senior Member on 24th March 2014, 12:53 AM
Post Reply Email Thread
Captain's thread suggests upgrading to 4.13.651.4 via RUU. I am currently s-off running the early release, 4.13.651.1

Before I make that jump I want to make sure I have the procedure right... I touch this stuff so rarely now that I hardly trust myself.

Here is my plan
  1. relock bootloader
  2. run RUU and let the phone settle
  3. htc unlock
  4. run a PJ75IMG with the custom twrp recovery
  5. flash odex/deodex version

does that sound about right?
 
 
24th March 2014, 01:06 AM |#2  
SilverZero's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 288
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by sladehawke

Captain's thread suggests upgrading to 4.13.651.4 via RUU. I am currently s-off running the early release, 4.13.651.1

Before I make that jump I want to make sure I have the procedure right... I touch this stuff so rarely now that I hardly trust myself.

Here is my plan

  1. relock bootloader
  2. run RUU and let the phone settle
  3. htc unlock
  4. run a PJ75IMG with the custom twrp recovery
  5. flash odex/deodex version

does that sound about right?

If you're S-OFF you do NOT need to re-lock the bootloader. I never did. You'll probably still have to unlock it after the RUU, but you don't need to relock it first. Make sure you get the right recovery (from Cap's thread). Otherwise you're on the right track.
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SilverZero For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift SilverZero Ad-Free
24th March 2014, 01:06 AM |#3  
Quote:
Originally Posted by sladehawke

Captain's thread suggests upgrading to 4.13.651.4 via RUU. I am currently s-off running the early release, 4.13.651.1

Before I make that jump I want to make sure I have the procedure right... I touch this stuff so rarely now that I hardly trust myself.

Here is my plan

  1. relock bootloader
  2. run RUU and let the phone settle
  3. htc unlock
  4. run a PJ75IMG with the custom twrp recovery
  5. flash odex/deodex version

does that sound about right?

From what I've read, through the search feature, I don't think you need to relock being that you're S-off. You may want to search that a bit more however.

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
The Following User Says Thank You to The Merovingian For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift The Merovingian Ad-Free
24th March 2014, 02:03 AM |#4  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,468
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by atheistevofreak

From what I've read, through the search feature, I don't think you need to relock being that you're S-off. You may want to search that a bit more however.

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Correct. You do not have to relock the bootloader if you're S-off.

OP, once you've flashed the ROM you'll need to make sure you install the latest SuperSU so you have root access.

Sent from my EVO LTE
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to Magnum_Enforcer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Magnum_Enforcer Ad-Free
24th March 2014, 02:25 AM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by FinZ28

Correct. You do not have to relock the bootloader if you're S-off.

OP, once you've flashed the ROM you'll need to make sure you install the latest SuperSU so you have root access.

Sent from my EVO LTE

I'm planning on installing the De-ODEX version, so i think that will already be included... I use several of the systemUI mods
24th March 2014, 02:27 AM |#6  
Magnum_Enforcer's Avatar
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 3,468
 
More
It won't be. You'll need to flash the zip in recovery. You can get the latest version in the link below:

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1538053

Sent from my EVO LTE
The Following User Says Thank You to Magnum_Enforcer For This Useful Post: [ View ] Gift Magnum_Enforcer Ad-Free
26th March 2014, 05:30 AM |#7  
Sh3llSh0ck's Avatar
Member
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
I ran just the zip and it worked great. Installed viper 4.0 and working great!

Sent from my EVO using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Guest Quick Reply (no urls or BBcode)
Message:
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes