Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Carriers with unlocked bootloader

OP ryujeff

23rd March 2014, 04:48 AM   |  #1  
ryujeff's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Bellevue
Thanks Meter: 5
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Which carrier doesn't lock their bootloader? AT&T locks and Verizon too. does Sprint or T-mobile lock bootloaders? i have thoughts about changing the carrier after this cursed 2-year contract.
23rd March 2014, 05:11 AM   |  #2  
grneyez's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 71
 
484 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2009
I believe all US carriers lock the boot loaders. Not sure about Sprint, but depending where you are Sprint has poor service coverage at least for me. T Mobile locks there bootloader also.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk
23rd March 2014, 05:08 PM   |  #3  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 144
 
792 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grneyez

I believe all US carriers lock the boot loaders. Not sure about Sprint, but depending where you are Sprint has poor service coverage at least for me. T Mobile locks there bootloader also.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

Not all phones for Tmobile. The Tmobile S4 isnt locked, although I do know the Z1S is locked.
23rd March 2014, 05:13 PM   |  #4  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 3
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Well, I know that Rogers SGH-I337m (Canadian Version) is unlocked, but some others like AT&T and Verizon are locked (Canadian versions also).

I thought there was a list somewhere around here....I think I was just looking at CF Auto Roots page and saw that some are locked.
24th March 2014, 04:19 AM   |  #5  
ryujeff's Avatar
OP Member
Flag Bellevue
Thanks Meter: 5
 
85 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by grneyez

I believe all US carriers lock the boot loaders. Not sure about Sprint, but depending where you are Sprint has poor service coverage at least for me. T Mobile locks there bootloader also.

Sent from my GT-I9505 using Tapatalk

So at least, do they leave the bootloader unlocked for reference phones and GPEs?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes