Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,732,375 Members 45,250 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[DISCUSSION]Different files included in GPE and Stock ROM (zip with the files)

Tip us?
 
coldflid
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 780
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Default [DISCUSSION]Different files included in GPE and Stock ROM (zip with the files)

I'm not really sure wether this should go here, nor if i should put [DEV] before the title so if any mod wants to change it just change it
I've extracted both roms to compare the files included in each and since i don't have a lot of time i thought i could share it in case someone wants to use it, to try and make the fmradio, gallery, camera or other motorola things work on GPE rom for example, or for whatever reason.

The zip i've uploaded contains the system folder of a normal rom, but includes only the files missing in the GPE rom included in the stock rom, so if a folder is empty it's because both stock and GPE contain the same files in that folder (or files with the same name, as some files are named the same on the stock rom but have been modified).
I know the gpe rom already includes the clock, hangouts and keyboard apps too, but they're not only named different, but the motorola apps actually take up less space so i thought i could just include them in case someone wants to use them too.

If you think i should add something more to this post feel free to comment, i'll try to keep the thread updated with useful stuff found out from this.

https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B2S...=sharing&pli=1

If you find out something useful, like the files needed to get something to work, it'd be appreciated if you could comment, not only to keep the thread updated but to learn about it. Thanks!
BTW if someone comes up with a better name for the thread please do tell, i'm horrible at naming threads haha

Enjoy
The Following 4 Users Say Thank You to coldflid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
marjaN_
Old
#2  
marjaN_'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 23
Posts: 196
Join Date: Nov 2010
and moto camera works on GPe? any FCs? what's up with GPe camera, gallery, etc.?


thx for answer
 
mokkami
Old
(Last edited by mokkami; 25th March 2014 at 06:35 AM.)
#3  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 403
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
I was wondering why the most apps have a different size.
What can be the reasons that the apk sizes are different on GPE or normal Moto g?

Also there are apps in /system/app and in system/priv-app.
Some files are in GPE in app where there in in Moto G in priv-app and the other way round.

Sent from my Commodore 16 using NSA's satellite dish
..................pls hit Thanks button if anyone helped you!
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to mokkami For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
coldflid
Old
#4  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 780
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by marjaN_ View Post
and moto camera works on GPe? any FCs? what's up with GPe camera, gallery, etc.?


thx for answer
I haven't tried anything sorry as i'm quite busy this week, i'll make tests next week. I heard there was a zip with the moto g camera working on GPE except for slo-mo and hdr

Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami View Post
I was wondering why the most apps have a different size.
What can be the reasons that the apk sizes are different on GPE or normal Moto g?

Also there are apps in /system/app and in system/priv-app.
Some files are in GPE in app where there in in Moto G in priv-app and the other way round.
I'm going to take a look and compare the apps, but my guess is motorola just made a few changes to the original google apps either to optimize them or add something we might not have noticed as it may not be a setting.
As i said i haven't really looked into the files inside the zip, just a quick glance since i'm quite busy this week, but thanks for mentioning it i hadn't realised that
The Following User Says Thank You to coldflid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
mokkami
Old
#5  
mokkami's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 85
Posts: 403
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Pune (IN), Düsseldorf (DE)
Could you figure out something?

Sent from my Commodore 16 using NSA's satellite dish
..................pls hit Thanks button if anyone helped you!
 
coldflid
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 780
Posts: 1,557
Join Date: Dec 2010

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mokkami View Post
Could you figure out something?

I actually prefer stock over GPE so i didnt really look much further into it as i had no need sorry
I started working on a rom project and currently working on it

Enviado desde mi XT1032 mediante Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to coldflid For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes