Best Alarm App for Android?

There are tons of choices to choose from when looking for a great alarm app for Android. While the stock … more

Unofficial CM12.1 Available for Moto E 2014

While Motorola is yet to release a final 5.0.2 build for the Moto E 2014, XDA Senior … more

Pinsy Brings Social Sketching To Your Watch & Phone

Did you watch Apple’s VP draw on his wrist during the Apple Watch announcement … more

CyanogenMod 12.1 for Samsung Galaxy S5

Android 5.1 is slowly putting its mark in the custom ROM world. CyanogenMod 12.1 is available to … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] Rooted my phone and FFC stopped working

24th March 2014, 10:49 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 39
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
After rooting, launching the camera app resulted in some errors. I cleared the cache and data, and everything looked fine. I went ahead and flashed a custom ROM. Then I realized the FFC was not working. I'd get camera error. Someone said that I should go back to stock to see if it worked, and I flashed stock, and it still didn't work.

Not sure what to do next. The FFC was working fine before the root operation. Any tips on how to restore the FFC functionality?
26th March 2014, 02:58 AM   |  #2  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 779
 
3,120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
You need to supply more info as far as what os, rom, what else isn't working before you get any input. If all is well and just the camera is borked you can always flash a camera apk. Reflashing the rom may also help.

Pp.

Sent from my bluetooth equipped toaster using mind control.
31st March 2014, 08:22 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 39
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet

You need to supply more info as far as what os, rom, what else isn't working before you get any input. If all is well and just the camera is borked you can always flash a camera apk. Reflashing the rom may also help.

I flashed Virgin ROM (http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2343513). I tried to flash over the camera.apk from OP. It didn't help. I have since then clean flashed the same ROM and a couple of its updates, and clean flashed KOT49H(http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2539361). At all times the FFC did not work. Someone suggested that I flash a different kernel. I tried that but ended up in a bootloop and reverted to the KOT49H. I also did try to ODIN flash the stock ROM, but found the camera to be not working there too. I am now running the KOT49H ROM. Everything, except the FFC, works.
31st March 2014, 10:09 PM   |  #4  
Kriptik210's Avatar
Senior Member
Crystal River
Thanks Meter: 158
 
602 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2013
More
Not trying to be rude but this why backups are made before you flash something

Sent from an A.I. frequency
31st March 2014, 10:12 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 39
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kriptik210

Not trying to be rude but this why backups are made before you flash something

Sent from an A.I. frequency

I believe something went wrong right after I rooted the phone. Backing up would not have achieved anything.
4th April 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #6  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 779
 
3,120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Maybe it's hardware failure what you're dealing with. Not sure but there may be a dialer code you can enter using your dialer that can check to see if it works or not. You may need to be stock firmware /Rom in order to do this. Google it.

****** Edit ******
Try this https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...nKSz0GeZWCkM_w

Pp.

sent from my P5113 using TouchPal mind control keyboard. (Beta)
Last edited by PanchoPlanet; 4th April 2014 at 05:56 PM.
4th April 2014, 06:01 PM   |  #7  
OP Senior Member
Flag Nashville, TN
Thanks Meter: 39
 
387 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by PanchoPlanet

Maybe it's hardware failure what you're dealing with. Not sure but there may be a dialer code you can enter using your dialer that can check to see if it works or not. You may need to be stock firmware /Rom in order to do this. Google it.

****** Edit ******
Try this https://www.google.com/url?sa=t&sour...nKSz0GeZWCkM_w

Pp.

sent from my P5113 using TouchPal mind control keyboard. (Beta)

Thanks. None of those codes for the camera worked. It's annoying to go to stock. I'll just live with it for now!
4th April 2014, 07:47 PM   |  #8  
PanchoPlanet's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Crooklyn
Thanks Meter: 779
 
3,120 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2011
Donate to Me
More
Maybe it's a warranty issue.

Pp.

sent from my P5113 using TouchPal mind control keyboard. (Beta)

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
ffc, front camera, front facing camera, root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes