Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,812,957 Members 54,447 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] 4.3 rom on 4.2

Tip us?
 
dirtyjerzz
Old
#1  
dirtyjerzz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montague
Default [Q] 4.3 rom on 4.2

quick question.

i have a stock rom (4.2.2) tmobile galaxy s4 with the ktoonz kernal, and i want to flash wicked v10 to it. wicked is a 4.3 rom, and im not trying to brick my phone.

ive been searching for a little bit, and i keep finding talk about flashing a bootloader and radio, or using odin to download a new modem... but i have yet to find any solid answers when it comes to this on the tmobile gs4. can someone provide some insight?
 
baseballfanz
Old
#2  
baseballfanz's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1,711
Posts: 6,690
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Sugar Land TX
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtyjerzz View Post
quick question.

i have a stock rom (4.2.2) tmobile galaxy s4 with the ktoonz kernal, and i want to flash wicked v10 to it. wicked is a 4.3 rom, and im not trying to brick my phone.

ive been searching for a little bit, and i keep finding talk about flashing a bootloader and radio, or using odin to download a new modem... but i have yet to find any solid answers when it comes to this on the tmobile gs4. can someone provide some insight?
You shouldn't have any problems flashing Wicked V10. I'm still on the MDL bootloader and used a variety of 4.3 and now 4.4.2 ROM.
You might want to update your modem however (If you're getting data drop when screen off, if not no worry).
**************
The Following User Says Thank You to baseballfanz For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
dirtyjerzz
Old
#3  
dirtyjerzz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montague
Quote:
Originally Posted by baseballfanz View Post
You shouldn't have any problems flashing Wicked V10. I'm still on the MDL bootloader and used a variety of 4.3 and now 4.4.2 ROM.
You might want to update your modem however (If you're getting data drop when screen off, if not no worry).
how would i do that? im still partially newb when it comes to this stuff.
 
serio22
Old
#4  
serio22's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 702
Posts: 2,192
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Houston
Quote:
Originally Posted by dirtyjerzz View Post
how would i do that? im still partially newb when it comes to this stuff.
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2544612


Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
 
dirtyjerzz
Old
#5  
dirtyjerzz's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 14
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Montague
^thanks!
 
nccountrymike
Old
#6  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 4
Posts: 10
Join Date: Mar 2014
You shouldn't have a problem. I went from rooted stock 4.2.2 straight to flashing 4.4.2 and the NB4 modem all while still keeping the MDL bootloader. Just follow the instructions in the op after reading the rest of the comments.

Sent from my SGH-M919 using Tapatalk
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


MediaTek Continues Steps Towards Being Developer-Friendly

Not too long ago MediaTek was very closed off towards the mobile developer … more

Sony PS4 Remote Play Ported to All Android Devices

Im pretty sure that every informed gamer out there perked their ears up when Sony came out … more

Change Your Samsung Galaxy S2’s Dialer Background in Real Time

As with anything, if youve looked at something long enough, things can … more

Increase Your Multitasking Workflow with C-Floating Windows

Technology has put life on the fast track. Lazy, relaxed days have turned into … more