Post Reply

[Q] ADB sideload fails?

OP Turdbasket

25th March 2014, 09:43 PM   |  #1  
Turdbasket's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
I recently rooted and installed Cyanogenmod 11(nightly) on my ls970. CM11 was a little glitchy so I decided to downgrade to CM 10.2... but my dumb*ss forgot to wipe CM 11 before I installed 10.2. needless to say it didn't work. I then did a full wipe(the backup I created didn't work) with TWRP and then tried to sideload Cyangogenmod 10.2.. the sideload fails.. so I thought it was an issue with the ROM..So I got the stock ROM from Google and tried to sideload that. The sideload always starts (on both ROMs) but always ends up failing in the end.. Any help would be appreciated.

I also tried to install stock rom via lgnpst but it does not recognize the phone. And all drivers are installed
25th March 2014, 09:48 PM   |  #2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket

I recently rooted and installed Cyanogenmod 11(nightly) on my ls970. CM11 was a little glitchy so I decided to downgrade to CM 10.2... but my dumb*ss forgot to wipe CM 11 before I installed 10.2. needless to say it didn't work. I then did a full wipe(the backup I created didn't work) with TWRP and then tried to sideload Cyangogenmod 10.2.. the sideload fails.. so I thought it was an issue with the ROM..So I got the stock ROM from Google and tried to sideload that. The sideload always starts (on both ROMs) but always ends up failing in the end.. Any help would be appreciated.

I also tried to install stock rom via lgnpst but it does not recognize the phone. And all drivers are installed


How about copying the rom by just transfer the Rom.zip to scdard? I really never use adb sideload as there is really no reason to, except it has a chance to be not working...
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2014, 09:58 PM   |  #3  
Turdbasket's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

How about copying the rom by just transfer the Rom.zip to scdard? I really never use adb sideload as there is really no reason to, except it has a chance to be not working...

The phone shows up on my computer but it's greyed out and says I need to insert a memory device. When I wiped the info to install the new rom I think I wiped too much (i wiped everything)
25th March 2014, 10:05 PM   |  #4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Question
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket

The phone shows up on my computer but it's greyed out and says I need to insert a memory device. When I wiped the info to install the new rom I think I wiped too much (i wiped everything)


Which recovery version do you use at the moment?

This is the best recovery you can get --> http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_A..._Edition/ls970

for your phone.

Install it using "fastboot".
Last edited by LS.xD; 25th March 2014 at 10:09 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2014, 10:37 PM   |  #5  
Turdbasket's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Which recovery version do you use at the moment?

This is the best recovery you can get -->link

for your phone.

Install it using "fastboot".

I'm using twrp. I'll try what you suggest and let you know
25th March 2014, 11:16 PM   |  #6  
Turdbasket's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Which recovery version do you use at the moment?

This is the best recovery you can get --> link

for your phone.

Install it using "fastboot".

when I try to install CWM it gives me this message:

Unknown partition 'recovery.img'
error: cannot determine image filename for 'recovery.img'
25th March 2014, 11:21 PM   |  #7  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Info 2
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket

when I try to install CWM it gives me this message:

Unknown partition 'recovery.img'
error: cannot determine image filename for 'recovery.img'


Could you tell me what you exactly did?

The command must be "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

the recovery.img you extracted from the downloaded zip must be placed in "fastboot folder" of course.

If you're not sure about it pls post a screenshot of your command prompt so i can check it for errors.
Last edited by LS.xD; 25th March 2014 at 11:24 PM.
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
25th March 2014, 11:51 PM   |  #8  
Turdbasket's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Could you tell me what you exactly did?

The command must be "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

the recovery.img you extracted from the downloaded zip must be placed in "fastboot folder" of course.

If you're not sure about it pls post a screenshot of your command prompt so i can check it for errors.

That worked.(thank you very much) I was using the wrong command line. I thanked you for that bit of info. I have to go do some things... I'll be back in a bit to let you know how everything is going
25th March 2014, 11:54 PM   |  #9  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Lübeck
Thanks Meter: 586
 
1,855 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2013
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket

That worked.(thank you very much) I was using the wrong command line. I thanked you for that bit of info. I have to go do some things... I'll be back in a bit to let you know how everything is going

That would be kind of you
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 12:32 AM   |  #10  
Turdbasket's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
18 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

Could you tell me what you exactly did?

The command must be "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

the recovery.img you extracted from the downloaded zip must be placed in "fastboot folder" of course.

If you're not sure about it pls post a screenshot of your command prompt so i can check it for errors.

Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD

That would be kind of you

You solved my problem for me!! The issue was with TWRP!! Thank you so much for your help!

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Questions and Answers by ThreadRank