Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,771,909 Members 37,575 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] ADB sideload fails?

Tip us?
 
Turdbasket
Old
#1  
Turdbasket's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] ADB sideload fails?

I recently rooted and installed Cyanogenmod 11(nightly) on my ls970. CM11 was a little glitchy so I decided to downgrade to CM 10.2... but my dumb*ss forgot to wipe CM 11 before I installed 10.2. needless to say it didn't work. I then did a full wipe(the backup I created didn't work) with TWRP and then tried to sideload Cyangogenmod 10.2.. the sideload fails.. so I thought it was an issue with the ROM..So I got the stock ROM from Google and tried to sideload that. The sideload always starts (on both ROMs) but always ends up failing in the end.. Any help would be appreciated.

I also tried to install stock rom via lgnpst but it does not recognize the phone. And all drivers are installed
 
LS.xD
Old
#2  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket View Post
I recently rooted and installed Cyanogenmod 11(nightly) on my ls970. CM11 was a little glitchy so I decided to downgrade to CM 10.2... but my dumb*ss forgot to wipe CM 11 before I installed 10.2. needless to say it didn't work. I then did a full wipe(the backup I created didn't work) with TWRP and then tried to sideload Cyangogenmod 10.2.. the sideload fails.. so I thought it was an issue with the ROM..So I got the stock ROM from Google and tried to sideload that. The sideload always starts (on both ROMs) but always ends up failing in the end.. Any help would be appreciated.

I also tried to install stock rom via lgnpst but it does not recognize the phone. And all drivers are installed

How about copying the rom by just transfer the Rom.zip to scdard? I really never use adb sideload as there is really no reason to, except it has a chance to be not working...
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Turdbasket
Old
#3  
Turdbasket's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
How about copying the rom by just transfer the Rom.zip to scdard? I really never use adb sideload as there is really no reason to, except it has a chance to be not working...
The phone shows up on my computer but it's greyed out and says I need to insert a memory device. When I wiped the info to install the new rom I think I wiped too much (i wiped everything)
 
LS.xD
Old
(Last edited by LS.xD; 25th March 2014 at 10:09 PM.)
#4  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket View Post
The phone shows up on my computer but it's greyed out and says I need to insert a memory device. When I wiped the info to install the new rom I think I wiped too much (i wiped everything)

Which recovery version do you use at the moment?

This is the best recovery you can get --> http://goo.im/devs/philz_touch/CWM_A..._Edition/ls970

for your phone.

Install it using "fastboot".
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Turdbasket
Old
#5  
Turdbasket's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
Which recovery version do you use at the moment?

This is the best recovery you can get -->link

for your phone.

Install it using "fastboot".
I'm using twrp. I'll try what you suggest and let you know
 
Turdbasket
Old
#6  
Turdbasket's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
Which recovery version do you use at the moment?

This is the best recovery you can get --> link

for your phone.

Install it using "fastboot".
when I try to install CWM it gives me this message:

Unknown partition 'recovery.img'
error: cannot determine image filename for 'recovery.img'
 
LS.xD
Old
(Last edited by LS.xD; 25th March 2014 at 11:24 PM.)
#7  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket View Post
when I try to install CWM it gives me this message:

Unknown partition 'recovery.img'
error: cannot determine image filename for 'recovery.img'

Could you tell me what you exactly did?

The command must be "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

the recovery.img you extracted from the downloaded zip must be placed in "fastboot folder" of course.

If you're not sure about it pls post a screenshot of your command prompt so i can check it for errors.
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Turdbasket
Old
#8  
Turdbasket's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
Could you tell me what you exactly did?

The command must be "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

the recovery.img you extracted from the downloaded zip must be placed in "fastboot folder" of course.

If you're not sure about it pls post a screenshot of your command prompt so i can check it for errors.
That worked.(thank you very much) I was using the wrong command line. I thanked you for that bit of info. I have to go do some things... I'll be back in a bit to let you know how everything is going
 
LS.xD
Old
#9  
LS.xD's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 585
Posts: 1,854
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: Lübeck

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Turdbasket View Post
That worked.(thank you very much) I was using the wrong command line. I thanked you for that bit of info. I have to go do some things... I'll be back in a bit to let you know how everything is going
That would be kind of you
HTC One S @ PAC-man 4.4.2 [ALPHA1] [12/5/2014] + IceCode Kernel v4.0 // HBoot 2.15 - unlocked BL - S-OFF - NO "tampered & warning text" // TWRP mod 2.7.0.8

Samsung Galaxy W @ ParanoidAndroid 4.3 [BETA3] [6/5/2014] + KhaN Kernel v2.0 // Base: I8150XXLMI // PhilZ CWM 6.01.4

"REVIVED" HTC Wildfire S @ CyanogenMod 11(AWESOME!!!) [6/5/2014] //HBoot 1.09 - unlocked BL // TWRP 2.7.0.0


It won't hurt you to press "thanks" if me or someone other helped you...
The Following User Says Thank You to LS.xD For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
Turdbasket
Old
#10  
Turdbasket's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 16
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
Could you tell me what you exactly did?

The command must be "fastboot flash recovery recovery.img"

the recovery.img you extracted from the downloaded zip must be placed in "fastboot folder" of course.

If you're not sure about it pls post a screenshot of your command prompt so i can check it for errors.
Quote:
Originally Posted by LS.xD View Post
That would be kind of you
You solved my problem for me!! The issue was with TWRP!! Thank you so much for your help!

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes