Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,778,438 Members 43,046 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Since HBOOT 2.10.0000 WiFi won't connect

Tip us?
 
soapy
Old
(Last edited by soapy; 26th March 2014 at 06:32 AM.) Reason: I'm a dumb dumb
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2006
Default [Q] Since HBOOT 2.10.0000 WiFi won't connect

I have a new 802.11ac access point that all the devices in my house can connect to fine including multiple nexus devices, macs and pcs.

I updated recently to the new HBOOT using this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

I have tried the rom listed in the above thread along with PAC-man and Carbon from the Original Development

I have tried flashing the radio out of the 4.13.651.4 update which didn't work.

I have tried forcing 2.4ghz or 5ghz which didn't work.

Anyone have any ideas?
 
gstanke
Old
#2  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 493
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by soapy View Post
I have a new 802.11ac access point that all the devices in my house can connect to fine including multiple nexus devices, macs and pcs.

I updated recently to the new HBOOT using this thread: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2639180

I have tried the rom listed in the above thread along with PAC-man and Carbon from the Original Development

I have tried flashing the radio out of the 4.13.651.4 update which didn't work.

I have tried forcing 2.4ghz or 5ghz which didn't work.

Anyone have any ideas?
Did you ruu or flash firmware thru bootloader?

HTC Jewel
HBOOT 2.10 S-OFF (rumrunner)
Android 4.3 Sense 5.5 V3
 
soapy
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2006
Flashed through bootloader.
 
gstanke
Old
#4  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 493
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by soapy View Post
Flashed through bootloader.
I hate to say it but I would try the ruu. It has been expressly stated that running the ruu is recommended. I know it'll wipe your phone again but it might solve your issue. From the way I took it is flashing the firmware update through the bootloader is like "dirty flashing" a rom and the ruu is a "clean flash"

HTC Jewel
HBOOT 2.10 S-OFF (rumrunner)
Android 4.3 Sense 5.5 V3
 
soapy
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke View Post
I hate to say it but I would try the ruu. It has been expressly stated that running the ruu is recommended. I know it'll wipe your phone again but it might solve your issue. From the way I took it is flashing the firmware update through the bootloader is like "dirty flashing" a rom and the ruu is a "clean flash"

HTC Jewel
HBOOT 2.10 S-OFF (rumrunner)
Android 4.3 Sense 5.5 V3
Trying it now. Will report back with an updated status.
 
soapy
Old
(Last edited by soapy; 26th March 2014 at 07:37 AM.)
#6  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2006
Tried RUU for 4.13.651.4 with the same effect.

Just finished trying RUU 4.13.651.3 with same effect.
 
gstanke
Old
#7  
gstanke's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 317
Posts: 493
Join Date: Dec 2013
Location: Flint
Quote:
Originally Posted by soapy View Post
Tried RUU for 4.13.651.4 with the same effect.

Just finished trying RUU 4.13.651.3 with same effect.
Please do not take this the wrong way but did you try resetting the wireless router and/or modem? I have a router supplied thru comcast and it constantly drops. Says I'm connected to Wi-Fi but have no data.

HTC Jewel
HBOOT 2.10 S-OFF (rumrunner)
Android 4.3 Sense 5.5 V3
 
Jason021680
Old
#8  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 48
Posts: 110
Join Date: Mar 2012
After you connect does it say not in range?

Sent from my EVO using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
 
soapy
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 18
Join Date: Nov 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by gstanke View Post
Please do not take this the wrong way but did you try resetting the wireless router and/or modem? I have a router supplied thru comcast and it constantly drops. Says I'm connected to Wi-Fi but have no data.

HTC Jewel
HBOOT 2.10 S-OFF (rumrunner)
Android 4.3 Sense 5.5 V3
Tried it at work today and it works fine on the network there so it may be that my AP doesn't like the new HBOOT and maybe not the other way around. Just kind of odd it says I'm connected and it gets an IP address in the correct range.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Secrecy Goes Open Source, Assures File Encryption

As some of you may remember, a while back we spoke about Secrecy, an effective file … more

[APK] Google News and Weather Gets Material Design Makeover, Minor Maps Updates

Although Google has somewhat gotten out of the habit of their … more

Software Build Automation with Jenkins – XDA Developer TV

Many members of the XDA community come to learn and begin in the exciting … more

Add Bits and Pieces of Honami to Your Current ROM

In the last few months, we’ve talked about quite a few Sony Honami-related projects. … more