Build an Impractical But Awesome Lego Mindstorm Dock

The vast majority of what we cover here on the XDA-Developers News Portal relates to … more

MultiROM Makes its Way Over to the HTC One (M8)

While browsing our forum, you will undoubtedly find more than a few enticing ROMs available … more

Welcome to the New XDA-Developers Portal!

You may recall that a few weeks ago, we opened up the XDA-2015 forum themesto intrepid users … more

An Android Enthusiast’s Apple iPhone 6 Challenge

The media has gone batty again over Apple “revolutionizing” smartphones. … more
Post Reply

[Q] Firefox OS 1.3 Stable for the ZTE Open

22nd March 2014, 01:10 AM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Hello there! Can someone help me out please?

I am using the ZTE Open European Standard and I am currently running Firefox OS 1.2 with CWM installed and I am wondering:
Since Firefox OS 1.3 was "released' recently will someone create a CWM installable build of Firefox OS 1.3 with the Firefox branding built to work on the ZTE Open please? I have looked around multiple times and I can't find a build anywhere that will work, and I do not have the knowledge required to compile my own.
Last edited by KUPOinyourWINDOW; 26th March 2014 at 04:15 PM.
24th March 2014, 12:51 PM   |  #2  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUPOinyourWINDOW

Hello there! Can someone help me out please?

I am using the ZTE Open European Standard and I am currently running Firefox OS 1.2 with CWM installed and I am wondering:
Since Firefox OS 1.3 was "released' recently could anybody create a CWM installable build of Firefox OS built to work on the ZTE Open please? I have looked around multiple times and I can't find a build anywhere that will work, and I do not have the knowledge required to compile my own.

P.S: I can't post a link because this is my first post on this site, but the 1.3 notes have officialy been released by Mozilla!

Did you know how to flash .img files through fastboot?
If yes, then i can give you FF OS 1.4
The Following User Says Thank You to LinuxHolic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
24th March 2014, 02:54 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxHolic

Did you know how to flash .img files through fastboot?
If yes, then i can give you FF OS 1.4

I do yes, and I've already tried the build you posted in this forum and it was very good! I was just having problems with getting data working on it otherwise I'd be using it now. I'm looking for a stable-ish user build of Firefox OS 1.3 at the moment because I love the look of it, but ZTE haven't updated since 1.1... I've emailed them twice and both times they haven't got back to me after saying they would

How good would it be if Mozilla could just release an update to everyone like they do with the web browser
Last edited by KUPOinyourWINDOW; 24th March 2014 at 03:00 PM.
25th March 2014, 06:19 AM   |  #4  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUPOinyourWINDOW

I do yes, and I've already tried the build you posted in this forum and it was very good! I was just having problems with getting data working on it otherwise I'd be using it now. I'm looking for a stable-ish user build of Firefox OS 1.3 at the moment because I love the look of it, but ZTE haven't updated since 1.1... I've emailed them twice and both times they haven't got back to me after saying they would

How good would it be if Mozilla could just release an update to everyone like they do with the web browser

The best i could come up with is this in case you haven't already tried this
25th March 2014, 01:46 PM   |  #5  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to ftp servers... how do I install one of these builds to my phone? I downloaded the linux zip file (Tar), extracted it, found boot.img userdata.img and system.img, I flashed them to my phone and I'm just in a boot loop, I'm gonna revert back to 1.2 for now. Thank you I really appreciate it, I've tried like 4 different Firefox OS 1.3 though now and none of them have worked, I hope someone makes one soon. I would myself if I understood how to use the Terminal on Linux.
Last edited by KUPOinyourWINDOW; 25th March 2014 at 04:55 PM.
25th March 2014, 06:26 PM   |  #6  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUPOinyourWINDOW

I'm a bit of a noob when it comes to ftp servers... how do I install one of these builds to my phone? I downloaded the linux zip file (Tar), extracted it, found boot.img userdata.img and system.img, I flashed them to my phone and I'm just in a boot loop, I'm gonna revert back to 1.2 for now. Thank you I really appreciate it, I've tried like 4 different Firefox OS 1.3 though now and none of them have worked, I hope someone makes one soon. I would myself if I understood how to use the Terminal on Linux.

You have to be on V1.0.0B02 to flash custom builds of FF OS 1.3

And one more question: Did your ZTE Open hangs sometimes like not able to touch anything, unable to unlock screen etc?

Thanks
The Following User Says Thank You to LinuxHolic For This Useful Post: [ View ]
26th March 2014, 12:14 AM   |  #7  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxHolic

You have to be on V1.0.0B02 to flash custom builds of FF OS 1.3

And one more question: Did your ZTE Open hangs sometimes like not able to touch anything, unable to unlock screen etc?

Thanks

Thank you! I tried flashing from 1.0.0B02 and it worked, however every single build I've tried of 1.3 (from multiple sources) is unstable... Hmm, I got a reply from ZTE by the way saying that people have to request for an update to their "service provider" (whatever that means). That's such a sucky way of dong things, they should try their best to update until they are unable to in my opinion.

No not really, sometimes it does on the lock screen after pressing the power button but only on 1.0.0B02.
26th March 2014, 03:28 PM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 18
 
84 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by KUPOinyourWINDOW


No not really, sometimes it does on the lock screen after pressing the power button but only on 1.0.0B02.

Mine does! Continuously
I'm sick of this problem

Planning to do a drop test of my Phone
It's useless anyway
26th March 2014, 04:01 PM   |  #9  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
56 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by LinuxHolic

Mine does! Continuously
I'm sick of this problem

Planning to do a drop test of my Phone
It's useless anyway

Do a google search for Firefox OS 1.2 ZTE Open and click on the Mozilla Hacks website and flash the ZTE beta file, then you will have the default fastboot back on your phone. Then install the 1.1 ZIP update from ZTE... Then from the orange fastboot menu (ONLY AFTER INSTALLING 1.1) empty the cache and if your phone still hangs then do a drop test

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes


Top Threads in Firefox OS General by ThreadRank