Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Q] PureKAT 1.5 causes a bootloop

OP rolandpish

26th March 2014, 03:52 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Hi there,

I installed the PureKAT 1.5 ROM (based on stock) according to the instructions in its thread but my samsung galaxy y started in a bootloop.

Do you know what caused the bootloop or if I need to install a different kernel for that ROM?

By the way, this is the thread of the ROM: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2672116

Thanks.
26th March 2014, 03:56 PM   |  #2  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,430
 
4,508 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
I looked at instructions on thread and it doesnt say to mount system data cache before flashing zip

so
go into cwm
goto mounts and storage
format system data cache
mount system data cache (if all mounted it should display "unmount system" "unmount data" and so on)
then flash the zip


you can be on any kernel that supports stock based roms


if you still bootloop flash stock rom via odin first
26th March 2014, 04:09 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by marcussmith2626

I looked at instructions on thread and it doesnt say to mount system data cache before flashing zip

so
go into cwm
goto mounts and storage
format system data cache
mount system data cache (if all mounted it should display "unmount system" "unmount data" and so on)
then flash the zip


you can be on any kernel that supports stock based roms


if you still bootloop flash stock rom via odin first

Thanks for the quick response sir!

I'll immediately restore the stock rom via odin and then follow your instructions.
I will post what happens
26th March 2014, 04:31 PM   |  #4  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Bootloop persists
I first restored the original stock rom, followed your instructions but this time it just got stuck at the "Samsung Galaxy Y..." logo and it didn't go further.

Seems like my phone is not compatible with this rom?

Thanks!
26th March 2014, 04:57 PM   |  #5  
marcussmith2626's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Flag London
Thanks Meter: 2,430
 
4,508 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by rolandpish

I first restored the original stock rom, followed your instructions but this time it just got stuck at the "Samsung Galaxy Y..." logo and it didn't go further.

Seems like my phone is not compatible with this rom?

Thanks!

that happens when you dont mount system or using the wrong kernel (since you are using stock kernel that is fine for a stock based rom - no change needed)

go back into cwm and make sure system is mounted (will display "unmount system)
if system says its already mounted unmount system and remount it again just to make sure especially if using bieltv.3 cwm
and flash the rom again
26th March 2014, 06:18 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 2
 
10 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Mmm, tried several times but the same problem happens (I double checked to follow the instructions carefully and that the partitions were mounted).

I will try with other custom roms to see if at least one of them boots correctly.

Thanks for your help!
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in Galaxy Y GT-S5360 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank