Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,736,395 Members 48,180 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Unable to disable stock browser, can it be done?

Tip us?
 
neswii
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 208
Join Date: Sep 2010
Default Unable to disable stock browser, can it be done?

Am I not looking for the right application? I've been able to disable stock browsers in many other android phones, but it's not possible on the S4 apparently. This makes opening links a lot more tedious than it should be. Wish you could select a default browser like you select the messaging application.
 
cadarn07
Old
#2  
cadarn07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 347
Posts: 416
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by neswii View Post
Am I not looking for the right application? I've been able to disable stock browsers in many other android phones, but it's not possible on the S4 apparently. This makes opening links a lot more tedious than it should be. Wish you could select a default browser like you select the messaging application.
I use titanium backup to freeze/disable apps that the OS won't let you uninstall. Have you tried something like that?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current: Nexus 4 - stock; enhanced with XGELS and Gravity Box
Old: NS4G w/ CM10 JB ROM and _thalamus kernel

Have you tried turning it off and on again??

#TYISONFIRE
 
neswii
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 208
Join Date: Sep 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadarn07 View Post
I use titanium backup to freeze/disable apps that the OS won't let you uninstall. Have you tried something like that?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Unfortunately I am not rooted and am fully stock. I'm still under the one year Samsung warranty and would not like to trigger the flag thingie. I do have titanium backup purchased from the play store though. Is there a root method that does not add the flag to Knox?
 
cadarn07
Old
#4  
cadarn07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 347
Posts: 416
Join Date: Jul 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by neswii View Post
Unfortunately I am not rooted and am fully stock. I'm still under the one year Samsung warranty and would not like to trigger the flag thingie. I do have titanium backup purchased from the play store though. Is there a root method that does not add the flag to Knox?
I've not heard of any flag triggered when rooting so can't help you there. I don't think you can disable stock apps via any method without being rooted, though.

As an alternative, you could use a third party launcher and hide the app from the drawer. This would not affect any functionality, however. You just wouldn't have to see the app in the drawer

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
Current: Nexus 4 - stock; enhanced with XGELS and Gravity Box
Old: NS4G w/ CM10 JB ROM and _thalamus kernel

Have you tried turning it off and on again??

#TYISONFIRE
 
sainthooligan
Old
(Last edited by sainthooligan; 25th March 2014 at 09:47 PM.)
#5  
Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 92
Join Date: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by neswii View Post
Am I not looking for the right application? I've been able to disable stock browsers in many other android phones, but it's not possible on the S4 apparently. This makes opening links a lot more tedious than it should be. Wish you could select a default browser like you select the messaging application.
You won't be able to disable from stock necessarily, but you can set a different browser as default. For instance, if you installed firefox or chrome.

If you hold down the home button, then press the little "pie" icon at the left. It'll take you to the screen to clear the default apps, press the "Clear defaults" tab at the top, then press "Internet" and then "Clear".

When you go to your app that has a link in it (ie gmail) then you just select the FFor chrome and "Always". Links will open in the other browser, rather than the stock.

Another way to clear the defaults for the stock browser is to go to settings > Application Manager > All > Internet > under "Launch by Default" select "Clear defaults"...then follow the same above when you open a link.
 
neswii
Old
#6  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 32
Posts: 208
Join Date: Sep 2010
Thank you both. I am aware of all of these methods, however, installing new browsers or other apps with browser functionality tends to reset defaults and I have to re-select all over again. Which is why I would like to uninstall a browser and just leave the one I would use, but it is not possible. Thanks again for your help, I'll look into rooting so I can use titanium backup to freeze the browser once we get a safe root that does not trigger knox.
 
daniel4653
Old
#7  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2595
Posts: 8,121
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Southern California
If you're on 4.3 or mk2 you can root without tripping Knox.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk


 
Team Kernelizers: Making the best out of your phone

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Get Your Cargo to its Destination in 4×4 Military Operations Reborn

Racing games have evolved quite a bit since the days of Pole … more

Automate Your Device with Sfen

Changing the profile of yourdevice manually is now long forgotten. Since the advent of Android automation … more

Galaxy Photo Screen Lock Displays a Photo Slideshow on Your Lock Screen

Being the most often looked at part of our devices UI, the lock … more

Boost the LG G3 Speaker and Headphone Volume

It seems like OEMs are stepping up their game, with regards to thequality of their devices sound … more