Early Lollipop Ports for Micromax A116 and A117

It feels like it was only yesterday when Google announced the mysterious Android L.After … more

Now Gesture Tweaks Replaces Google Now with Custom Action

On most modern Android devices with software navigation keys, swiping up from the … more

ToqAN Fixes Android 5.0 Notification Bug on Qualcomm Toq

The Qualcomm Toq is probably one of the lesser known smartwatches on the market … more

How to Root and Unlock the Google Nexus 6 on a Mac – XDA TV

In the past, XDA Developer TV Producer droidmodd3rx has shown you how to … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Unable to disable stock browser, can it be done?

OP neswii

25th March 2014, 01:21 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Am I not looking for the right application? I've been able to disable stock browsers in many other android phones, but it's not possible on the S4 apparently. This makes opening links a lot more tedious than it should be. Wish you could select a default browser like you select the messaging application.
25th March 2014, 01:25 AM   |  #2  
cadarn07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neswii

Am I not looking for the right application? I've been able to disable stock browsers in many other android phones, but it's not possible on the S4 apparently. This makes opening links a lot more tedious than it should be. Wish you could select a default browser like you select the messaging application.

I use titanium backup to freeze/disable apps that the OS won't let you uninstall. Have you tried something like that?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
25th March 2014, 02:03 AM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by cadarn07

I use titanium backup to freeze/disable apps that the OS won't let you uninstall. Have you tried something like that?

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk

Unfortunately I am not rooted and am fully stock. I'm still under the one year Samsung warranty and would not like to trigger the flag thingie. I do have titanium backup purchased from the play store though. Is there a root method that does not add the flag to Knox?
25th March 2014, 02:06 AM   |  #4  
cadarn07's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 428
 
463 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by neswii

Unfortunately I am not rooted and am fully stock. I'm still under the one year Samsung warranty and would not like to trigger the flag thingie. I do have titanium backup purchased from the play store though. Is there a root method that does not add the flag to Knox?

I've not heard of any flag triggered when rooting so can't help you there. I don't think you can disable stock apps via any method without being rooted, though.

As an alternative, you could use a third party launcher and hide the app from the drawer. This would not affect any functionality, however. You just wouldn't have to see the app in the drawer

Sent from my Nexus 4 using Tapatalk
25th March 2014, 10:44 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
116 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2010
Quote:
Originally Posted by neswii

Am I not looking for the right application? I've been able to disable stock browsers in many other android phones, but it's not possible on the S4 apparently. This makes opening links a lot more tedious than it should be. Wish you could select a default browser like you select the messaging application.

You won't be able to disable from stock necessarily, but you can set a different browser as default. For instance, if you installed firefox or chrome.

If you hold down the home button, then press the little "pie" icon at the left. It'll take you to the screen to clear the default apps, press the "Clear defaults" tab at the top, then press "Internet" and then "Clear".

When you go to your app that has a link in it (ie gmail) then you just select the FFor chrome and "Always". Links will open in the other browser, rather than the stock.

Another way to clear the defaults for the stock browser is to go to settings > Application Manager > All > Internet > under "Launch by Default" select "Clear defaults"...then follow the same above when you open a link.
Last edited by sainthooligan; 25th March 2014 at 10:47 PM.
26th March 2014, 09:35 PM   |  #6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 38
 
219 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2010
More
Thank you both. I am aware of all of these methods, however, installing new browsers or other apps with browser functionality tends to reset defaults and I have to re-select all over again. Which is why I would like to uninstall a browser and just leave the one I would use, but it is not possible. Thanks again for your help, I'll look into rooting so I can use titanium backup to freeze the browser once we get a safe root that does not trigger knox.
26th March 2014, 11:03 PM   |  #7  
daniel4653's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Southern California
Thanks Meter: 2,742
 
8,464 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
If you're on 4.3 or mk2 you can root without tripping Knox.

Sent from my SPH-L720 using Tapatalk

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes