Gmail 5.0: Material Design and Multiple Account Support

Google started to materialize many of its applications right after announcing the … more

Some of Our Favorite Features in Android 5.0 Lollipop

Android 5.0 Lollipop is the latest major revision to Google’s mobile operating … more

Sony SmartEyeglass SDK Developer Preview Released

A little over a month ago in Tokyo, Japan, Sony unveiled its new SmartEyeglasstechnology. … more

XDA and Leaseweb: Server Trial/Moto 360 Contest (Winners!)

About a month ago, we held a contest along with XDA’s host, Leaseweb, to … more
Post Reply

[Q] GPS performance

OP Kabimaus

27th March 2014, 03:07 AM   |  #1  
Kabimaus's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kiel
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
I am wondering about how the GPS performs on the Tegra Note 7 in comparison to Nexus 7 (2013). I read on occasions that people were unhappy about how long it takes for the Tegra Note 7 to obtain a fix and that it more often loses position. Is this an issue that has been resolved in the meantime ? If so, do you have to update the ROM to get it to work well?

Reason why I'm asking is that I'm a pilot and I would like to use it to display maps. I hear the Nexus7 has excellent GPS performenace and does a great job in the cockpit because its brightest screen among all tablets but I'm really into that stylus function and so I was hoping the Tegra Note 7 could compete...
28th March 2014, 07:32 AM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by Kabimaus

I am wondering about how the GPS performs on the Tegra Note 7 in comparison to Nexus 7 (2013). I read on occasions that people were unhappy about how long it takes for the Tegra Note 7 to obtain a fix and that it more often loses position. Is this an issue that has been resolved in the meantime ? If so, do you have to update the ROM to get it to work well?

Reason why I'm asking is that I'm a pilot and I would like to use it to display maps. I hear the Nexus7 has excellent GPS performenace and does a great job in the cockpit because its brightest screen among all tablets but I'm really into that stylus function and so I was hoping the Tegra Note 7 could compete...


While I have never used a Nexus, the GPS on the note is horrible. I literally have never gotten google maps to find me. I have had 3rd party apps like gpstest and similar to work, but I am not kidding when I say it takes 10 minutes out in the wide open to work. As of right now, there are no roms or updates to the tablet that improve the GPS. Some people's work ok, but I think the majority of the people are not happy with their gps.

Side by side with my old Evo3d, the phone takes literally about 3 seconds to find me, the tablet takes 10 minutes if at all.

Brew
28th March 2014, 01:11 PM   |  #3  
Kabimaus's Avatar
OP Junior Member
Flag Kiel
Thanks Meter: 0
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tsbrewers

While I have never used a Nexus, the GPS on the note is horrible. I literally have never gotten google maps to find me. I have had 3rd party apps like gpstest and similar to work, but I am not kidding when I say it takes 10 minutes out in the wide open to work. As of right now, there are no roms or updates to the tablet that improve the GPS. Some people's work ok, but I think the majority of the people are not happy with their gps.

Side by side with my old Evo3d, the phone takes literally about 3 seconds to find me, the tablet takes 10 minutes if at all.

Brew

Thanks a lot, that's a very convincing reason not to consider the Tegra Note an option for GPS related applications.
28th March 2014, 03:39 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
No problem. after I posted that I did spend about 3 hours playing around with it. I did get gps to work better, but still not anywhere near where it should be.
29th March 2014, 09:54 AM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag York, UK
Thanks Meter: 32
 
378 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2006
More
I have found it gets a signal very quickly even inside.

Did you go into settings>location and enable high accuracy?
29th March 2014, 02:29 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 12
 
112 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by philje123

I have found it gets a signal very quickly even inside.

Did you go into settings>location and enable high accuracy?

Yup, it is on high accuracy. I did just download a hacked, older version of maps that does actually work, but it still takes about 3 minutes to lock on. But at least it does find lock, unlike the newest version of maps.

It is more the principal of it then anything. I doubt I will ever pull the tablet out to use gps on it since my phone works well with the Igo app and my vehicle has built in gps too, so it isn't the end of the world, but it is still annoying.

Brew
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
gps
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes