Double Tap to Wake on the Nexus 6 Without Root

A few weeks ago, we featured an app which allowed the Nexus 6 to regain the double tap to wake … more

Make Your Own Heat Sink for the LG Optimus 4X HD

Its not a rare occurrence that performing a resource heavy task on your Android device (e.g. … more

Learn How to Create an Old School Dialer

XDA is not only a great source for custom ROMs, kernels, and various modifications for numerous … more

USB Desktop Charger Roundup – XDA TV

Sometimes you learn one way to do something, and that’s the way you do it forever. You never … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[THE REAL FIX] your Xperia Z1, knowing your real version [ONLY LOCKED BOOTLOADERS]

OP matrixone01

18th March 2014, 07:26 PM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Hello community,

I being using the forum (since my Xperia arc) and its being great (but I have to be honest, never registered here)

I got a good opportunity to buy a Xperia Z1 really cheap, because the original owner didnt know which version he has (he said C6903 but it was C6902 thanks for the guy I am going to show you the guide) So, he end up in a boot loop. Multiple user here reported Xperia z1 dead, but this happened because when the phone enters in a boot loop, the screen turns on without knowing it is on, so you never did the reset trick (Power+ Volume +) to shutdown the phone properly (or the red buttom in the SIM tray)

Also something really important happened, when I flashed the firmware C6903 into my C6902, this end up in a boot loop and most of the users are reporting, NO IMEI or BASEBAND (was saying unknown)

The user from the Dev here (Nidhal), helped me out to fix the phone, and thanks to that user on Ebay, I can clearly say that 90% of the brick is the user fault.

PLEASE REMEMBER, THIS IS ONLY FOR LOCKED BOOTLOADERS, DONT REPLY IF YOU HAVE UNLOCKED BOOTLOADER:

So lets start:

1- First, lets know what is your real version of the Z1 you have , in your SIM tray (take a look of attachment picture), simply detach the cover of the micro SIM card slot. Place a fingernail under the right or left edge of the label tray, then drag the tray outwards to view your model and IMEI (also SI), this will help you of the 80% of the problem.

2- Now that you really know which version you have (in my case is C6902), you can start downloading the correct firmware. IF YOU ARE IN 4.3, use this guide to downgrade to 4.2.2 (using NUTT firmware .534)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2572988

If you are in 4.2.2, just download the correct firmware from the label you got from your SIM slot.

3-Always remember to make a backup before flashing. When you are in flashtool, flash the firmware of your phone version and very important WIPE APPSLOG, CACHE and DATA.

Believe me, theres a lot of users think they have a model, but they aren't, so I hope you can fix your phone, like me.

Regards and good luck.
Attached Thumbnails
Click image for larger version

Name:	SIM card info.jpg
Views:	1433
Size:	254.3 KB
ID:	2637280   Click image for larger version

Name:	Z1 IMEI.jpg
Views:	1194
Size:	57.1 KB
ID:	2637281  
The Following 11 Users Say Thank You to matrixone01 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
18th March 2014, 11:17 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Rio de Janeiro
Thanks Meter: 20
 
134 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2010
More
Almost six months with this phone and I had not noticed this tab.
19th March 2014, 03:08 AM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Smile
Quote:
Originally Posted by CSL00

Almost six months with this phone and I had not noticed this tab.

Thats why I did this, this little detail save lots of Z1, keep it up, make it sticky.
19th March 2014, 05:42 AM   |  #4  
Azmil2307's Avatar
Member
Flag Kuching
Thanks Meter: 8
 
34 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrixone01

Hello community,

I being using the forum (since my Xperia arc) and its being great (but I have to be honest, never registered here)

I got a good opportunity to buy a Xperia Z1 really cheap, because the original owner didnt know which version he has (he said C6903 but it was C6902 thanks for the guy I am going to show you the guide) So, he end up in a boot loop. Multiple user here reported Xperia z1 dead, but this happened because when the phone enters in a boot loop, the screen turns on without knowing it is on, so you never did the reset trick (Power+ Volume +) to shutdown the phone properly (or the red buttom in the SIM tray)

Also something really important happened, when I flashed the firmware C6903 into my C6902, this end up in a boot loop and most of the users are reporting, NO IMEI or BASEBAND (was saying unknown)

The user from the Dev here (Nidhal), helped me out to fix the phone, and thanks to that user on Ebay, I can clearly say that 90% of the brick is the user fault.

PLEASE REMEMBER, THIS IS ONLY FOR LOCKED BOOTLOADERS, DONT REPLY IF YOU HAVE UNLOCKED BOOTLOADER:

So lets start:

1- First, lets know what is your real version of the Z1 you have , in your SIM tray (take a look of attachment picture), simply detach the cover of the micro SIM card slot. Place a fingernail under the right or left edge of the label tray, then drag the tray outwards to view your model and IMEI (also SI), this will help you of the 80% of the problem.

2- Now that you really know which version you have (in my case is C6902), you can start downloading the correct firmware. IF YOU ARE IN 4.3, use this guide to downgrade to 4.2.2 (using NUTT firmware .534)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2572988

If you are in 4.2.2, just download the correct firmware from the label you got from your SIM slot.

3-Always remember to make a backup before flashing. When you are in flashtool, flash the firmware of your phone version and very important WIPE APPSLOG, CACHE and DATA.

Believe me, theres a lot of users think they have a model, but they aren't, so I hope you can fix your phone, like me.

Regards and good luck.

For me, I just go through Setting>About Phone>Model number. Or just have a look at the packaging (for model number and Imei) and cross check with the imei shown on the device. C6902/C6903 is a matter of which region/country you're buying from.
19th March 2014, 02:36 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Flag Hyderabad
Thanks Meter: 26
 
146 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
More
I never noticed this
Quote:
Originally Posted by matrixone01

Hello community,

I being using the forum (since my Xperia arc) and its being great (but I have to be honest, never registered here)

I got a good opportunity to buy a Xperia Z1 really cheap, because the original owner didnt know which version he has (he said C6903 but it was C6902 thanks for the guy I am going to show you the guide) So, he end up in a boot loop. Multiple user here reported Xperia z1 dead, but this happened because when the phone enters in a boot loop, the screen turns on without knowing it is on, so you never did the reset trick (Power+ Volume +) to shutdown the phone properly (or the red buttom in the SIM tray)

Also something really important happened, when I flashed the firmware C6903 into my C6902, this end up in a boot loop and most of the users are reporting, NO IMEI or BASEBAND (was saying unknown)

The user from the Dev here (Nidhal), helped me out to fix the phone, and thanks to that user on Ebay, I can clearly say that 90% of the brick is the user fault.

PLEASE REMEMBER, THIS IS ONLY FOR LOCKED BOOTLOADERS, DONT REPLY IF YOU HAVE UNLOCKED BOOTLOADER:

So lets start:

1- First, lets know what is your real version of the Z1 you have , in your SIM tray (take a look of attachment picture), simply detach the cover of the micro SIM card slot. Place a fingernail under the right or left edge of the label tray, then drag the tray outwards to view your model and IMEI (also SI), this will help you of the 80% of the problem.

2- Now that you really know which version you have (in my case is C6902), you can start downloading the correct firmware. IF YOU ARE IN 4.3, use this guide to downgrade to 4.2.2 (using NUTT firmware .534)

http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2572988

If you are in 4.2.2, just download the correct firmware from the label you got from your SIM slot.

3-Always remember to make a backup before flashing. When you are in flashtool, flash the firmware of your phone version and very important WIPE APPSLOG, CACHE and DATA.

Believe me, theres a lot of users think they have a model, but they aren't, so I hope you can fix your phone, like me.

Regards and good luck.

I never noticed this before and would probably have never noticed it too.. But I bought with the bill, box and everything so it says everywhere that is it c6902 so no surprises there. Must be more useful for somebody buying secondhand/used or something like that..
The Following User Says Thank You to Beautyspin For This Useful Post: [ View ]
19th March 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #6  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 11
 
4 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azmil2307

For me, I just go through Setting>About Phone>Model number. Or just have a look at the packaging (for model number and Imei) and cross check with the imei shown on the device. C6902/C6903 is a matter of which region/country you're buying from.

Most of the people here ,get the phone by second hand, if you dont have the issues stated in the first post, you can ignore this, but a lot of users, get the phone by second hand, this is the case of the post
19th March 2014, 05:42 PM   |  #7  
m0ngstr0us's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Singapore
Thanks Meter: 40
 
217 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Azmil2307

For me, I just go through Setting>About Phone>Model number. Or just have a look at the packaging (for model number and Imei) and cross check with the imei shown on the device. C6902/C6903 is a matter of which region/country you're buying from.

OP says its bricked. So tell me how you eanna go and take a look in the Settings?

Nice one OP!
19th March 2014, 05:50 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag Delft
Thanks Meter: 67
 
132 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2010
More
Lol It's really a nice once.... When I bought my Z1 (also second hand) I was searching for the Imei number all over the phone and I couldn't find it... Of course then I turned the phone on to check it, but I like to double check and even triple check when buying a second hand phone
27th March 2014, 05:41 AM   |  #9  
Nidhal AKA the king's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag sousse
Thanks Meter: 231
 
420 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2013
Donate to Me
More
Hi Jose!

i'm glad u opened a thread concerning the issue u had in ur phone to help the others solve it in theirs as u did!



It's me Nidhal
27th March 2014, 08:16 AM   |  #10  
Member
Flag Atherstone
Thanks Meter: 7
 
60 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
More
That's madness I never knew that was there

Sent from my C6903 using xda app-developers app

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes