5,595,815 Members 35,281 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Moto G Kitkat doesn't show SIM contacts

Tip us?
 
Gromit2005
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2008
Question [Q] Moto G Kitkat doesn't show SIM contacts

I have just received my Moto G and upgraded it to 4.4.2.
When I inserted my SIM, the dialer didn't show any of my SIM contacts, only the contacts from Google.
I did select "All Contacts" in the dialer's menu, but it didn't help.

The contacts are on the SIM, SIM management apps can see them.
I don't want to import the contacts, want to keep them in SIM - is it possible?
 
Nandeh
Old
#2  
Nandeh's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 177
Posts: 754
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: VLC

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gromit2005 View Post
I have just received my Moto G and upgraded it to 4.4.2.
When I inserted my SIM, the dialer didn't show any of my SIM contacts, only the contacts from Google.
I did select "All Contacts" in the dialer's menu, but it didn't help.

The contacts are on the SIM, SIM management apps can see them.
I don't want to import the contacts, want to keep them in SIM - is it possible?
No offense, but what's the point of use SIM to save contacts actually, having a Google account?
Moto G

Status: Rooted + Xposed
ROM: Stock 176.44.1 EU (KK 4.4.2)

Dropbox
 
Gromit2005
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 8
Join Date: Jun 2008
Quote:
Originally Posted by Nandeh View Post
No offense, but what's the point of use SIM to save contacts actually, having a Google account?

That way I can switch the SIM to another phone and use it, no matter what the device/OS is, even a dumbphone.

Has anyone else experienced this problem?
 
zazzy24
Old
#4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 107
Join Date: Aug 2013
Default Same issue

Even I am facing the same issue. I have some 703 contacts stored on gmail, including many email addresses that I no longer need and weir names from google plus and facebook. I have 99 contacts saved on my sim which I regularly use but there is no way to see them in the 'people' app. There is an import/export option, but even after importing my contacts I can't see them. Any solutions?
 
JIT99
Old
#5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by zazzy24 View Post
Even I am facing the same issue. I have some 703 contacts stored on gmail, including many email addresses that I no longer need and weir names from google plus and facebook. I have 99 contacts saved on my sim which I regularly use but there is no way to see them in the 'people' app. There is an import/export option, but even after importing my contacts I can't see them. Any solutions?
You'll have to go to contacts (app/widget) then options..import..import from SIM.
 
zazzy24
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 107
Join Date: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by JIT99 View Post
You'll have to go to contacts (app/widget) then options..import..import from SIM.
As I mentioned above, even after I import the contacts I can't see them until gmail contacts are ticked.. so the phone is storing the SIM contacts in the gmail contacts and you can't use only your SIM contacts

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk
 
ebsbow
Old
#7  
ebsbow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 491
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Antwerpen
I have to say I concur with this annoyance. I can't even edit my sim contacts.
Seriously, I would like to keep my contacts on my sim card not only in Google's portfolio.

Quote:
Originally Posted by zazzy24 View Post
As I mentioned above, even after I import the contacts I can't see them until gmail contacts are ticked.. so the phone is storing the SIM contacts in the gmail contacts and you can't use only your SIM contacts

Sent from my XT1033 using Tapatalk
Startacpa2400w51103310VademClion21iP800P900T-MobileXDAImatePDA2KDopod828htcNikiQTEC8500Omnia630 0iE65TopazSapphireBravoGrouperA820Falcon
The Following User Says Thank You to ebsbow For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
JIT99
Old
#8  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 2
Join Date: Mar 2014
Quote:
Originally Posted by ebsbow View Post
I have to say I concur with this annoyance. I can't even edit my sim contacts.
Seriously, I would like to keep my contacts on my sim card not only in Google's portfolio.
I see this as a Goog strategy to force user to use the Google contacts ..heck, it even wants me to start using Hangouts to manage my texts.
For now, if you want to view, export, import SIM contacts, use an independent app like 'Copy to SIM' from play store.
The Following User Says Thank You to JIT99 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
ebsbow
Old
#9  
ebsbow's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 491
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Antwerpen
Or maybe install an 3th party dialer, forgot about that possibility.
Startacpa2400w51103310VademClion21iP800P900T-MobileXDAImatePDA2KDopod828htcNikiQTEC8500Omnia630 0iE65TopazSapphireBravoGrouperA820Falcon

The Following User Says Thank You to ebsbow For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Tags
contacts, kitkat 4.4, moto g, sim
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes