Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,769,065 Members 41,685 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Screen not working - what could it be?

Tip us?
 
NikolauZi
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2012
Default [Q] Screen not working - what could it be?

Hello,

I was using the Photon Q, closed the slider, wanted to reopen it - but the screen did not turn on anymore. It didn't fall down, no water accidently came into contact with the phone but the screen was off. However, the phone was still working (I was able to call it) and when guessing where the unlock button on the screen is, I got the vibrating feedback. So obviously, there's something wrong with the screen.
However, it's not the cable connecting the screen with the device (which would have been the worst case scenarion according to CornholioGSM).

Any other suggestions or would you just try to replace the screen?

Thanks!
 
NikolauZi
Old
#2  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2012
Ah: It's not a backlight problem, this has been tested, too.

Cheers!
 
CornholioGSM
Old
#3  
CornholioGSM's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 205
Posts: 610
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Prague

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikolauZi View Post
Hello,

I was using the Photon Q, closed the slider, wanted to reopen it - but the screen did not turn on anymore. It didn't fall down, no water accidently came into contact with the phone but the screen was off. However, the phone was still working (I was able to call it) and when guessing where the unlock button on the screen is, I got the vibrating feedback. So obviously, there's something wrong with the screen.
However, it's not the cable connecting the screen with the device (which would have been the worst case scenarion according to CornholioGSM).

Any other suggestions or would you just try to replace the screen?

Thanks!
...when you slide out keyboard and then press any button screen wakes up?
If yes then test magnetic sensor - it is under space bar

My SIM card mod for Photon Q users:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...php?p=32616234
My SIM card mod for Optimus G LS970:
http://forum.xda-developers.com/show...8#post35347358
 
NikolauZi
Old
#4  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 13
Join Date: Feb 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by CornholioGSM View Post
...when you slide out keyboard and then press any button screen wakes up?
If yes then test magnetic sensor - it is under space bar
Well... If I slide out the keyboard, the screen is instantly awake. I can feel it, as I can guess where the unlock button is and unlock the screen. Do you want me now to wait in order to let the screen go off again and then wake it up with a hardware button from the keyboard? And after that: how do you want me to test the magnetic sensor?

Thanks!
 
arrrghhh
Old
#5  
Retired Forum Moderator / Recognized Developer
Thanks Meter 3472
Posts: 11,110
Join Date: Feb 2007

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by NikolauZi View Post
how do you want me to test the magnetic sensor?
Put a magnet near the sensor.
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes