T-Mobile HTC One M8 Gets Selfie-Friendly Android 4.4.4 OTA

The T-Mobie variant of HTC One (M8) just now received an over-the-air update … more

Android L is for Lockdown

Root is, without a doubt, the (un)holy grail of the Android world. Those wonderful permissions that allow you as … more

XDA Xposed Tuesday: XHangouts Will Improve Your Hangouts

Ever since Google started supporting text messaging in Hangouts many people have … more

Shattered Screen? Turn Your Broken Device into a Complete Media Center!

A cracked screen usually means you’ll have to spend a hefty … more
Post Reply

Three UK Model - Flash to stock?

OP leoni1980

27th March 2014, 03:42 PM   |  #1  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
My Three model comes unlocked but is already behind when it comes to firmware. It also only has the APNs for Three (so I have to manually input for any other SIM I insert) and there's an annoying splash screen.

I'm not very well-read when it comes to flashing HTC devices but am I right in thinking that there is no way to flash stock firmware without S-off and bootloader unlock? One good thing about even the Sony handsets is that you can flash stock firmware without going through hell.

If I'm wrong could someone point me in the right direction. Not the end of the world if I can't 'stockify' but it would be nice
27th March 2014, 05:25 PM   |  #2  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 267
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Just flash the stock Rom from Mike in the dev thread.


No need to change firmware. That would take s-off anyway.
27th March 2014, 05:45 PM   |  #3  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm

Just flash the stock Rom from Mike in the dev thread.


No need to change firmware. That would take s-off anyway.


Does this require boot loader unlocking or a simple flash?
27th March 2014, 06:06 PM   |  #4  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 267
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
Unlock bootloader.
Flash a recovery through Fastboot -

Fastboot flash recovery recovery.img


Put rom on sd
In recovery backup current rom, then flash custom rom
27th March 2014, 06:08 PM   |  #5  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Hmmm I'd have to have the 'tampered' warning and lose my warranty that way wouldn't I?
Might just live with it for now. Thanks though.
27th March 2014, 06:17 PM   |  #6  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 267
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
You won't lose warranty no.
27th March 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #7  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm

You won't lose warranty no.

I thought if you unlocked the bootloader it invalidated the warranty? Or have things changed?
27th March 2014, 06:32 PM   |  #8  
Senior Member
Flag East Kilbride
Thanks Meter: 251
 
1,245 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2010
More
That's a common misconception.
Unless you broke the actual hardware, they are still liable for it

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
27th March 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #9  
backfromthestorm's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag 47000 places at once.
Thanks Meter: 267
 
738 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
As long as the issue isn't blatantly caused by unlocking it, there won't be a problem.
Mine have been s-off and unlocked. They just send them back locked and s-on
27th March 2014, 06:36 PM   |  #10  
leoni1980's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
1,249 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2005
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by backfromthestorm

You won't lose warranty no.

If I flash this stock ROM will it receive OTA updates just like a normal stock phone?

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank