Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,220 Members 44,820 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Cannot unlock bootloader

Tip us?
 
wmichniewski
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
Default [Q] Cannot unlock bootloader

Hi. I had bootloader unlocked while I had android 4.3 without any problem but PC Companion didn't let me install 4.4.2 with bootloader unlocked so I had to relock it. After that I installed KitKat without any problem and have tried to unlock bootloader again doing same steps as before but unsuccesfull. The message I get was something like "your device is already rooted" but is not. Also the bootloader is locked for sure. What can I do to sort this out?
 
gregbradley
Old
#2  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3785
Posts: 8,956
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
Hi. I had bootloader unlocked while I had android 4.3 without any problem but PC Companion didn't let me install 4.4.2 with bootloader unlocked so I had to relock it. After that I installed KitKat without any problem and have tried to unlock bootloader again doing same steps as before but unsuccesfull. The message I get was something like "your device is already rooted" but is not. Also the bootloader is locked for sure. What can I do to sort this out?
Dial *#*#7378423#*#*

goto service info then configuration and tell me what it says about the bootloader
I am currently on a family holiday, support will be at a minimum for the whole of August
How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4



 
wmichniewski
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
bootloader unlock allowed: Yes
 
gregbradley
Old
#4  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3785
Posts: 8,956
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Follow instyructions from here

http://unlockbootloader.sonymobile.com/instructions


and post the output of the command window
I am currently on a family holiday, support will be at a minimum for the whole of August
How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4



 
wmichniewski
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
I did it already. The message I get was 'your device is already rooted'
 
gregbradley
Old
#6  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3785
Posts: 8,956
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
I did it already. The message I get was 'your device is already rooted'
I know it may be painful, but please do try it again and copy and past the content of the command window here.

Please.
I am currently on a family holiday, support will be at a minimum for the whole of August
How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4



 
wmichniewski
Old
#7  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
After I did it first time the message I get was:

FAILED (remote: Command did not succed)
finished. total time: 0.018s

so I tried to do it again and the message is different:

FAILES (remote: device is already rooted)
finished. total time: 0.004s
 
gregbradley
Old
#8  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3785
Posts: 8,956
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
After I did it first time the message I get was:

FAILED (remote: Command did not succed)
finished. total time: 0.018s

so I tried to do it again and the message is different:

FAILES (remote: device is already rooted)
finished. total time: 0.004s
Did you make a TA backup?

If so, restore it and try again.

If not, flash a stock FTF of your choice, reboot and tell me what it says in service info configuration again
I am currently on a family holiday, support will be at a minimum for the whole of August
How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4



 
wmichniewski
Old
#9  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 10
Join Date: Jan 2013
when I can get ftf stock rom from and should I flash it with flashtool. After I do it my phone is gonna be on factory settings and I'm gonna lose all data ?
 
gregbradley
Old
#10  
gregbradley's Avatar
Forum Moderator
Thanks Meter 3785
Posts: 8,956
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Manchester
Quote:
Originally Posted by wmichniewski View Post
when I can get ftf stock rom from and should I flash it with flashtool. After I do it my phone is gonna be on factory settings and I'm gonna lose all data ?
From the FTF thread in the general section

You lose all data when unlocking bootloader anyway, (You must know this if you read the instructions)

Did you make a TA backup?
I am currently on a family holiday, support will be at a minimum for the whole of August
How to get root on Xperia Z1 with KitKat 4.4.2, 4.4.3 & 4.4.4




Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Forums Added for the Nvidia Shield Tablet and Sharp Aquos Crystal

Just a few days ago, wetook an in depth look at theNvidia Shield Tabletand … more

[OTA Captured] Android 4.4.3 Lands on European HTC One M7

The secound release of the Android L Developer Previewmay be the new hotness for … more

Take a Perfectly Stable Shot with Open Camera

The camera app on our Android smartphones and tablets isn’t something we focus on all … more

Motorola Droid X Receives Almost Fully Functional KitKat Port

While we are all wondering when Google will decide to officially release … more