Post Reply

[Q] HTC Amaze 4G somehow got unrooted??

27th March 2014, 04:19 PM   |  #1  
eudemonics's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
hello,

my HTC amaze has been rooted for years, but somehow it recently got unrooted. busybox installer still shows it as rooted, but every other application i have that requires root tells me i need root access/superuser privileges. when i try to re-root with the zerg rush exploit, this is what happens:

bash-3.2# adb devices
List of devices attached
HT19VVP12772 device

bash-3.2# adb push zergRush /data/local/
1667 KB/s (21215 bytes in 0.012s)
bash-3.2# adb shell
- exec '/system/bin/sh' failed: No such file or directory (2) -
bash-3.2#

***EDIT***
i am pretty sure it got unrooted after i installed busybox, which installed at /system/xbin.

responses from adb terminal commands:

bash-3.2# adb ls /system
000041ed 00001000 515f14ed .
000041ed 00000000 53343bad ..
000041ed 00001000 00000000 lost+found
000041ed 00002000 53343976 app
000041ed 00001000 53343976 bin
000081a4 00001fd0 515f14ed build.prop
000041ed 00001000 4f7f6e47 customize
000041ed 00001000 4f7f6e49 etc
000041ed 00001000 4f7f6e4a fonts
000041ed 00001000 4f7f6e53 framework
000041ed 00002000 4f7f6e64 lib
000041ed 00001000 4f7f6e65 media
000041ed 00001000 4f7f6e72 usr
000041ed 00002000 52d9d612 xbin

adb ls /system/xbin includes this:
0000a1ff 00000014 4f7f6e73 sh

whereas adb ls/system/bin does not have "sh" listed.

so /system/bin/sh doesn't exist but /system/xbin/sh does.

how do i fix this and get my device rooted again? this is driving me nuts! thanks
Last edited by eudemonics; 27th March 2014 at 04:50 PM.
27th March 2014, 05:59 PM   |  #2  
eudemonics's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
103 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2007
Donate to Me
More
FIXED (i think - i hope)
installed su binary from recovery, did cleanup in superuser app, root seems to be working again now
27th March 2014, 06:01 PM   |  #3  
SuperAfnan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jacksonville, Florida
Thanks Meter: 2,228
 
1,943 posts
Join Date:Joined: Nov 2012
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by eudemonics

installed su binary from recovery, did cleanup in superuser app, root seems to be working again now

That's what I was going to suggest, but glad you figured it out.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SGH-I747 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
amaze, htc, root, t-mobile, unrooted
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools
Display Modes