Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,731,116 Members 47,179 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[STOCK ROM] Official Packages

Tip us?
 
Romman0
Old
#201  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 719
Join Date: May 2012
Quote:
Originally Posted by Airport1 View Post
I would give it a try, but before .. can you recommend which A101 ROM is "the best" (I mean, causes the lowest trouble, even if I have to update it OTA after that?). And another thing, just to understand what "we" are doing here, what is done by this

/system/bin/cmdclient ec_micswitch '`echo 'ro.kernel.qemu=1' > /data/local.prop`'

? I never found anywhere something about it.
BTW, I can navigate in the recovery menu between the choices by volume down/up, but no hardware key (even home or power button) will select my choice. How do you select a choice here?
(maybe it does not work at all, as seen in this video: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CWFlA1W08wE )

But for the first, a recommendation which A101 ROM to take would be completely perfect.
You can't select anything in the stock recovery, that is just the way it is.

Try this full a101 stock rom, posted above. http://www.imeiserver.org/download/i..._full_user.zip
 
Airport1
Old
(Last edited by Airport1; 28th June 2013 at 07:44 PM.)
#202  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2007
OK, meanwhile its solved. See below. Thanks a lot!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Romman0 View Post
You can't select anything in the stock recovery, that is just the way it is.

Try this full a101 stock rom, posted above. http://www.imeiserver.org/download/i..._full_user.zip
> Have you tried to factory reset with the hardware buttons after flashing an A101 rom? Sometimes it is needed if swapping between HC and ICS roms.

I did now the update.zip procedure with your suggested SD_Acer_A101_1.013.09_COM_GEN1_full_user.zip
After that it was the same: only the Android letters scroll screen.
Because the stock recovery menu does not work to select something and even more I did not get how to reset the device by hardkeys I used the RESET hole and sticked something in for some seconds, then it rebooted but its still the same:
I get only the Android letters scroll screen.

Could this depend on the combination of A100 and A101 ROM needed?
Could this depend whether you do OR DO NOT the commands between like in this "how to root instruction"?
I am out of ideas. All I can currently do is going back to an A100 ROM, so I lose 3G

OK FOLKS. ALL SOLVED. AFTER I FOLLOWED THESE INSTRUCTIONS _AFTER_ FLASHING A101 ROM:
http://panam.acer.com/acerpanam/tabl...A100faq9.shtml

The only curious thing is that I am now fixed to Android 3.2.1, when I click System-Update it says device would be on latest version, but maybe this takes some time.
 
Romman0
Old
#203  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 358
Posts: 719
Join Date: May 2012
Yes that's what I meant by a factory reset with the hardware buttons. I should have been a little more specific.

The update may take a while to come, or if you can find the official ICS for the a101.

I believe the stock ics rom version is AV041_A101_1.014.00_WW_GEN1, but their maybe more than one.
 
Airport1
Old
(Last edited by Airport1; 27th March 2014 at 01:38 PM.)
#204  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2007
Default How can I upgrade an Acer A101 to 4.x again?

Sorry to bother again, but I am still fixed to Android 3.2.1, that means I did not get any new version (although it should be available, as 4.x has been spreaded some months ago). So I searched again today for either a modded ROM _with_ 3G (but that seems not to exist) _OR_ a stock rom. But I had no luck for both. Also on the official Acer site there is no download for it. Can you lead me to a page where I can get a stock rom 4.x for Acer A101 _with_ 3G? It is a German model, if that matters (e.g. because of frequencies, bands etc.).
Is this a "trouble-less" good choice? http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=1629453 But I read about "removing official bootloader" so it might not be..
 
Airport1
Old
#205  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2007
Could help myself. In this thread you can find - a little bit hidden - the Stock Rom for Android ICS 4.0.3, under this link:
http://narod.yandex.ru/disk/47728747..._GEN1.rar.html

It is named
Acer_AV041_A101_0.004.00_WW_GEN1.rar

You put in sequence each of the 4 update1 2 3 4 zip file renamed as update.zip on the SD card of the device, turn off and hold Volume up when turning on. You start this with update1.zip until update4.zip. After that you have 4.0.3 ICS running.
 
Airport1
Old
(Last edited by Airport1; 27th March 2014 at 06:54 PM.)
#206  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter 1
Posts: 20
Join Date: Jun 2007
** wrong comment, but did not find the button for deleting this post **
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes