LG G3 Receives Oversharpening Fix via Modified Kernel

Nothing is perfect, as they say. No matter how alluring or seemingly perfect, … more

APKTool Updated with Android Lollipop Support

One of the beauties of Android is the level of flexibility we have over our devices. Whether … more

Lollipop Leak for Sprint Galaxy S5, TWRP for Micromax Canvas Magnus – XDA TV

Android 5.0 Lollipop has been leaked for the Sprint … more

Velocity is Like OpenTable on Steroids

We all enjoy a night out with friends or our significant other from time to time. However, there is … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

SU Binary In /system/xbin, But SuperSU Is Not Working

OP SpikeyPsyche

28th March 2014, 11:33 AM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Besides the SU Binary In /system/xbin, what else do I need for SuperSU to function?

It keeps saying the SU binary is not installed
28th March 2014, 12:12 PM   |  #2  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 688
 
2,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche

Besides the SU Binary In /system/xbin, what else do I need for SuperSU to function?

It keeps saying the SU binary is not installed

did you download the su app from the playstore
28th March 2014, 12:19 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

did you download the su app from the playstore

I was rooted on MI9 using the DLV method. I updated to NC2, and the SU binary installed by SuperSU persisted in the /system/xbin/ directory, but the SuperSU app says it is not installed. I wanted to know what, if anything, I can do with the SU binary in place to get the SuperSU app up and running again.
28th March 2014, 12:30 PM   |  #4  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 688
 
2,144 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche

I was rooted on MI9 using the DLV method. I updated to NC2, and the SU binary installed by SuperSU persisted in the /system/xbin/ directory, but the SuperSU app says it is not installed. I wanted to know what, if anything, I can do with the SU binary in place to get the SuperSU app up and running again.

i am not sure there is anything you can do till we get a root exploit for nc2
28th March 2014, 05:41 PM   |  #5  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 75
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
yeah, i too have still have su in system/xbin on NC2, but root isn't working. it's weird, but as stated above, we probably need a new exploit or something
28th March 2014, 09:03 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
105 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
Are the permissions correct on the su binary? Might as well check that before we start despairing.
28th March 2014, 09:25 PM   |  #7  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 75
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrAzzy

Are the permissions correct on the su binary? Might as well check that before we start despairing.

Yeah, I'm not allowed to set the permissions in Root Explorer without root, but it does show a preview and the permissions do match all the other files in xbin
28th March 2014, 09:52 PM   |  #8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by YrrchSebor

Yeah, I'm not allowed to set the permissions in Root Explorer without root, but it does show a preview and the permissions do match all the other files in xbin

Same here, permissions match all the other binaries in xbin.
28th March 2014, 10:39 PM   |  #9  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 75
 
331 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2013
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche

Same here, permissions match all the other binaries in xbin.

I wonder what this means. I figure we dont need a new kind of su binary, but there must be something in the new software that blocks it from working?

I hope it isn't in the kernel. I had a Sony device last, and we needed an ever so slightly modified kernel in order to get full root on 4.3. But I doubt if we will ever be able to flash kernels.
Last edited by YrrchSebor; 28th March 2014 at 10:49 PM.
28th March 2014, 11:20 PM   |  #10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
117 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by YrrchSebor

I wonder what this means. I figure we dont need a new kind of su binary, but there must be something in the new software that blocks it from working?

I hope it isn't in the kernel. I had a Sony device last, and we needed an ever so slightly modified kernel in order to get full root on 4.3. But I doubt if we will ever be able to flash kernels.

I'm guessing there is some setting or permission that needs to be changed.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes