Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,733,034 Members 47,068 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

SU Binary In /system/xbin, But SuperSU Is Not Working

Tip us?
 
SpikeyPsyche
Old
#1  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 115
Join Date: Mar 2006
Default SU Binary In /system/xbin, But SuperSU Is Not Working

Besides the SU Binary In /system/xbin, what else do I need for SuperSU to function?

It keeps saying the SU binary is not installed
 
jerrycoffman45
Old
#2  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 620
Posts: 1,991
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ashland ky
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche View Post
Besides the SU Binary In /system/xbin, what else do I need for SuperSU to function?

It keeps saying the SU binary is not installed
did you download the su app from the playstore
 
SpikeyPsyche
Old
#3  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 115
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45 View Post
did you download the su app from the playstore
I was rooted on MI9 using the DLV method. I updated to NC2, and the SU binary installed by SuperSU persisted in the /system/xbin/ directory, but the SuperSU app says it is not installed. I wanted to know what, if anything, I can do with the SU binary in place to get the SuperSU app up and running again.
 
jerrycoffman45
Old
#4  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 620
Posts: 1,991
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: ashland ky
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche View Post
I was rooted on MI9 using the DLV method. I updated to NC2, and the SU binary installed by SuperSU persisted in the /system/xbin/ directory, but the SuperSU app says it is not installed. I wanted to know what, if anything, I can do with the SU binary in place to get the SuperSU app up and running again.
i am not sure there is anything you can do till we get a root exploit for nc2
 
YrrchSebor
Old
#5  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 293
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
yeah, i too have still have su in system/xbin on NC2, but root isn't working. it's weird, but as stated above, we probably need a new exploit or something
 
DrAzzy
Old
#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 22
Posts: 105
Join Date: Aug 2011
Are the permissions correct on the su binary? Might as well check that before we start despairing.
 
YrrchSebor
Old
#7  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 293
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrAzzy View Post
Are the permissions correct on the su binary? Might as well check that before we start despairing.
Yeah, I'm not allowed to set the permissions in Root Explorer without root, but it does show a preview and the permissions do match all the other files in xbin
 
SpikeyPsyche
Old
#8  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 115
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by YrrchSebor View Post
Yeah, I'm not allowed to set the permissions in Root Explorer without root, but it does show a preview and the permissions do match all the other files in xbin
Same here, permissions match all the other binaries in xbin.
 
YrrchSebor
Old
(Last edited by YrrchSebor; 28th March 2014 at 09:49 PM.)
#9  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 67
Posts: 293
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Los Angeles
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche View Post
Same here, permissions match all the other binaries in xbin.
I wonder what this means. I figure we dont need a new kind of su binary, but there must be something in the new software that blocks it from working?

I hope it isn't in the kernel. I had a Sony device last, and we needed an ever so slightly modified kernel in order to get full root on 4.3. But I doubt if we will ever be able to flash kernels.
 
SpikeyPsyche
Old
#10  
Senior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 21
Posts: 115
Join Date: Mar 2006
Quote:
Originally Posted by YrrchSebor View Post
I wonder what this means. I figure we dont need a new kind of su binary, but there must be something in the new software that blocks it from working?

I hope it isn't in the kernel. I had a Sony device last, and we needed an ever so slightly modified kernel in order to get full root on 4.3. But I doubt if we will ever be able to flash kernels.
I'm guessing there is some setting or permission that needs to be changed.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Benchmark Your CPU Performance with Mini CPU Integer Script

When it comes to device testing, there are two types of people on XDA. The first … more

Rid Yourself of Charging Annoyances with No Wake on Charge Xposed Module

Almost every OEM has skinned and otherwise modifiedAndroid to suit … more