FORUMS

XDA Picks: Best Apps of the Week (May 15 – 30)

Apps are at the front and center of any smartphone experience, and with over a … more

Google No Longer Sending Calendar SMS Notifications

In a not entirely surprising move, Google announced that it’s putting an … more

Enable Multi-Window Mode on M Developer Preview

What was not mentioned in yeterday’s keynote was Android M’s multi-window … more

I/O Summary: Google Cardboard Virtual Reality

One year ago, Google introduced cardboard. Amazingly enough, that was all it took to fire … more

SU Binary In /system/xbin, But SuperSU Is Not Working

Thanks Meter: 21
 
By SpikeyPsyche, Senior Member on 28th March 2014, 10:33 AM
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
Besides the SU Binary In /system/xbin, what else do I need for SuperSU to function?

It keeps saying the SU binary is not installed
 
 
28th March 2014, 11:12 AM |#2  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 732
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche

Besides the SU Binary In /system/xbin, what else do I need for SuperSU to function?

It keeps saying the SU binary is not installed

did you download the su app from the playstore
28th March 2014, 11:19 AM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by jerrycoffman45

did you download the su app from the playstore

I was rooted on MI9 using the DLV method. I updated to NC2, and the SU binary installed by SuperSU persisted in the /system/xbin/ directory, but the SuperSU app says it is not installed. I wanted to know what, if anything, I can do with the SU binary in place to get the SuperSU app up and running again.
28th March 2014, 11:30 AM |#4  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 732
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche

I was rooted on MI9 using the DLV method. I updated to NC2, and the SU binary installed by SuperSU persisted in the /system/xbin/ directory, but the SuperSU app says it is not installed. I wanted to know what, if anything, I can do with the SU binary in place to get the SuperSU app up and running again.

i am not sure there is anything you can do till we get a root exploit for nc2
28th March 2014, 04:41 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
yeah, i too have still have su in system/xbin on NC2, but root isn't working. it's weird, but as stated above, we probably need a new exploit or something
28th March 2014, 08:03 PM |#6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 23
 
More
Are the permissions correct on the su binary? Might as well check that before we start despairing.
28th March 2014, 08:25 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DrAzzy

Are the permissions correct on the su binary? Might as well check that before we start despairing.

Yeah, I'm not allowed to set the permissions in Root Explorer without root, but it does show a preview and the permissions do match all the other files in xbin
28th March 2014, 08:52 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YrrchSebor

Yeah, I'm not allowed to set the permissions in Root Explorer without root, but it does show a preview and the permissions do match all the other files in xbin

Same here, permissions match all the other binaries in xbin.
28th March 2014, 09:39 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Los Angeles
Thanks Meter: 111
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by SpikeyPsyche

Same here, permissions match all the other binaries in xbin.

I wonder what this means. I figure we dont need a new kind of su binary, but there must be something in the new software that blocks it from working?

I hope it isn't in the kernel. I had a Sony device last, and we needed an ever so slightly modified kernel in order to get full root on 4.3. But I doubt if we will ever be able to flash kernels.
Last edited by YrrchSebor; 28th March 2014 at 09:49 PM.
28th March 2014, 10:20 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 21
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by YrrchSebor

I wonder what this means. I figure we dont need a new kind of su binary, but there must be something in the new software that blocks it from working?

I hope it isn't in the kernel. I had a Sony device last, and we needed an ever so slightly modified kernel in order to get full root on 4.3. But I doubt if we will ever be able to flash kernels.

I'm guessing there is some setting or permission that needs to be changed.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in AT&T Galaxy Note 3 Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank