FORUMS

Other than XDA (of Course), What’s Your Favorite Site That Covers Android?

There is a number of other great sites that cover … more

Introducing Voices of XDA: Have Your Ideas Heard

By far the greatest assets we have at XDA-Developers are you, the developers, the eager … more

Unofficial Xposed For Lollipop Touchwiz With Flashable Zip

XDA Recognized Developer arter97 has released an unofficial build … more

YotaPhone 2 Pre-Order, Xperia Z1 Price Cut – XDA TV

Android Wear 5.1.1 OTA downloads are now available. That and much more news is … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

[Q] ATT and T-MOBILE

28th March 2014, 11:23 PM |#1  
fuzio1963's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag close to chgo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
That might be a weird (don't want to use word "stupid") question. I have rooted, unlocked ATT branded Flex, running currently on T-Mo network.
Questions;
1. Is there a way i can somehow port T-Mo stock Rom into it?
2. How do i get rid of the ATT bloat on my Flex?? I was trying BloatFree app, but with it i was not able even see installed ATT apps..

Anything will be appreciated.
 
 
28th March 2014, 11:39 PM |#2  
Da Kine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santa Rosa, Ca
Thanks Meter: 1,432
 
Donate to Me
More
Really can't do anything with roms until we have a custom recovery for the Flex, but even then, I don't see the point of running a ROM that belongs to another variant of the device.

I like root explorer for taking care of bloat, but there are other apps that can take care of bloat as well, you just need to look for them. There's also a list floating around with a list of apps that are safe to remove (I suggest finding and reading this list before removing anything).

Sent from my LG-D959 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
28th March 2014, 11:41 PM |#3  
kintwofan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Irmo, SC
Thanks Meter: 2,888
 
Donate to Me
More
1. when we have a recovery you may be able to flash the sock deodexed T-Mobile ROM I posted. No promises it'll work.

2. I use es file explorer and delete then, but you could try titanium backup

Sent from my LG-D959 using Tapatalk
29th March 2014, 05:22 AM |#4  
fuzio1963's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag close to chgo
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
ty
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Kine

Really can't do anything with roms until we have a custom recovery for the Flex, but even then, I don't see the point of running a ROM that belongs to another variant of the device.

I like root explorer for taking care of bloat, but there are other apps that can take care of bloat as well, you just need to look for them. There's also a list floating around with a list of apps that are safe to remove (I suggest finding and reading this list before removing anything).

Sent from my LG-D959 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Thank you for advices.
And to ".................. but even then, I don't see the point of running a ROM that belongs to another variant of the device.................." - the point, for example is, tethering, or mobile hot spots, if you will. Now, Internet (data) works just fine, 4G, and LTE too. But, becuase (I am guessing) Att Radio is different than T-Mo, i cannot get it to tether, even that "legal" 3GB tether T-Mo allows you to.
30th March 2014, 02:12 AM |#5  
nerdfacenyan's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Fairfax
Thanks Meter: 170
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Da Kine

Really can't do anything with roms until we have a custom recovery for the Flex, but even then, I don't see the point of running a ROM that belongs to another variant of the device.

I like root explorer for taking care of bloat, but there are other apps that can take care of bloat as well, you just need to look for them. There's also a list floating around with a list of apps that are safe to remove (I suggest finding and reading this list before removing anything).

Sent from my LG-D959 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app

Tethering and mobile hotspot, as well as wifi calling for T-Mobile specifically.
30th March 2014, 02:32 AM |#6  
Da Kine's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Santa Rosa, Ca
Thanks Meter: 1,432
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nerdfacenyan

Tethering and mobile hotspot, as well as wifi calling for T-Mobile specifically.

Read that in the post above yours, thanks for retyping it though.

---------- Post added at 06:32 PM ---------- Previous post was at 06:23 PM ----------

Quote:
Originally Posted by fuzio1963

Thank you for advices.
And to ".................. but even then, I don't see the point of running a ROM that belongs to another variant of the device.................." - the point, for example is, tethering, or mobile hot spots, if you will. Now, Internet (data) works just fine, 4G, and LTE too. But, becuase (I am guessing) Att Radio is different than T-Mo, i cannot get it to tether, even that "legal" 3GB tether T-Mo allows you to.

I should have been more clear when I said that I didn't see the point of running a rom that belongs to another variant. From my experience in the past with other phones and flashing ported roms, not all of the features were functional. Maybe it'll be different with the Flex.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in G Flex Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank