Post Reply

[Q] Do you think HTC logo could be a capacitive button?

OP poczynek

29th March 2014, 11:18 PM   |  #1  
poczynek's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 352
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Ok so with the M7 an amazing developer @tbalden was able to make the HTC logo a capacitive button. Anyone looked at the specs to see if it's possible with the m8? That bloody big black bezel has gotta be good for something!

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 11:22 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
They had to keep the black bar to allow room to fit the digitizers for the speakers.

Sent from my HTC Desire
The Following User Says Thank You to kokocabana For This Useful Post: [ View ]
29th March 2014, 11:26 PM   |  #3  
poczynek's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Flag Sydney
Thanks Meter: 352
 
1,142 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by kokocabana

They had to keep the black bar to allow room to fit the digitizers for the speakers.

Sent from my HTC Desire

Yes that's right but is there anything left over to use as a capacitive button like with the m7?

Sent from my SM-N9005 using XDA Premium 4 mobile app
29th March 2014, 11:38 PM   |  #4  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
147 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
No. There's nothing left to make them work.

Sent from my HTC Desire
31st March 2014, 04:07 AM   |  #5  
GhastlyTT's Avatar
Junior Member
Flag OKC
Thanks Meter: 23
 
27 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2013
More
The logo was never capacitive on the m7. Logo menu was possible because a little bit of your finger made contact with the digitizer directly above the menu at the very edge of the bottom of the screen. I'm sure the genius devs we have will be just as creative with the m8.

Sent from my HTC One_M8 using Tapatalk
The Following User Says Thank You to GhastlyTT For This Useful Post: [ View ]
4th April 2014, 08:03 PM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 53
 
237 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jan 2009
Well in my opinion it's going to be much easier than on M7 because on my M8 i can :
- Scroll a landscape webpage just by moving my finger on the top 25-50% of the black bar.
- Wake up the phone by swiping grossly my thumb over the htc logo...

So yeah, this time it should be easy to encode buttons on the black bar and remove soft keys.
The Following User Says Thank You to epicfailguy2 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


Top Threads in One (M8) Q&A, Help & Troubleshooting by ThreadRank