Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,768,001 Members 39,509 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] (Status 7) Perhaps a unique problem, China Mobile

Tip us?
 
kyotowired
Old
(Last edited by kyotowired; 30th March 2014 at 04:29 PM.) Reason: More detailed title
#1  
kyotowired's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2011
Question [Q] (Status 7) Perhaps a unique problem, China Mobile

Hello you brilliant people! I haven't been on here in some time. I recently move to China and brought along my Galaxy S3 i-535. It's been some time since I've worked with flashing custom ROMs and never tried it on the S3 until I came here. I am able to root, unlock the boot loader, and install CWM. However, whenever I try and flash any ROM I get the ever infuriating (Status 7) assert. Meaning that I have the incorrect ROM, correct? But I have double, triple, and quadruple checked and I have the correct ROM. Here are the pertinent details:

================================================== ===========
-Samsung Galaxy S3 I-535
-Originally a Verizon phone (Screw VZW!)
-Currently on the ChinaMobile network with a Chinese SIM card
-CWM v6.0.2.3
-And I'm currently on Android 4.1.2
-Baseband Ver.: I535VRBMB1
-Kernal Ver.: 3.0.31-861013 (not sure if useful, but maybe)


================================================== ===========


Here is the my specific question. ##Could I be receiving the Status 7 assert due to the different SIM card/network??##
I've tried removing the assert from the updater-script file, but no luck. I changed almost a year ago, so the old SIM card is long lost and finding a VZW SIM here would be nearly impossible.
I believe my CWM version is new enough.
If this is the case, any suggestions on where to go next? Any developer/website that would work with China Mobile is in Chinese, and my Chinese is VERY poor.

I need to update my phone to receive data, so they say, but I'm not sure how high I have to update. I was trying to avoid 4.3 because of the locked bootloader. But I think I can find a ROM for 4.3 or 4.4 that doesn't force me to take the locked boot loader? Am I correct in my thinking. Yes I have been researching, I just want to make sure I'm right.

Any useful assistance will be rewarded with my endless gratitude and kind thoughts!!!
 
SlimSnoopOS
Old
#2  
SlimSnoopOS's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 1923
Posts: 5,419
Join Date: Jan 2011
You want to upgrade your CWM to 6.0.4.5 then flash your roms from there. If you're using Rom Manager, you can upgrade from within the app itself. Alternatively, you can download the CWM 6.0.4.5 recovery IMG file from the official CWM website, download "Flashify" from the Play Store then install the CWM 6.0.4.5. recovery img file using Flashify.
[VZW] Samsung Galaxy SIII
[last device]
Droid Incroyable
The Following 2 Users Say Thank You to SlimSnoopOS For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
 
kyotowired
Old
#3  
kyotowired's Avatar
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 6
Join Date: May 2011
Thumbs up WOot woot!!!!

Quote:
Originally Posted by SlimSnoopOS View Post
You want to upgrade your CWM to 6.0.4.5 then flash your roms from there. If you're using Rom Manager, you can upgrade from within the app itself. Alternatively, you can download the CWM 6.0.4.5 recovery IMG file from the official CWM website, download "Flashify" from the Play Store then install the CWM 6.0.4.5. recovery img file using Flashify.
That was all it needed! Success! Running the latest Cyanogen!

Much thanks, much thanks!
The Following User Says Thank You to kyotowired For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes