Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

removed "firmware" files in z1c-44-uk.system.flashable.zip?

OP TQuest

31st March 2014, 11:58 AM   |  #1  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
i'm currently trying to make a flashable zip with my "own" firmware "D5503_14.3.A.0.681_EURO LTE"

when i compared the the content of systems.tgz from the file z1c-44-uk.system.flashable.zip with the system.sin file of my firmware i noticed a bunch of files are missing in the tgz file.
so i looked at D5503_14.3.A.0.681_Generic UK.ftf and noticed the firmware files are there.

Different files in system
D5503_14.3.A.0.681_EURO LTE vs 1c-44-uk.system.flashable.zip


D5503_14.3.A.0.681_EURO LTE vs D5503_14.3.A.0.681_Generic UK.ftf


D5503_14.3.A.0.681_Generic UK vs 1c-44-uk.system.flashable.zip


why were these files removed in the flashable zip?
31st March 2014, 01:36 PM   |  #2  
zxz0O0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,420
 
916 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Are you talking about the z1c-44-uk.system.flashable.zip from my guide here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2688933 ?
I didn't remove any files, I built it directly from the system.sin (mounted it in ubuntu).

All those files in your last picture are inside my system.tgz.
The Following User Says Thank You to zxz0O0 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st March 2014, 04:00 PM   |  #3  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zxz0O0

Are you talking about the z1c-44-uk.system.flashable.zip from my guide here: http://forum.xda-developers.com/show....php?t=2688933 ?
I didn't remove any files, I built it directly from the system.sin (mounted it in ubuntu).

All those files in your last picture are inside my system.tgz.

your right, seems like they are symlinks and winrar does not unpack them on my pc unless you start it as admin ?!?
31st March 2014, 07:10 PM   |  #4  
zxz0O0's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 1,420
 
916 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by TQuest

your right, seems like they are symlinks and winrar does not unpack them on my pc unless you start it as admin ?!?

No idea. I recommend to not use windows for stuff like that anyway. Just set up a ubuntu vm with VirtualBox. You also don't need any extra tools there. Just unpack the system.sin to system.ext4 with flashtool and mount it under ubuntu.
1st April 2014, 08:11 AM   |  #5  
OP Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 6
 
26 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by zxz0O0

No idea. I recommend to not use windows for stuff like that anyway. Just set up a ubuntu vm with VirtualBox. You also don't need any extra tools there. Just unpack the system.sin to system.ext4 with flashtool and mount it under ubuntu.

i agree with you, i was just using windows for a filecompare because i thought it was more conveniant.
for everything else i'm using the same setup as your are: virtualbox with ubuntu
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes