Behind the Scenes with Sony’s Engineers

The developers of the Xperia Z3 talk about the decisions and manufacturing of the phone’s … more

CM Apps – CyanogenMod Apps Without Root

Over the years CyanogenMod created many applications that replaced the default AOSP apps. These … more

Good Games to Show off Graphics on My Phone?

Mobile games may not be ready to replace your consoles, but they have seen incredible … more

Apple CEO Implies Users are Dumping Android for iPhones

Apple CEO Tim Cook told The Wallstreet Journal that just 15% of the newest iPhone … more

Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

Asking Best buy or AT$T to image older rom

OP ekerbuddyeker

29th March 2014, 08:51 PM   |  #1  
ekerbuddyeker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
1,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
I see some mention of this as a solution, although it look some it's only for those that downgraded to NB5.

.I am trying to understand what would happen if AT&T or BB try to image an older ROM on to the 4.4 leak that some of us are RUNNING, including me.

Assuming AT&T / BB agree to try, has anyone had success this way?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
29th March 2014, 09:38 PM   |  #2  
Senior Member
Flag Saratoga
Thanks Meter: 37
 
185 posts
Join Date:Joined: Oct 2013
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekerbuddyeker

I see some mention of this as a solution, although it look some it's only for those that downgraded to NB5.

.I am trying to understand what would happen if AT&T or BB try to image an older ROM on to the 4.4 leak that some of us are RUNNING, including me.

Assuming AT&T / BB agree to try, has anyone had success this way?

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

They won't load ROMS.
29th March 2014, 09:43 PM   |  #3  
jerrycoffman45's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag ashland ky
Thanks Meter: 702
 
2,193 posts
Join Date:Joined: Sep 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by skyline23

They won't load ROMS.

he is not talking about custom roms but a stock image a att service center or best buy can do it and will
29th March 2014, 09:54 PM   |  #4  
TeldenW's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Provo, UTAH
Thanks Meter: 12
 
345 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2010
More
I took my Note 3 in to BB yesterday. I'm running the Leaked MLG 4.4.2.
The Samsung dudes were unable to get NB4 to load over the leak.
My BB didn't even have the NC2 (official KK release) in their system yet.
Going to try a different BB tomorrow.

AT&T Note 3
29th March 2014, 10:56 PM   |  #5  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Thumbs up
Quote:
Originally Posted by TeldenW

I took my Note 3 in to BB yesterday. I'm running the Leaked MLG 4.4.2.
The Samsung dudes were unable to get NB4 to load over the leak.
My BB didn't even have the NC2 (official KK release) in their system yet.
Going to try a different BB tomorrow.

AT&T Note 3

i had the same issue.i restored to mj5 by following the post here at xda then had bb reflash to nb4. no probs updating to kk via ota.
30th March 2014, 02:47 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 17
 
148 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2011
More
ATT rep told me that if they attempt to restore a 4.3 image over KK it will brick the phone so they won't do it.

Because my phone wouldn't boot when I brought it in they couldn't confirm the OS version. I had to sign a waiver acknowledging my phone might become a brick and releasing them of liability before they would agree to restore my phone.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using Tapatalk
Last edited by serpent2005; 30th March 2014 at 02:51 AM.
31st March 2014, 04:05 AM   |  #7  
Junior Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
3 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2014
Revert back to mj5 first.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
31st March 2014, 05:02 AM   |  #8  
Member
Thanks Meter: 1
 
40 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2010
i just come out from bb no help overthere i have before the kitkat leak one and now trying to put the official one and i did the downgrade for mj5 but still not working..
31st March 2014, 04:58 PM   |  #9  
ekerbuddyeker's Avatar
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 229
 
1,848 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2007
More
I may wait till they have the official ROM in their system and then go in to get my leaked version updated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app
31st March 2014, 05:14 PM   |  #10  
the2rrell's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 616
 
2,894 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jun 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by ekerbuddyeker

I may wait till they have the official ROM in their system and then go in to get my leaked version updated.

Sent from my SAMSUNG-SM-N900A using xda app-developers app

there is a working method to get the official OTA to update on your phone, Miata just posted a thread about how to do this after restoring to MJ5 and taking the NB4 updated.

he has a file that you flash and after that the OTA update should not fail anymore. Yall should try it out instead of waiting on BB or Att to do something that you can do.

The Following User Says Thank You to the2rrell For This Useful Post: [ View ]
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes