FORUMS

XPrivacy for Android Lollipop – XDA Xposed Tuesday

Have you ever been on the Google Play Store and saw an app that you wanted to … more

How a HTC Droid Eris Changed a Members Life

Rarely can a member say that Android development or XDA had a profound effect on … more

XDA Office Space: Frankenstein’s Perfect IM Client?

The portal’s decentralized XDA office lies in a Hangouts chatroom, where … more

Which IM Client on Android is best?

With so many different messengers to choose from, it can be tough to find the best one for you and … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

return phone for warrenty

31st March 2014, 04:25 PM |#1  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
I have custom recovery, bootloader unlocked and s-off. My phone does not power on anymore. Not a single signal. Not even the LED lights up when plugged into the charger.. I think i will send it to HTC. Is HTC able to spot that is it unlocked etc. ?
 
 
31st March 2014, 04:55 PM |#2  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 951
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_**

I have custom recovery, bootloader unlocked and s-off. My phone does not power on anymore. Not a single signal. Not even the LED lights up when plugged into the charger.. I think i will send it to HTC. Is HTC able to spot that is it unlocked etc. ?

If you unlocked it with HTCdev.com, then yes they will be able to. But usually unlocking the bootloader doesn't make the entire device stop working. They might blame you for over clocking or something, but there isn't anything you can do about it. You obviously can't re-lock it, so I would just send it in and hope that they don't care.
31st March 2014, 04:58 PM |#3  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

If you unlocked it with HTCdev.com, then yes they will be able to. But usually unlocking the bootloader doesn't make the entire device stop working. They might blame you for over clocking or something, but there isn't anything you can do about it. You obviously can't re-lock it, so I would just send it in and hope that they don't care.

The bootloader was unlocked before it stopped working. I was able to install the stock rom. I have i plan how i could make it completely stock.. but for my plan i need it to boot into recovery.
31st March 2014, 05:08 PM |#4  
aooga's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag California
Thanks Meter: 951
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_**

The bootloader was unlocked before it stopped working. I was able to install the stock rom. I have i plan how i could make it completely stock.. but for my plan i need it to boot into recovery.

You can't make it stock if you can't turn it on. Honestly, there is NOTHING you can do right now except send it in if the phone doesn't even get to the bootlaoder or RUU modes.

I don't think HTC will not fix it though. They should be fine with it.
31st March 2014, 05:41 PM |#5  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by aooga

You can't make it stock if you can't turn it on. Honestly, there is NOTHING you can do right now except send it in if the phone doesn't even get to the bootlaoder or RUU modes.

I don't think HTC will not fix it though. They should be fine with it.

Ok, i will send it to HTC and hope for the best thank you
1st April 2014, 01:23 PM |#6  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
I made the bootloader to show "locked" and flashed the stock recovery!

How to get s-on now?
1st April 2014, 01:53 PM |#7  
Senior Member
Flag Melbourne
Thanks Meter: 98
 
More
Leave it s off

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app
1st April 2014, 02:11 PM |#8  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by nateboi81

Leave it s off

Sent from my GT-I9305 using xda app-developers app

Are you sure? Do i have warranty with s-off?
1st April 2014, 02:27 PM |#9  
Senior Member
Flag Dubai
Thanks Meter: 107
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by MICH_**

Are you sure? Do i have warranty with s-off?

Well, it depends. Usually, HTC will only check for the TAMPERED flag and the bootloader status. But sometimes, they may have a problem with the phone being S-OFF.
I S-ON'ed my phone before giving it for warranty repair.

Anyways, whether u will S-ON the phone or not, ill tell u how to S-ON.
Put the phone in fastboot mode. On ur PC, open command prompt and type:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3

Then, do what the screen shows

HOWEVER, DO NOT S-ON UR PHONE IF HBOOT IS 1.55 OR ABOVE. THE TAMPERED LOGO WILL RE-APPEAR
Last edited by raghav kapur; 1st April 2014 at 02:31 PM.
1st April 2014, 02:32 PM |#10  
OP Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 82
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by raghav kapur

Well, it depends. Usually, HTC will only check for the TAMPERED flag and the bootloader status. But sometimes, they may have a problem with the phone being S-OFF.
I S-ON'ed my phone before giving it for warranty repair.

Anyways, whether u will S-ON the phone or not, ill tell u how to S-ON.
Put the phone in fastboot mode. On ur PC, open command prompt and type:
fastboot oem writesecureflag 3

HOWEVER, DO NOT S-ON UR PHONE IF HBOOT IS 1.55 OR ABOVE. THE TAMPERED LOGO WILL RE-APPEAR

okay, i will try to get s-on. But how to do so? Does it work by just typing "fastboot writesecureflag 3" ?
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes