Welcome to XDA

Search to go directly to your device's forum

Register an account

Unlock full posting privileges

Ask a question

No registration required
Post Reply

[Q] Easy Backup Restore Question

OP Superorb

31st March 2014, 05:00 PM   |  #1  
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 14
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
When I'm on ROM #1 and I want to restore ROM #2 from nandroid backup, do I need to also reflash ROM #2's boot image after I do the restore or will it be restored in the nandroid restore?
31st March 2014, 06:19 PM   |  #2  
Ringford's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta, Indonesia
Thanks Meter: 37
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superorb

When I'm on ROM #1 and I want to restore ROM #2 from nandroid backup, do I need to also reflash ROM #2's boot image after I do the restore or will it be restored in the nandroid restore?

If you did S-Off your phone, you don't need to flash another kernel. In other word, it can be restored when restoring a nandroid backup. If your phone still on S-On state, you need to flash another kernel. But if those two ROMs can boot with/use the same kernel, you don't need to flash another kernel.
31st March 2014, 06:30 PM   |  #3  
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 14
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ringford

If you did S-Off your phone, you don't need to flash another kernel. In other word, it can be restored when restoring a nandroid backup. If your phone still on S-On state, you need to flash another kernel. But if those two ROMs can boot with/use the same kernel, you don't need to flash another kernel.

Thanks. Is there an easy way to S-off the CDMA version? I'm used to my Evo V 4G on Virgin which is a lot easier to tinker with.
31st March 2014, 06:38 PM   |  #4  
Ringford's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Jakarta, Indonesia
Thanks Meter: 37
 
152 posts
Join Date:Joined: May 2012
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Superorb

Thanks. Is there an easy way to S-off the CDMA version? I'm used to my Evo V 4G on Virgin which is a lot easier to tinker with.

Head to the following link:
rumrunner S-Off

There's a download link and instructions to S-Off you phone.
The Following User Says Thank You to Ringford For This Useful Post: [ View ]
31st March 2014, 06:51 PM   |  #5  
OP Senior Member
Flag Denver, CO
Thanks Meter: 14
 
210 posts
Join Date:Joined: Mar 2011
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ringford

Head to the following link:
rumrunner S-Off

There's a download link and instructions to S-Off you phone.

Thanks
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes