Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,739,209 Members 48,386 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

[Q] Wifi not turning on, contradicting model number

Tip us?
 
mogleyzw
Old
#1  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default [Q] Wifi not turning on, contradicting model number

I recently got a GS4 from China and noticed the WiFi was not turning on... it is going though the notion with "turning on..." displayed on screen and not doing anything else.

After reading around on the internet I saw it maybe a firmware issue. So after doing some research I decide flashing it maybe the best solution to the the problem. After spending like a couple of hours ensuring I got the correct version of the firmware I got everything ready but when I put it in download mode I realized I maybe the wrong one.

(From Phone Info Samsung app)

Click image for larger version

Name:	1.png
Views:	126
Size:	139.0 KB
ID:	2656337
Click image for larger version

Name:	2.png
Views:	121
Size:	129.4 KB
ID:	2656338
Click image for larger version

Name:	3.png
Views:	124
Size:	157.9 KB
ID:	2656340
Click image for larger version

Name:	4.png
Views:	131
Size:	192.4 KB
ID:	2656341
Click image for larger version

Name:	5.png
Views:	120
Size:	157.9 KB
ID:	2656342

Sticker under battery says its the I9500...

In download mode I notice that is said that the model of the phone was SGH-I337 the AT&T I9505. Which confused me and made me want to check which firmware to get. The 3rd image doesn't really make sense based on what I have read along with fact that the first image calls the phone the i9500 but the 5th image shows the i9505 qualcomm processor. Also on the 1st image what is "jflteatt" under the device type?

I'm not sure what to do now, any help would be most appreciated.
 
Gboss01
Old
#2  
Gboss01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 236
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Durban
Sorry to tell you this but you bought an S4 Clone.
From your screenshots its obvious its a clone.
I have an i9500 and the Phone Info screen you uploaded does not exist on my phone.
Sorry again.
 
mogleyzw
Old
#3  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
Default kies

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gboss01 View Post
Sorry to tell you this but you bought an S4 Clone.
From your screenshots its obvious its a clone.
I have an i9500 and the Phone Info screen you uploaded does not exist on my phone.
Sorry again.
Kies recognizes it... I wouldn't have expected it to load up in kies if it was a clone.
 
~ Myzrael ~
Old
#4  
~ Myzrael ~'s Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 52
Posts: 204
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Adria
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gboss01 View Post
Sorry to tell you this but you bought an S4 Clone.
From your screenshots its obvious its a clone.
I have an i9500 and the Phone Info screen you uploaded does not exist on my phone.
Sorry again.
That's an app, it's called phone info Samsung, u can find it on google play. Don't rush to conclusions if u are not sure of what u are saying.

Sent from Galaxy S4
SGS4 i9505 Faux Kernel
Nexus7 SlimBean + Faux Kernel
 
mogleyzw
Old
#5  
Junior Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 3
Join Date: Mar 2014
bump
 
Joku1981
Old
(Last edited by Joku1981; 31st March 2014 at 12:01 AM.)
#6  
Joku1981's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 546
Posts: 1,803
Join Date: Jun 2012

 
DONATE TO ME
Quote:
Originally Posted by mogleyzw View Post
bump
The solutions I see are:
- Wipe all and flash android 4.3 TGY-I9500ZSUCMK3 through ODIN -> HERE
or if give ya error
- Wipe all and flash android 4.4.2 TGY-I9500ZSUDNB3 through ODIN-> HERE

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~
CLICK "THANKS" BUTTON IF I HELPED YA
 
Gboss01
Old
(Last edited by Gboss01; 31st March 2014 at 07:37 PM.)
#7  
Gboss01's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 61
Posts: 236
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Durban
Quote:
Originally Posted by ~ Myzrael ~ View Post
That's an app, it's called phone info Samsung, u can find it on google play. Don't rush to conclusions if u are not sure of what u are saying.

Sent from Galaxy S4
How bout you dont jump to conclusions too bud!

I have a mate who bought an "S4" from China, paid $130, and it looked the same but when we compared it against my i9500 it was littered with errors in the device info. The fake also only got EDGE and couldn't pick up 3G or HSPA.

In me saying the OP has probably got a fake I was not trying to belittle him but just make him aware.

Look nicely at the pics, the product is shown as "jflteatt" but its supposed to be a i9500...
jflteatt = the AT&T i9505 not an i9500

"Sticker under the battery says i9500" but device info says jflteatt. I seriously doubt Samsung would have let something like that slip through their Quality Control.

Maybe the OP can post us a pic of his about screen and not some phone info shots from an app available on the Google store.
That would end the debate.
@op sorry for derailing your thread. Have you tried getting into Download mode or Recovery Mode? My mates fake had a chinese recovery.

The Following User Says Thank You to Gboss01 For This Useful Post: [ Click to Expand ]
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


XDA PORTAL POSTS

Device Review: OnePlus One

Seemingly every day, there are a bunch of new devices being released. Some are budget devices and some are … more

Browse the Internet with the Innovative Atlas Web Browser

For the most part, Chrome, Firefox, and Dolphin Browser have no real rivals among … more

Choose from Over a Thousand Battery Styles with 3Minit Battery Mod

The battery style in stock Android looks pretty dull. It doesn’t … more

Organize Your Cloud Storage Files with Unclouded

Cloud storage services like Dropbox or Google Drive have grown in popularity dramatically … more