Post Reply

[Q] How to remove "abd" from dictionary

OP ddodge68

31st March 2014, 08:31 PM   |  #1  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
So, I'm using the HTC gesture keyboard (like Swype) and I'm hoping that someone can help me to remove a word from the dictionary. Everytime I try to spell the word "and", I get "abd". I will never use the word "abd". Is there a way to remove it from the dictionary? Thanks....
31st March 2014, 09:33 PM   |  #2  
runandhide05's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,449
 
2,804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddodge68

So, I'm using the HTC gesture keyboard (like Swype) and I'm hoping that someone can help me to remove a word from the dictionary. Everytime I try to spell the word "and", I get "abd". I will never use the word "abd". Is there a way to remove it from the dictionary? Thanks....

Did you accidentally add it to your dictionary? If so simple remove it by going to the input settings ,under personal dictionary and remove it, if your not sure you can also check

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk 2
31st March 2014, 09:37 PM   |  #3  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Quote:
Originally Posted by runandhide05

Did you accidentally add it to your dictionary? If so simple remove it by going to the input settings ,under personal dictionary and remove it, if your not sure you can also check

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk 2

Sadly no. It's in the "stock" dictionary apparently.
31st March 2014, 10:47 PM   |  #4  
runandhide05's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,449
 
2,804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
You could try to add Abd to your dictionary then remove it... Might help

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk 2
31st March 2014, 11:27 PM   |  #5  
bloodiedwraith's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Middletown, NY
Thanks Meter: 71
 
228 posts
Join Date:Joined: Aug 2008
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by ddodge68

So, I'm using the HTC gesture keyboard (like Swype) and I'm hoping that someone can help me to remove a word from the dictionary. Everytime I try to spell the word "and", I get "abd". I will never use the word "abd". Is there a way to remove it from the dictionary? Thanks....

This has been plaguing me since even the M7. It drives me absolutely nuts and I have not yet found any fix for it -_-
1st April 2014, 01:07 AM   |  #6  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 84
 
293 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
To delete a word, in the keyboard's settings, select "personal dictionary". Then press on the menu dots in the upper right corner of the screen. Select delete from the menu. This will take you to another screen. Find the word you want to get rid of and put checkmark to the right of it. Then press delete at the bottom right of the page. Should get the job done for you.
Last edited by robocuff; 1st April 2014 at 01:11 AM.
1st April 2014, 01:16 AM   |  #7  
runandhide05's Avatar
Recognized Contributor
Thanks Meter: 2,449
 
2,804 posts
Join Date:Joined: Apr 2011
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by robocuff

To delete a word, in the keyboard's settings, select "personal dictionary". Then press on the menu dots in the upper right corner of the screen. Select delete from the menu. This will take you to another screen. Find the word you want to get rid of and put checkmark to the right of it. Then press delete at the bottom right of the page. Should get the job done for you.

That's IF it's a word user added. He is referring to a word already in the dictionary

Sent from my HTC6525LVW using Tapatalk 2
The Following User Says Thank You to runandhide05 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 01:46 PM   |  #8  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 5
 
55 posts
Join Date:Joined: Feb 2011
Glad it's not just me having this problem...
1st April 2014, 01:52 PM   |  #9  
overlord727's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Columbia, MD
Thanks Meter: 32
 
234 posts
Join Date:Joined: Jul 2011
More
I had to look up what this word meant. Apparently abt means "all but dissertation," for someone going for a PHD. That being said I don't think this should be default in a dictionary either.
1st April 2014, 02:23 PM   |  #10  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 173
 
376 posts
Join Date:Joined: Dec 2010
More
It can be done easily once proper root is available.

In fact, I usually replace the stock dictionary with a better third party one.

Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes