Attend XDA's Second Annual Developer Conference, XDA:DevCon 2014!
5,729,324 Members 42,823 Now Online
XDA Developers Android and Mobile Development Forum

Does anyone know how to unbrick the CDMA Hero?

Tip us?
 
abcdfv
Old
#11  
abcdfv's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 2
Posts: 1,232
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Wilmington, NC
Have you tried booting into recovery and doing a nandroid restore?
:[
 
thedudejdog
Old
(Last edited by thedudejdog; 15th December 2009 at 10:02 PM.) Reason: additional infomation
#12  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 264
Posts: 1,968
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Kansas City Mo

 
DONATE TO ME
i've never heard of a bricked CDMA hero... but i guess flashing a GSM radio would do the trick

ok i searched and this may be the FIRST EVER bricked CDMA htc hero!

correct me if i'm wrong but i couldn't find anything on google about this.

maybe we should sticky this, or delete that link to the gsm rom so this doesn't happen again?
 
kel_o91
Old
#13  
Member - OP
Thanks Meter 0
Posts: 30
Join Date: Jul 2009
yeah i guess i did flash a gsm rom which definitely pwnd my phone ...i did everything possible. hard reset buttons. basically couldnt do anything with adb as the phone was completely shut off so no way to connect. Well all in all i learned my lesson. The techs at the sprint store couldnt do anything to fix the original phone so they said what the heck and provided me with a brand new google branded hero.
 
jjjjayd13
Old
#14  
jjjjayd13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 29
Posts: 621
Join Date: Nov 2006
Red face We all have done it!

Quote:
Originally Posted by kel_o91 View Post
yeah i guess i did flash a gsm rom which definitely pwnd my phone ...i did everything possible. hard reset buttons. basically couldnt do anything with adb as the phone was completely shut off so no way to connect. Well all in all i learned my lesson. The techs at the sprint store couldnt do anything to fix the original phone so they said what the heck and provided me with a brand new google branded hero.
Flash lesson 101, read-read-read!!!

Don't worry we 'ALL' have done it. And LEARNED from it.

Keep on going!!!
jjjjayd13,

TMobile Note 3

[ONLINE][02.06.2014] X-NOTE build 16.0 (N9005 NE4)

[kernel][kitkat] leanKernel: minimalistic kernel, TW:v3.2

Always Improving:
and testing others

What Is Truth?
 
obelisk79
Old
#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 665
Join Date: May 2008
I'm glad to hear you got your phone replaced. I don't understand how you couldn't boot into any mode that would allow you to fix this. But I don't mess with radios whatsoever.
 
katmandu421
Old
#16  
katmandu421's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 10
Posts: 779
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Denver
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedudejdog View Post

maybe we should sticky this, or delete that link to the gsm rom so this doesn't happen again?
+1 Please sticky and/or remove link. We don't need people jumping the gun and flashing ROMs that will brick their phones.

Cheers.
 
Semantics
Old
#17  
Semantics's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 462
Posts: 1,255
Join Date: Nov 2009
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteWidows View Post
So my theory is that this nOOb flashed the GSM radio. Here is what he did.

He seen the post on the Eclair 2.1v1.5 rom on our forums and got click happy. Clicking on the link under that thread for the GSM ROM.



Which took him here:

http://htcpedia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1448

Then he flashed the radio in this post.


So yea he didn't read, just clicked, have fun with that.

And i suppose you didn't flash a recovery img after rooting? Well next time you will learn to read.
Wow, way to show class. Nothing like a little compassion around the holiday season, I see. You are a true class act, and I bet your friends and family are very proud of the way carry yourself. Unfortunately, not everyone can be as perfect as you are, so try to take it easy on the rest of us.
 
obelisk79
Old
#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 7
Posts: 665
Join Date: May 2008
Let it go guys... on all sides of the argument.

he made a simple enough mistake. It's been remedied. Lets all move on.
 
Kcarpenter
Old
#19  
Kcarpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter 146
Posts: 3,343
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Clinton, TN
Quote:
Originally Posted by obelisk79 View Post
Let it go guys... on all sides of the argument.

he made a simple enough mistake. It's been remedied. Lets all move on.
+1 for this
-----------------
-HTC EVO LTE - Stock ATM
Google+: Karl Carpenter
FaceBook: http://www.facebook.com/kcarpenter5407
Twitter: @KCarpenter528
 
wasupwithuman
Old
#20  
Account currently disabled
Thanks Meter 25
Posts: 392
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Flagstaff

 
DONATE TO ME
How does a radio flash stop a phone from turning on?

Isn't the whole point of a recovery mode, to be able to "recover" if something goes wrong.

Shame on you whitewidows, for bashing him... The whole reason people get things working is because of trail and error.

If anything he helped us all by confirming that a wrong radio flash will completely ruin your recovery console, possibly bootloader, and (maybe even some actual hardware).

Hopefully this doesn't discourage users from trying to hack our radio.

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes


TRENDING IN THEMER...