FORUMS

Nexus & Cookies: A More Focused Direction?

It is that time of the year again, and we are approaching the day where Android fans all over … more

LG G4 US Carrier Release Dates

The LG G4 was announced on April 29th with its Snapdragon 808 SoC, a welcomed change from its higher-end … more

Microsoft Reaches Pre-Install Agreement With New OEMs

As of late, Microsoft has been making a subtle but widespread play into the … more

Discover XDA: Discover Greater

We’ve all been there at some point in our XDA lives; we used to spend hours browsing over the … more
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread

Does anyone know how to unbrick the CDMA Hero?

15th December 2009, 09:27 PM |#11  
abcdfv's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Wilmington, NC
Thanks Meter: 2
 
More
Have you tried booting into recovery and doing a nandroid restore?
 
 
15th December 2009, 09:51 PM |#12  
Senior Member
Flag Kansas City Mo
Thanks Meter: 264
 
Donate to Me
More
i've never heard of a bricked CDMA hero... but i guess flashing a GSM radio would do the trick

ok i searched and this may be the FIRST EVER bricked CDMA htc hero!

correct me if i'm wrong but i couldn't find anything on google about this.

maybe we should sticky this, or delete that link to the gsm rom so this doesn't happen again?
Last edited by thedudejdog; 15th December 2009 at 10:02 PM. Reason: additional infomation
15th December 2009, 10:33 PM |#13  
OP Member
Thanks Meter: 0
 
More
yeah i guess i did flash a gsm rom which definitely pwnd my phone ...i did everything possible. hard reset buttons. basically couldnt do anything with adb as the phone was completely shut off so no way to connect. Well all in all i learned my lesson. The techs at the sprint store couldnt do anything to fix the original phone so they said what the heck and provided me with a brand new google branded hero.
15th December 2009, 10:49 PM |#14  
jjjjayd13's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 29
 
More
Red face We all have done it!
Quote:
Originally Posted by kel_o91

yeah i guess i did flash a gsm rom which definitely pwnd my phone ...i did everything possible. hard reset buttons. basically couldnt do anything with adb as the phone was completely shut off so no way to connect. Well all in all i learned my lesson. The techs at the sprint store couldnt do anything to fix the original phone so they said what the heck and provided me with a brand new google branded hero.

Flash lesson 101, read-read-read!!!

Don't worry we 'ALL' have done it. And LEARNED from it.

Keep on going!!!
16th December 2009, 01:04 AM |#15  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
I'm glad to hear you got your phone replaced. I don't understand how you couldn't boot into any mode that would allow you to fix this. But I don't mess with radios whatsoever.
16th December 2009, 02:11 AM |#16  
katmandu421's Avatar
Senior Member
Denver
Thanks Meter: 10
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by thedudejdog


maybe we should sticky this, or delete that link to the gsm rom so this doesn't happen again?

+1 Please sticky and/or remove link. We don't need people jumping the gun and flashing ROMs that will brick their phones.

Cheers.
16th December 2009, 06:57 AM |#17  
Semantics's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 541
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by WhiteWidows

So my theory is that this nOOb flashed the GSM radio. Here is what he did.

He seen the post on the Eclair 2.1v1.5 rom on our forums and got click happy. Clicking on the link under that thread for the GSM ROM.



Which took him here:

http://htcpedia.com/forum/showthread.php?t=1448

Then he flashed the radio in this post.


So yea he didn't read, just clicked, have fun with that.

And i suppose you didn't flash a recovery img after rooting? Well next time you will learn to read.

Wow, way to show class. Nothing like a little compassion around the holiday season, I see. You are a true class act, and I bet your friends and family are very proud of the way carry yourself. Unfortunately, not everyone can be as perfect as you are, so try to take it easy on the rest of us.
16th December 2009, 07:13 AM |#18  
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 7
 
More
Let it go guys... on all sides of the argument.

he made a simple enough mistake. It's been remedied. Lets all move on.
16th December 2009, 01:31 PM |#19  
Kcarpenter's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Clinton, TN
Thanks Meter: 146
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by obelisk79

Let it go guys... on all sides of the argument.

he made a simple enough mistake. It's been remedied. Lets all move on.

+1 for this
16th December 2009, 01:55 PM |#20  
Account currently disabled
Flag Flagstaff
Thanks Meter: 25
 
Donate to Me
More
How does a radio flash stop a phone from turning on?

Isn't the whole point of a recovery mode, to be able to "recover" if something goes wrong.

Shame on you whitewidows, for bashing him... The whole reason people get things working is because of trail and error.

If anything he helped us all by confirming that a wrong radio flash will completely ruin your recovery console, possibly bootloader, and (maybe even some actual hardware).

Hopefully this doesn't discourage users from trying to hack our radio.
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes