FORUMS

Make Your Network Smart – XDA Xposed Tuesday

We rave about the features and abilities of our smartphones. However, in order for … more

Dr.Ketan Brings The S6 Theme Store To The Note 4

Dr.Ketan has submitted a video to the forums showing a functional port of the Galaxy S6 … more

Do You Have Insurance on Your Smartphone?

While affordable smartphones are becoming more available, the majority of high-end flagships … more

Apple Music Will Increase iTunes Match to 100,000 Songs

The battle for music streaming subscription dominance is starting to really heat … more

[Q] Superuser Binary (su) must be updated.

11 posts
Thanks Meter: 0
 
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread Email Thread
So I used motochopper when I first bought my S4 and it rooted my phone just fine. After updating to 4.4 kit kat I lost my root status and now I am getting this message about updating my binary code for super user. If anybody has any tips I would much appreciate it.

SGH i337
4.4.2
I337UCUFNB1
 
 
30th March 2014, 02:33 AM |#2  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
More
you can't direct root anymore

see the general section on the root workaround and downgrade threads by muniz and ted
Last edited by rugmankc; 30th March 2014 at 02:50 AM.
The Following User Says Thank You to rugmankc For This Useful Post: [ View ]
30th March 2014, 12:31 PM |#3  
Senior Member
Flag Jackson, Tn.
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
Root
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigadam2089

So I used motochopper when I first bought my S4 and it rooted my phone just fine. After updating to 4.4 kit kat I lost my root status and now I am getting this message about updating my binary code for super user. If anybody has any tips I would much appreciate it.

SGH i337
4.4.2
I337UCUFNB1

Have same trouble with mine also after update to 4.4.2. Yet can run Root Checker and it says its rooted, but it is not. But at least phone works OK, just No Root.
30th March 2014, 02:51 PM |#4  
kevp75's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag MA
Thanks Meter: 4,689
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tailgunner9

Have same trouble with mine also after update to 4.4.2. Yet can run Root Checker and it says its rooted, but it is not. But at least phone works OK, just No Root.

there currently is no direct root method

Sent from my Deadly Venom SS 3.0 S4 ~ 20GB free cloud https://copy.com?r=vtiraF
31st March 2014, 12:45 PM |#5  
Senior Member
Flag Jackson, Tn.
Thanks Meter: 44
 
More
S5 Root
Quote:
Originally Posted by tailgunner9

Have same trouble with mine also after update to 4.4.2. Yet can run Root Checker and it says its rooted, but it is not. But at least phone works OK, just No Root.

Strange there is root method for new S5 and it is not even released yet, but No Root for phones that has been out for Months with 4.4.2????
31st March 2014, 04:53 PM |#6  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tailgunner9

Strange there is root method for new S5 and it is not even released yet, but No Root for phones that has been out for Months with 4.4.2????

Not strange, the S5 release is international not the i337 att
1st April 2014, 12:04 AM |#7  
DeadlySin9's Avatar
Senior Member
Thanks Meter: 681
 
Donate to Me
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by tailgunner9

Strange there is root method for new S5 and it is not even released yet, but No Root for phones that has been out for Months with 4.4.2????

Quote:
Originally Posted by rugmankc

Not strange, the S5 release is international not the i337 att

Definitely not strange, specifically because our bootloader is locked and that one isn't. If our bootloader was unlocked we would have had root as soon as our update was released because Chainfire puts out his autoroot for unlocked S4's but we can't flash it since it isn't signed.
The Following User Says Thank You to DeadlySin9 For This Useful Post: [ View ]
1st April 2014, 12:05 AM |#8  
rugmankc's Avatar
Senior Member
Flag Dayton, Ohio
Thanks Meter: 1,850
 
More
Quote:
Originally Posted by DeadlySin9

Definitely not strange, specifically because our bootloader is locked and that one isn't. If our bootloader was unlocked we would have had root as soon as our update was released because Chainfire puts out his autoroot for unlocked S4's but we can't flash it since it isn't signed.

Exactly ☺

Sent From My i337 S4 using Tapatalk
Post Reply Subscribe to Thread

Tags
re-root
Previous Thread Next Thread
Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes